Schools in La Paz, Abra
Summary
Of the 27 cities and municipalities in Abra, La Paz has the second most learners, and its public schools have the second most learners per teacher. In SY 2024-25 its 18 schools held 4,230 learners, with another 57 in ALS, and its public schools had 171 teachers. Enrollment in its schools fell 1.9% from SY 2023-24, not counting ALS: public schools fell 2.9%, while private schools grew 3.1%.
Of the learners in schools, 82% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 18% in private schools (14% nationally). Of the 15 reporting public schools, all have electricity and all have water, while two (13%) have no internet, compared with 34% in CAR.
The page lists the 18 schools here with their learners, teachers and classrooms, and breaks the figures down by sector and level in charts and tables.
- Schools
- 18
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 15 public, 3 private
- Community learning centers
- 6
- Up 1 from SY 2023-24
- Learners
- 4,287
- Down 69 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 171
- Up 9 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 140
- Up 2 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- La Paz has the 2nd most learners of the 27 cities and municipalities in Abra, and the 2nd most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 1.9% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 2.9% and private schools grew 3.1%.
- Of the learners in schools, 82% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 18% in private schools (14% nationally).
- The largest schools are La Paz Integrated School (1,033 learners), Marc Ysrael B. Bernos Memorial National High School (1,012 learners) and Queen of Peace High School - Canan (441 learners).
- Enrollment grew fastest at Queen of Peace High School - La Paz (+5%) and fell most at Malabbaga Elementary School (−7%), among schools with 100 or more learners in both years.
- Leaving out 1 school whose figures are under review, the most crowded public classrooms are at Marc Ysrael B. Bernos Memorial National High School, with 37 learners per classroom.
- Of the 15 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; 2 (13%) have no internet, against 34% in CAR.
- The 15 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱11.9 million. Across the 15 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,520 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 4,287 learners, 4,230 in schools and 57 in community learning centers.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 4,287 |
| In schools | 4,230 |
| In community learning centers (ALS) | 57 |
| Male | 2,146 |
| Female | 2,141 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Community learning centers (ALS) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 1,944 | 71 | 0 | 2,015 |
| Junior High School | 1,049 | 474 | 0 | 1,523 |
| Senior High School | 479 | 213 | 0 | 692 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 0 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 0 | 9 | 9 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 0 | 0 | 45 | 45 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 135 | 124 | 259 |
| Grade 1 | 155 | 132 | 287 |
| Grade 2 | 127 | 132 | 259 |
| Grade 3 | 145 | 131 | 276 |
| Grade 4 | 171 | 135 | 306 |
| Grade 5 | 119 | 131 | 250 |
| Grade 6 | 176 | 202 | 378 |
| Grade 7 | 211 | 196 | 407 |
| Grade 8 | 172 | 181 | 353 |
| Grade 9 | 175 | 221 | 396 |
| Grade 10 | 187 | 180 | 367 |
| Grade 11 | 202 | 183 | 385 |
| Grade 12 | 145 | 162 | 307 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 2 | 1 | 3 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 8 | 1 | 9 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 16 | 29 | 45 |
| All grades | 2,146 | 2,141 | 4,287 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 512 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 180 |
| All tracks | 692 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Junior High School | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 15 | 9 | 24 |
| Elementary | 116 | 128 | 244 |
| Junior High School | 87 | 91 | 178 |
| Senior High School | 27 | 34 | 61 |
| All | 245 | 262 | 507 |
| Program | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Other School-Initiated Intervention | 9 | 8 | 17 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 18 schools and 6 community learning centers.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 15 |
| Private schools | 3 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 6 |
| All | 24 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 14 |
| Kindergarten to Grade 12 | 1 |
| Junior and senior high | 3 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 6 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 15 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 6 |
| Sectarian | 3 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 171 teachers and 27 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 171 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 27 |
| All personnel | 198 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 103 |
| Junior High School | 44 |
| Senior High School | 24 |
| All teachers | 171 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 18.9 |
| Junior High School | 23.8 |
| Senior High School | 20.0 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 140 classrooms and 181 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 140
- Seats (approximate)
- 2,324
- Toilets
- 181
- Functional computers
- 839
- Faucets
- 271
- 164 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 104 | 24 | 12 |
| Learners per classroom | 18.7 | 43.7 | 39.9 |
| Seats (approximate) | 1,721 | 509 | 94 |
| Learners per seat | 1.1 | 2.1 | 5.1 |
| Toilets | 124 | 38 | 19 |
| Learners per toilet | 15.7 | 27.6 | 25.2 |
| Functional computers | 536 | 102 | 201 |
| Learners per computer | 3.6 | 10.3 | 2.4 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 14 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 14 |
| Junior High School | 2 |
| Senior High School | 2 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 12 | 2 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 32 |
| Male | 33 |
| Shared | 107 |
| For persons with disabilities | 9 |
| All toilets | 181 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 164 |
| Without water | 107 |
| All faucets | 271 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Entrance Gate | 12 |
| Playground | 12 |
| School Garden | 10 |
| Offices | 9 |
| Exit Gate | 8 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 8 |
| Covered Court | 7 |
| Paved Pathway | 7 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 5 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 5 |
| Faculty Room | 4 |
| Clinic | 3 |
| Computer Room | 3 |
| Canteen | 2 |
| Gymnasium | 2 |
| Home Economic Room | 2 |
| Supply Room | 2 |
| Flood Marker | 1 |
| Roofing | 1 |
| Solar Panel | 1 |
| Youth Development Center | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in La Paz, Abra in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Abra District Adventist Multigrade School (ADAMS) | Private | 71 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Benben Elementary School | Public | 84 | 5 | 6 |
| Bulbulala Elementary School | Public | 166 | 9 | 8 |
| Canan Elementary School | Public | 140 | 9 | 7 |
| El Bernos Elementary School | Public | 146 | 8 | 1 |
| Gongonot Elementary School | Public | 26 | 3 | 3 |
| La Paz Integrated School | Public | 1,033 | 46 | 37 |
| Liguis Elementary School | Public | 109 | 7 | 6 |
| Malabbaga Elementary School | Public | 149 | 8 | 7 |
| Marc Ysrael B. Bernos Memorial National High School | Public | 1,012 | 44 | 27 |
| Mudeng Elementary School | Public | 174 | 8 | 10 |
| Pidipid Elementary School | Public | 113 | 6 | 7 |
| Queen of Peace High School - Canan | Private | 441 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Queen of Peace High School - La Paz | Private | 246 | Not reported | Not reported |
| San Gregorio Elementary School | Public | 183 | 8 | 8 |
| Sidongan Primary School | Public | 23 | 2 | 3 |
| Toon Elementary School | Public | 62 | 3 | 7 |
| Udangan Primary School | Public | 52 | 5 | 3 |
About this data
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
Each school year's figures for La Paz, Abra count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked