Schools in Almeria, Biliran
Summary
Almeria has the sixth most learners of the eight cities and municipalities in Biliran, and the fifth most learners per teacher in public schools. In SY 2024-25 its 19 schools held 4,593 learners, with another 202 in ALS, and its public schools had 209 teachers. Enrollment in schools fell 3.7% from SY 2023-24, not counting ALS: public schools fell 3.8%, while private schools were unchanged at 0.0%.
Of its learners in schools, 97% are in public schools, against 85% nationally, and 3% in private schools, against 14% nationally. All 18 reporting public schools have electricity, while one (6%) has no water, against 2% in Region VIII, and one (6%) has no internet, against 25% in Region VIII.
The page lists each of its schools with learners, teachers and classrooms, and shows the figures by sector and level in charts and tables.
- Schools
- 19
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 18 public, 1 private
- Community learning centers
- 10
- Up 1 from SY 2023-24
- Learners
- 4,795
- Down 128 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 209
- Down 22 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 192
- Down 3 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Almeria has the 6th most learners of the 8 cities and municipalities in Biliran, and the 5th most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 3.7% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 3.8% and private schools were unchanged at 0.0%.
- Of the learners in schools, 97% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 3% in private schools (14% nationally).
- Leaving out 2 schools whose figures are under review, the largest schools are Almeria National High School (1,397 learners), Almeria CS (442 learners) and Jamorawon Elementary School (283 learners).
- Enrollment grew fastest at Jamorawon Elementary School (+1%) and fell most at Iyosan Elementary School (−12%), among schools with 100 or more learners in both years.
- The most crowded public classrooms are at Pili Elementary School, with 35 learners per classroom.
- Of the 18 reporting public schools, all have electricity; 1 (6%) has no water, against 2% in Region VIII; 1 (6%) has no internet, against 25% in Region VIII.
- The 18 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱15.2 million. Across the 18 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,586 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 4,795 learners, 4,593 in schools and 202 in community learning centers.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 4,795 |
| In schools | 4,593 |
| In community learning centers (ALS) | 202 |
| Male | 2,522 |
| Female | 2,270 |
| Not broken down by sex | 3 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Community learning centers (ALS) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 2,347 | 124 | 0 | 2,471 |
| Junior High School | 1,408 | 0 | 0 | 1,408 |
| Senior High School | 714 | 0 | 0 | 714 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 0 | 0 | 9 | 9 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 0 | 45 | 45 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 0 | 0 | 145 | 145 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 159 | 143 | 302 |
| Grade 1 | 165 | 166 | 331 |
| Grade 2 | 192 | 157 | 349 |
| Grade 3 | 189 | 170 | 359 |
| Grade 4 | 189 | 192 | 381 |
| Grade 5 | 182 | 166 | 348 |
| Grade 6 | 189 | 185 | 374 |
| Grade 7 | 216 | 172 | 388 |
| Grade 8 | 164 | 168 | 332 |
| Grade 9 | 182 | 163 | 345 |
| Grade 10 | 171 | 172 | 343 |
| Grade 11 | 212 | 166 | 378 |
| Grade 12 | 196 | 140 | 336 |
| Special needs, non-graded (elementary) | 14 | 13 | 27 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 6 | 3 | 9 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 24 | 21 | 45 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 72 | 73 | 145 |
| Broken down by grade | 2,522 | 2,270 | 4,792 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 333 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 381 |
| All tracks | 714 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Elementary | 6 | 6 | 12 |
| Junior High School | 1 | 5 | 6 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 1 | 3 |
| All | 10 | 12 | 22 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 19 schools and 10 community learning centers.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 18 |
| Private schools | 1 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 10 |
| All | 29 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 16 |
| Junior and senior high | 3 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 10 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 18 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 10 |
| Non-sectarian | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 209 teachers and 35 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 209 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 35 |
| All personnel | 244 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 116 |
| Junior High School | 73 |
| Senior High School | 20 |
| All teachers | 209 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 20.2 |
| Junior High School | 19.3 |
| Senior High School | 35.7 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 192 classrooms and 286 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 192
- Seats (approximate)
- 3,680
- Toilets
- 286
- Functional computers
- 407
- Faucets
- 1,533
- 1,528 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 112 | 53 | 27 |
| Learners per classroom | 21.0 | 26.6 | 26.4 |
| Seats (approximate) | 1,826 | 1,244 | 610 |
| Learners per seat | 1.3 | 1.1 | 1.2 |
| Toilets | 221 | 45 | 20 |
| Learners per toilet | 10.6 | 31.3 | 35.7 |
| Functional computers | 99 | 206 | 102 |
| Learners per computer | 23.7 | 6.8 | 7.0 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 14 | 1 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply | Grid and off-grid supply |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 14 | 1 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 14 | 1 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 73 |
| Male | 70 |
| Shared | 129 |
| For persons with disabilities | 14 |
| All toilets | 286 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 1,528 |
| Without water | 5 |
| All faucets | 1,533 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Entrance Gate | 18 |
| School Garden | 18 |
| Playground | 17 |
| Offices | 12 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 12 |
| Exit Gate | 11 |
| Computer Room | 9 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 8 |
| Faculty Room | 6 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 6 |
| Clinic | 5 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 5 |
| Paved Pathway | 5 |
| Conference Room | 4 |
| Home Economic Room | 3 |
| Science Laboratory | 3 |
| Supply Room | 3 |
| Canteen | 2 |
| Covered Court | 1 |
| Flood Marker | 1 |
| Industrial Arts Room | 1 |
| Speech Laboratory | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Almeria, Biliran in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Almeria CS | Public | 442 | 17 | 19 |
| Almeria National High School | Public | 1,397 | 70 | 46 |
| Almeria Seafarers Learning Center, Inc. | Private | 124 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Barubuhan Elementary School | Public | 70 | 7 | 6 |
| Caucab Elementary School | Public | 193 | 10 | 6 |
| Iyosan Elementary School | Public | 149 | 7 | 8 |
| Jamorawon Elementary School | Public | 283 | 8 | 9 |
| Lo-Ok Elementary School | Public | 152 | 7 | 6 |
| Matanggo Elementary School | Public | 183 | 7 | 7 |
| Palayan Elementary School | Public | 70 | 4 | 4 |
| Pili Elementary School | Public | 139 | 7 | 4 |
| Pulang Bato Elementary School | Public | 122 | 7 | 6 |
| Salangi Elementary School | Public | 79 | 6 | 7 |
| Sampao Elementary School | Public | 94 | 7 | 5 |
| Tabunan Elementary School | Public | 126 | 7 | 8 |
| Tabunan National High School | Public | 363 | 12 | 18 |
| Talahid Elementary School | Public | 102 | 7 | 8 |
| Tamarindo Elementary School | Public | 143 | 8 | 9 |
| Western Biliran High School for the Arts and Culture | Public | 362 | 11 | 16 |
About this data
- 3 learners in SY 2024-25 are counted in the totals but not broken down by grade, level or sex, so those charts show at least these numbers.
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
Each school year's figures for Almeria, Biliran count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked