Schools in Santa Marcela, Apayao
Summary
Santa Marcela has the sixth most learners of the seven cities and municipalities in Apayao, and the third most learners per teacher in public schools. In SY 2024-25 its 18 schools held 2,904 learners, with another 81 in ALS, and its public schools had 154 teachers. Enrollment in schools fell 4.7% from SY 2023-24, with ALS not counted.
Public schools hold 99% of its learners in schools, against 85% nationally, and private schools hold 1%, against 14% nationally. Sta. Marcela National High School, the largest school with 797 learners, also has the most crowded public classrooms, at 33 learners per classroom. Of the 17 reporting public schools, all have electricity and water, while two, or 12%, have no internet, against 34% in CAR. The page lists the 18 schools with their learners, teachers and classrooms, and breaks the figures down by sector and level.
- Schools
- 18
- Up 1 from SY 2023-24
- 17 public, 1 private
- Community learning centers
- 13
- No change from SY 2023-24
- Learners
- 2,985
- Down 164 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 154
- Up 2 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 149
- Down 5 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Santa Marcela has the 6th most learners of the 7 cities and municipalities in Apayao, and the 3rd most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 4.7% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted).
- Of the learners in schools, 99% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 1% in private schools (14% nationally).
- The largest schools are Sta. Marcela National High School (797 learners), Mayor Guillermo Barsatan Memorial School of Arts and Trade (308 learners) and Santa Marcela West Central Elementary School (213 learners).
- Enrollment grew fastest at Panay Elementary School (+4%) and fell most at Sipa-Imelda National High School (−28%), among schools with 100 or more learners in both years.
- The most crowded public classrooms are at Sta. Marcela National High School, with 33 learners per classroom.
- Of the 17 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; 2 (12%) have no internet, against 34% in CAR.
- The 17 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱12.0 million. Across the 17 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,982 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 2,985 learners, 2,904 in schools and 81 in community learning centers.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 2,985 |
| In schools | 2,904 |
| In community learning centers (ALS) | 81 |
| Male | 1,540 |
| Female | 1,445 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Community learning centers (ALS) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 1,519 | 9 | 0 | 1,528 |
| Junior High School | 933 | 0 | 0 | 933 |
| Senior High School | 443 | 0 | 0 | 443 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 0 | 0 | 19 | 19 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 0 | 14 | 14 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 0 | 0 | 48 | 48 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 95 | 93 | 188 |
| Grade 1 | 107 | 97 | 204 |
| Grade 2 | 105 | 88 | 193 |
| Grade 3 | 132 | 122 | 254 |
| Grade 4 | 123 | 103 | 226 |
| Grade 5 | 103 | 85 | 188 |
| Grade 6 | 126 | 144 | 270 |
| Grade 7 | 121 | 119 | 240 |
| Grade 8 | 114 | 117 | 231 |
| Grade 9 | 128 | 127 | 255 |
| Grade 10 | 112 | 95 | 207 |
| Grade 11 | 129 | 114 | 243 |
| Grade 12 | 96 | 104 | 200 |
| Special needs, non-graded (elementary) | 4 | 1 | 5 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 9 | 10 | 19 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 6 | 8 | 14 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 30 | 18 | 48 |
| All grades | 1,540 | 1,445 | 2,985 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 336 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 107 |
| All tracks | 443 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 11 | 13 | 24 |
| Elementary | 53 | 45 | 98 |
| Junior High School | 27 | 14 | 41 |
| Senior High School | 9 | 18 | 27 |
| All | 100 | 90 | 190 |
| Program | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Other School-Initiated Intervention | 2 | 3 | 5 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 18 schools and 13 community learning centers.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 17 |
| Private schools | 1 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 13 |
| All | 31 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 14 |
| Junior and senior high | 4 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 13 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 17 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 13 |
| Non-sectarian | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 154 teachers and 37 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 154 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 37 |
| All personnel | 191 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 91 |
| Junior High School | 44 |
| Senior High School | 19 |
| All teachers | 154 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 16.7 |
| Junior High School | 21.2 |
| Senior High School | 23.3 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 149 classrooms and 238 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 149
- Seats (approximate)
- 2,920
- Toilets
- 238
- Functional computers
- 697
- Faucets
- 625
- 579 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 90 | 40 | 19 |
| Learners per classroom | 16.9 | 23.3 | 23.3 |
| Seats (approximate) | 1,630 | 930 | 360 |
| Learners per seat | 0.9 | 1.0 | 1.2 |
| Toilets | 148 | 61 | 29 |
| Learners per toilet | 10.3 | 15.3 | 15.3 |
| Functional computers | 213 | 319 | 165 |
| Learners per computer | 7.1 | 2.9 | 2.7 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 13 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 4 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 4 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply | Grid and off-grid supply |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 10 | 3 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 1 |
| Senior High School | 4 | 0 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 11 | 2 |
| Junior High School | 4 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 4 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 60 |
| Male | 55 |
| Shared | 119 |
| For persons with disabilities | 4 |
| All toilets | 238 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 579 |
| Without water | 46 |
| All faucets | 625 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| School Garden | 17 |
| Playground | 16 |
| Entrance Gate | 15 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 15 |
| Offices | 13 |
| Covered Court | 12 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 10 |
| Exit Gate | 9 |
| Computer Room | 8 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 7 |
| Clinic | 6 |
| Paved Pathway | 6 |
| Roofing | 4 |
| Science Laboratory | 4 |
| Faculty Room | 3 |
| Canteen | 2 |
| Conference Room | 2 |
| Solar Panel | 2 |
| Supply Room | 2 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 1 |
| Home Economic Room | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Santa Marcela, Apayao in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Barocboc Elementary School | Public | 148 | 8 | 11 |
| Consuelo Elementary School | Public | 122 | 7 | 8 |
| Consuelo National High School | Public | 86 | 7 | 6 |
| Emiliana Elementary School | Public | 84 | 6 | 5 |
| Imelda Elementary School | Public | 93 | 7 | 6 |
| Malekkeg Elementary School | Public | 137 | 7 | 8 |
| Mayor Guillermo Barsatan Memorial School of Arts and Trade | Public | 308 | 17 | 20 |
| Nueva Elementary School | Public | 63 | 4 | 2 |
| Panay Elementary School | Public | 111 | 7 | 5 |
| San Antonio Elementary School | Public | 105 | 8 | 7 |
| San Juan Elementary School | Public | 69 | 4 | 5 |
| San Mariano Elementary School | Public | 101 | 7 | 5 |
| Santa Marcela West Central Elementary School | Public | 213 | 9 | 8 |
| Sipa Elementary School | Public | 102 | 8 | 10 |
| Sipa-Imelda National High School | Public | 185 | 14 | 9 |
| Sta. Marcela CS | Public | 171 | 9 | 10 |
| Sta. Marcela National High School | Public | 797 | 25 | 24 |
| The Great I Am Christian School of Apayao Inc. | Private | 9 | Not reported | Not reported |
About this data
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
Each school year's figures for Santa Marcela, Apayao count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked
Report a correction to the figures for Santa Marcela, Apayao