Schools in Bucay, Abra
Summary
Bucay has the third most learners of the 27 cities and municipalities in Abra, and the ninth most learners per teacher in public schools. In SY 2024-25 its 21 schools held 4,050 learners, with another 80 in ALS, and its public schools had 209 teachers. Enrollment in schools fell 2.9% from SY 2023-24, with ALS not counted: public schools fell 2.5%, while private schools fell 10.4%.
Of the learners in schools, 95% are in public schools, against 85% nationally, and 5% are in private schools, against 14% nationally. Of the 20 reporting public schools, all have electricity and all have water, while three, or 15%, have no internet, against 34% in CAR.
The school list on this page gives learners, teachers and classrooms for every school, and the figures are broken down by sector and level, with charts and tables.
- Schools
- 21
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 20 public, 1 private
- Community learning centers
- 8
- No change from SY 2023-24
- Learners
- 4,130
- Down 116 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 209
- Up 6 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 140
- Down 16 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Bucay has the 3rd most learners of the 27 cities and municipalities in Abra, and the 9th most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 2.9% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 2.5% and private schools fell 10.4%.
- Of the learners in schools, 95% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 5% in private schools (14% nationally).
- Leaving out 3 schools whose figures are under review, the largest schools are Bucay Central School (457 learners), Layugan Integrated School (359 learners) and Our Lady of Fatima School (198 learners).
- The most crowded public classrooms are at Bucay Central School, with 46 learners per classroom.
- Of the 20 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; 3 (15%) have no internet, against 34% in CAR.
- The 20 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱14.7 million. Across the 20 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,876 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 4,130 learners, 4,050 in schools and 80 in community learning centers.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 4,130 |
| In schools | 4,050 |
| In community learning centers (ALS) | 80 |
| Male | 2,198 |
| Female | 1,918 |
| Not broken down by sex | 14 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Community learning centers (ALS) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 2,104 | 0 | 0 | 2,104 |
| Junior High School | 1,196 | 138 | 0 | 1,334 |
| Senior High School | 538 | 60 | 0 | 598 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 0 | 0 | 7 | 7 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 0 | 15 | 15 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 0 | 0 | 58 | 58 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 125 | 122 | 247 |
| Grade 1 | 140 | 127 | 267 |
| Grade 2 | 164 | 117 | 281 |
| Grade 3 | 170 | 136 | 306 |
| Grade 4 | 181 | 154 | 335 |
| Grade 5 | 142 | 129 | 271 |
| Grade 6 | 199 | 198 | 397 |
| Grade 7 | 191 | 187 | 378 |
| Grade 8 | 172 | 122 | 294 |
| Grade 9 | 163 | 163 | 326 |
| Grade 10 | 171 | 165 | 336 |
| Grade 11 | 187 | 167 | 354 |
| Grade 12 | 140 | 104 | 244 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 5 | 2 | 7 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 10 | 5 | 15 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 38 | 20 | 58 |
| Broken down by grade | 2,198 | 1,918 | 4,116 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 523 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 75 |
| All tracks | 598 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 17 | 25 | 42 |
| Elementary | 165 | 138 | 303 |
| Junior High School | 137 | 101 | 238 |
| Senior High School | 45 | 45 | 90 |
| All | 364 | 309 | 673 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 21 schools and 8 community learning centers.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 20 |
| Private schools | 1 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 8 |
| All | 29 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 16 |
| Elementary and junior high (K to 10) | 1 |
| Kindergarten to Grade 12 | 1 |
| Junior and senior high | 3 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 8 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 20 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 8 |
| Sectarian | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 209 teachers and 49 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 209 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 49 |
| All personnel | 258 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 122 |
| Junior High School | 66 |
| Senior High School | 21 |
| All teachers | 209 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 17.3 |
| Junior High School | 18.1 |
| Senior High School | 25.6 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 140 classrooms and 176 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 140
- Seats (approximate)
- 3,094
- Toilets
- 176
- Functional computers
- 525
- Faucets
- 312
- 251 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 90 | 33 | 17 |
| Learners per classroom | 23.4 | 36.2 | 31.7 |
| Seats (approximate) | 2,178 | 498 | 418 |
| Learners per seat | 1.0 | 2.4 | 1.3 |
| Toilets | 107 | 46 | 23 |
| Learners per toilet | 19.7 | 26.0 | 23.4 |
| Functional computers | 143 | 231 | 151 |
| Learners per computer | 14.7 | 5.2 | 3.6 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 17 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 1 |
| Senior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply | Grid and off-grid supply |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 16 | 1 |
| Junior High School | 4 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 14 | 3 |
| Junior High School | 4 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 43 |
| Male | 39 |
| Shared | 93 |
| For persons with disabilities | 1 |
| All toilets | 176 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 251 |
| Without water | 61 |
| All faucets | 312 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| School Garden | 20 |
| Entrance Gate | 19 |
| Playground | 18 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 16 |
| Offices | 14 |
| Exit Gate | 13 |
| Paved Pathway | 12 |
| Computer Room | 8 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 8 |
| Covered Court | 7 |
| Roofing | 7 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 5 |
| Clinic | 4 |
| Faculty Room | 3 |
| Conference Room | 2 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 2 |
| Solar Panel | 2 |
| Supply Room | 2 |
| Bike Rack | 1 |
| Canteen | 1 |
| Gymnasium | 1 |
| Home Economic Room | 1 |
| Science Laboratory | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Bucay, Abra in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Abang Elementary School | Public | 96 | 7 | 6 |
| Bangbangcag Primary School | Public | 62 | 4 | 0 |
| Bangcagan Primary School | Public | 48 | 2 | 2 |
| Bucay Central School | Public | 457 | 19 | 10 |
| Bucay North Elementary School | Public | 130 | 7 | 7 |
| Bugbog Elementary School | Public | 112 | 7 | 6 |
| Calao Elementary School | Public | 92 | 7 | 7 |
| Cristina B. Gonzales MHS | Public | 900 | 49 | 25 |
| Dugong Elementary School | Public | 193 | 9 | 0 |
| Dugong National High School | Public | 350 | 17 | 11 |
| Layugan Integrated School | Public | 359 | 15 | 11 |
| Lublubnac Primary School | Public | 19 | 1 | 2 |
| Madalipay Elementary School | Public | 91 | 8 | 7 |
| Our Lady of Fatima School | Private | 198 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Pagala East Elementary School | Public | 58 | 4 | 4 |
| Pagala West Elementary School | Public | 78 | 7 | 6 |
| Pangtod National High School | Public | 366 | 18 | 12 |
| Patoc Elementary School | Public | 73 | 6 | 3 |
| Quimloong Elementary School | Public | 65 | 6 | 6 |
| Siwasiw Elementary School | Public | 141 | 8 | 7 |
| Tabiog Elementary School | Public | 162 | 8 | 8 |
About this data
- 14 learners in SY 2024-25 are counted in the totals but not broken down by grade, level or sex, so those charts show at least these numbers.
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
Each school year's figures for Bucay, Abra count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked