Schools in Basco (Capital), Batanes
Summary
Basco (Capital) has the most learners of the six cities and municipalities in Batanes, and the most learners per teacher in public schools. In SY 2024-25 its seven schools held 2,194 learners, with another 19 in ALS, and its public schools had 148 teachers. Enrollment in schools fell 2.9% from SY 2023-24, not counting ALS: public schools fell 2.8% while private schools fell 4.9%.
Of its learners in schools, 94% attend public schools, against 85% nationally, and 6% attend private schools, against 14% nationally. All six reporting public schools have electricity, water and internet. The list of its seven schools gives the learners, teachers and classrooms of each one, and the page breaks the figures down by sector and level.
- Schools
- 7
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 6 public, 1 private
- Community learning centers
- 4
- Down 1 from SY 2023-24
- Learners
- 2,213
- Down 81 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 148
- Up 4 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 108
- Down 7 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Basco (Capital) has the most learners of the 6 cities and municipalities in Batanes, and the most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 2.9% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 2.8% and private schools fell 4.9%.
- Of the learners in schools, 94% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 6% in private schools (14% nationally).
- The largest schools are Batanes Nat"l Science High School (968 learners), Basco Central School (637 learners) and Diptan Elementary School (260 learners).
- The most crowded public classrooms are at Batanes Nat"l Science High School, with 25 learners per classroom.
- Of the 6 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; all have internet.
- The 6 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱6.7 million. Across the 6 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,830 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 2,213 learners, 2,194 in schools and 19 in community learning centers.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 2,213 |
| In schools | 2,194 |
| In community learning centers (ALS) | 19 |
| Male | 1,175 |
| Female | 1,038 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Community learning centers (ALS) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 1,038 | 84 | 0 | 1,122 |
| Junior High School | 632 | 12 | 0 | 644 |
| Senior High School | 387 | 41 | 0 | 428 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 0 | 0 | 17 | 17 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 61 | 73 | 134 |
| Grade 1 | 76 | 100 | 176 |
| Grade 2 | 92 | 57 | 149 |
| Grade 3 | 82 | 71 | 153 |
| Grade 4 | 102 | 84 | 186 |
| Grade 5 | 97 | 58 | 155 |
| Grade 6 | 92 | 66 | 158 |
| Grade 7 | 91 | 85 | 176 |
| Grade 8 | 49 | 62 | 111 |
| Grade 9 | 86 | 88 | 174 |
| Grade 10 | 93 | 90 | 183 |
| Grade 11 | 113 | 87 | 200 |
| Grade 12 | 124 | 104 | 228 |
| Special needs, non-graded (elementary) | 8 | 3 | 11 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 9 | 8 | 17 |
| All grades | 1,175 | 1,038 | 2,213 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 428 |
| All tracks | 428 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Junior High School | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 50 | 64 | 114 |
| Elementary | 504 | 398 | 902 |
| Junior High School | 294 | 303 | 597 |
| Senior High School | 224 | 181 | 405 |
| All | 1,072 | 946 | 2,018 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 7 schools and 4 community learning centers.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 6 |
| Private schools | 1 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 4 |
| All | 11 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 4 |
| Elementary and junior high (K to 10) | 1 |
| Kindergarten to Grade 12 | 1 |
| Junior and senior high | 1 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 4 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 6 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 4 |
| Non-sectarian | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 148 teachers and 34 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 148 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 34 |
| All personnel | 182 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 88 |
| Junior High School | 41 |
| Senior High School | 19 |
| All teachers | 148 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 11.8 |
| Junior High School | 15.4 |
| Senior High School | 20.4 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 108 classrooms and 96 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 108
- Seats (approximate)
- 1,523
- Toilets
- 96
- Functional computers
- 601
- Faucets
- 151
- 139 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 68 | 25 | 15 |
| Learners per classroom | 15.3 | 25.3 | 25.8 |
| Seats (approximate) | 781 | 445 | 297 |
| Learners per seat | 1.3 | 1.4 | 1.3 |
| Toilets | 51 | 28 | 17 |
| Learners per toilet | 20.4 | 22.6 | 22.8 |
| Functional computers | 243 | 277 | 81 |
| Learners per computer | 4.3 | 2.3 | 4.8 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 5 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 5 |
| Junior High School | 2 |
| Senior High School | 1 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 5 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 35 |
| Male | 18 |
| Shared | 42 |
| For persons with disabilities | 1 |
| All toilets | 96 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 139 |
| Without water | 12 |
| All faucets | 151 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Computer Room | 6 |
| Offices | 6 |
| School Garden | 5 |
| Clinic | 4 |
| Entrance Gate | 4 |
| Home Economic Room | 4 |
| Supply Room | 4 |
| Covered Court | 3 |
| Exit Gate | 3 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 3 |
| Museum | 3 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 3 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 3 |
| Faculty Room | 2 |
| Industrial Arts Room | 2 |
| Paved Pathway | 2 |
| Science Laboratory | 2 |
| Student Co-Curricular Center | 2 |
| Canteen | 1 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 1 |
| Playground | 1 |
| Roofing | 1 |
| Speech Laboratory | 1 |
| Youth Development Center | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Basco (Capital), Batanes in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Basco Central School | Public | 637 | 45 | 32 |
| Batanes Nat"l Science High School | Public | 968 | 58 | 38 |
| Chanarian Elementary School | Public | 33 | 9 | 5 |
| Diptan Elementary School | Public | 260 | 19 | 15 |
| Saint Dominic College of Batanes, Inc. | Private | 137 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tukon Elementary School | Public | 20 | 4 | 3 |
| Valugan Integrated School | Public | 139 | 13 | 15 |
About this data
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
Each school year's figures for Basco (Capital), Batanes count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked
Report a correction to the figures for Basco (Capital), Batanes