Schools in Maluso, Basilan
Summary
Maluso has the second most learners of the 12 cities and municipalities in Basilan, with 13,385 in its 22 schools in SY 2024-25 and another 278 in ALS. It also has the ninth most learners per teacher in public schools, with 367 public teachers in SY 2024-25.
Enrollment in schools fell 0.2% from SY 2023-24, with ALS not counted: public schools grew 0.5%, while private schools fell 5.7%. Of its learners in schools, 89% are in public schools, against 85% nationally, and 11% in private schools, against 14% nationally.
Of the 19 reporting public schools, two (11%) have no electricity, against 9% in BARMM, and 14 (74%) have no internet, against 74% in BARMM. The page lists the 22 schools here with their learners, teachers and classrooms, and shows the figures by sector and level in charts and tables.
- Schools
- 22
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 19 public, 3 private
- Community learning centers
- 7
- Up 4 from SY 2023-24
- Learners
- 13,663
- Up 59 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 367
- Down 5 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 186
- Down 15 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Maluso has the 2nd most learners of the 12 cities and municipalities in Basilan, and the 9th most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 0.2% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools grew 0.5% and private schools fell 5.7%.
- Of the learners in schools, 89% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 11% in private schools (14% nationally).
- Leaving out 1 school whose figures are under review, the largest schools are Maluso Central Elementary School (2,330 learners), Port Holland Central Elementary School (1,678 learners) and Claret School of Maluso (1,388 learners).
- Leaving out 1 school whose enrollment figures are under review, enrollment grew fastest at Laud Elementary School (+6%) and fell most at Batungal Elementary School (−12%), among schools with 100 or more learners in both years.
- Leaving out 6 schools whose figures are under review, the most crowded public classrooms are at Shipyard Elementary School, with 70 learners per classroom.
- Of the 19 reporting public schools, 2 (11%) have no electricity, against 9% in BARMM; all have water; 14 (74%) have no internet, against 74% in BARMM.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 13,663 learners, 13,385 in schools and 278 in community learning centers.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 13,663 |
| In schools | 13,385 |
| In community learning centers (ALS) | 278 |
| Male | 6,627 |
| Female | 7,036 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Community learning centers (ALS) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 8,768 | 87 | 0 | 8,855 |
| Junior High School | 2,465 | 947 | 0 | 3,412 |
| Senior High School | 666 | 452 | 0 | 1,118 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 0 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 0 | 84 | 84 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 0 | 0 | 191 | 191 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 629 | 634 | 1,263 |
| Grade 1 | 755 | 707 | 1,462 |
| Grade 2 | 811 | 768 | 1,579 |
| Grade 3 | 682 | 618 | 1,300 |
| Grade 4 | 573 | 542 | 1,115 |
| Grade 5 | 549 | 488 | 1,037 |
| Grade 6 | 528 | 542 | 1,070 |
| Grade 7 | 450 | 558 | 1,008 |
| Grade 8 | 418 | 498 | 916 |
| Grade 9 | 307 | 462 | 769 |
| Grade 10 | 300 | 419 | 719 |
| Grade 11 | 249 | 391 | 640 |
| Grade 12 | 201 | 277 | 478 |
| Special needs, non-graded (elementary) | 20 | 9 | 29 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 3 | 0 | 3 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 52 | 32 | 84 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 100 | 91 | 191 |
| All grades | 6,627 | 7,036 | 13,663 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 439 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 679 |
| All tracks | 1,118 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 4 | 7 | 11 |
| Elementary | 566 | 515 | 1,081 |
| All | 570 | 522 | 1,092 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 134 | 120 | 254 |
| Elementary | 734 | 724 | 1,458 |
| Junior High School | 167 | 260 | 427 |
| Senior High School | 33 | 80 | 113 |
| All | 1,068 | 1,184 | 2,252 |
| Program | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enhanced-Instructional Management by Parents, Community and teachers | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Other School-Initiated Intervention | 8 | 0 | 8 |
| All | 8 | 1 | 9 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 22 schools and 7 community learning centers.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 19 |
| Private schools | 3 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 7 |
| All | 29 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 19 |
| Junior and senior high | 2 |
| Senior high only | 1 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 7 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 19 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 7 |
| Sectarian | 2 |
| Non-sectarian | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 367 teachers and 26 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 367 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 26 |
| All personnel | 393 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 294 |
| Junior High School | 68 |
| Senior High School | 5 |
| All teachers | 367 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 29.8 |
| Junior High School | 36.3 |
| Senior High School | 133.2 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 186 classrooms and 171 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 186
- Seats (approximate)
- 4,199
- Toilets
- 171
- Functional computers
- 61
- Faucets
- 362
- 346 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 148 | 30 | 8 |
| Learners per classroom | 59.2 | 82.2 | 83.3 |
| Seats (approximate) | 3,113 | 855 | 231 |
| Learners per seat | 2.8 | 2.9 | 2.9 |
| Toilets | 162 | 7 | 2 |
| Learners per toilet | 54.1 | 352.1 | 333.0 |
| Functional computers | 61 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Learners per computer | 143.7 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 18 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply | Off-grid supply | Grid and off-grid supply | No electricity supply |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 9 | 3 | 4 | 2 |
| Junior High School | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 4 | 14 |
| Junior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 26 |
| Male | 33 |
| Shared | 111 |
| For persons with disabilities | 1 |
| All toilets | 171 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 346 |
| Without water | 16 |
| All faucets | 362 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Entrance Gate | 11 |
| School Garden | 11 |
| Playground | 9 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 9 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 7 |
| Exit Gate | 6 |
| Computer Room | 3 |
| Conference Room | 3 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 3 |
| Offices | 3 |
| Canteen | 1 |
| Covered Court | 1 |
| Faculty Room | 1 |
| Flood Marker | 1 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 1 |
| Solar Panel | 1 |
| Student Co-Curricular Center | 1 |
| Supply Room | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Maluso, Basilan in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
About this data
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
Each school year's figures for Maluso, Basilan count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked