Schools in Samboan, Cebu
Summary
In Samboan, Cebu, 95% of the 5,244 learners in its 20 schools in SY 2024-25 attend public schools, against 85% nationally, and 5% attend private schools, against 14% nationally. Enrollment in schools fell 2.3% from SY 2023-24, with ALS not counted: public schools fell 2.4% and private schools fell 0.8%.
Samboan has the 44th most learners of the 53 cities and municipalities in Cebu, and the 53rd most learners per teacher in public schools. Of the 18 reporting public schools, all have electricity and all have water, but 10, or 56%, have no internet, against 14% in Region VII.
On this page, each of the 20 schools is listed with its learners, teachers and classrooms, and the figures are broken down by sector and level.
- Schools
- 20
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 18 public, 2 private
- Community learning centers
- 12
- Up 3 from SY 2023-24
- Learners
- 5,413
- Down 111 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 325
- Up 31 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 215
- Up 7 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Samboan has the 44th most learners of the 53 cities and municipalities in Cebu, and the 53rd most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 2.3% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 2.4% and private schools fell 0.8%.
- Of the learners in schools, 95% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 5% in private schools (14% nationally).
- Leaving out 1 school whose figures are under review, the largest schools are Samboan National High School (1,172 learners), Samboan Central Elementary School (432 learners) and San Sebastian Elementary School (390 learners).
- Leaving out 1 school whose enrollment figures are under review, enrollment grew fastest at Dalahikan Elementary School (+5%) and fell most at Suba Elementary School (−11%), among schools with 100 or more learners in both years.
- The most crowded public classrooms are at Samboan National High School, with 36 learners per classroom.
- Of the 18 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; 10 (56%) have no internet, against 14% in Region VII.
- The 18 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱16.9 million. Across the 18 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,780 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 5,413 learners, 5,244 in schools and 169 in community learning centers.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 5,413 |
| In schools | 5,244 |
| In community learning centers (ALS) | 169 |
| Male | 2,821 |
| Female | 2,574 |
| Not broken down by sex | 18 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Community learning centers (ALS) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 2,654 | 0 | 0 | 2,654 |
| Junior High School | 1,463 | 189 | 0 | 1,652 |
| Senior High School | 852 | 68 | 0 | 920 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 0 | 0 | 13 | 13 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 0 | 37 | 37 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 0 | 0 | 119 | 119 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 155 | 134 | 289 |
| Grade 1 | 174 | 182 | 356 |
| Grade 2 | 208 | 187 | 395 |
| Grade 3 | 205 | 174 | 379 |
| Grade 4 | 207 | 208 | 415 |
| Grade 5 | 201 | 173 | 374 |
| Grade 6 | 240 | 198 | 438 |
| Grade 7 | 218 | 238 | 456 |
| Grade 8 | 177 | 163 | 340 |
| Grade 9 | 238 | 181 | 419 |
| Grade 10 | 211 | 226 | 437 |
| Grade 11 | 270 | 236 | 506 |
| Grade 12 | 216 | 198 | 414 |
| Special needs, non-graded (elementary) | 7 | 1 | 8 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 6 | 7 | 13 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 25 | 12 | 37 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 63 | 56 | 119 |
| Broken down by grade | 2,821 | 2,574 | 5,395 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 793 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 127 |
| All tracks | 920 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Senior High School | 0 | 1 | 1 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 20 schools and 12 community learning centers.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 18 |
| Private schools | 2 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 12 |
| All | 32 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 14 |
| Elementary and junior high (K to 10) | 1 |
| Kindergarten to Grade 12 | 1 |
| Junior and senior high | 3 |
| Senior high only | 1 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 12 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 18 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 12 |
| Sectarian | 2 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 325 teachers and 33 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 325 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 33 |
| All personnel | 358 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 170 |
| Junior High School | 122 |
| Senior High School | 33 |
| All teachers | 325 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 15.6 |
| Junior High School | 12.0 |
| Senior High School | 25.8 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 215 classrooms and 275 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 215
- Seats (approximate)
- 7,661
- Toilets
- 275
- Functional computers
- 311
- Faucets
- 482
- 408 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 141 | 47 | 27 |
| Learners per classroom | 18.8 | 31.1 | 31.6 |
| Seats (approximate) | 2,949 | 2,190 | 2,522 |
| Learners per seat | 0.9 | 0.7 | 0.3 |
| Toilets | 171 | 68 | 36 |
| Learners per toilet | 15.5 | 21.5 | 23.7 |
| Functional computers | 122 | 169 | 20 |
| Learners per computer | 21.8 | 8.7 | 42.6 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 15 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 4 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 4 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 15 |
| Junior High School | 4 |
| Senior High School | 4 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 5 | 10 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 1 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 2 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 55 |
| Male | 39 |
| Shared | 173 |
| For persons with disabilities | 8 |
| All toilets | 275 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 408 |
| Without water | 74 |
| All faucets | 482 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| School Garden | 18 |
| Entrance Gate | 17 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 15 |
| Exit Gate | 13 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 12 |
| Offices | 11 |
| Playground | 11 |
| Computer Room | 10 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 10 |
| Conference Room | 7 |
| Supply Room | 7 |
| Covered Court | 6 |
| Faculty Room | 6 |
| Clinic | 5 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 4 |
| Canteen | 3 |
| Home Economic Room | 3 |
| Paved Pathway | 3 |
| Roofing | 2 |
| Science Laboratory | 2 |
| Flood Marker | 1 |
| Gymnasium | 1 |
| Industrial Arts Room | 1 |
| Speech Laboratory | 1 |
| Student Co-Curricular Center | 1 |
| Youth Development Center | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Samboan, Cebu in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Basak Elementary School | Public | 115 | 9 | 8 |
| Bulangsuran Integrated School | Public | 317 | 19 | 14 |
| Cambigong Elementary School | Public | 154 | 9 | 8 |
| Cañorong Elementary School | Public | 88 | 8 | 6 |
| Colase Elementary School | Public | 80 | 8 | 4 |
| Dalahikan Elementary School | Public | 153 | 8 | 7 |
| Jumangpas Elementary School | Public | 250 | 9 | 8 |
| Kalatagan Elementary School | Public | 148 | 10 | 9 |
| Kamburoy Elementary School | Public | 106 | 9 | 8 |
| Manuel L. Quezon Elementary School | Public | 153 | 9 | 7 |
| Monteverde Elementary School | Public | 86 | 9 | 7 |
| Pedro B. Uy Calderon Memorial National High School | Public | 310 | 5 | 13 |
| Saint Pius X School of Samboan Inc. | Private | 68 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Samboan Central Elementary School | Public | 432 | 29 | 18 |
| Samboan National High School | Public | 1,172 | 93 | 33 |
| San Sebastian Elementary School | Public | 390 | 24 | 21 |
| San Sebastian National High School | Public | 702 | 48 | 28 |
| St. Pius X School of Samboan, Inc. | Private | 189 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Suba Elementary School | Public | 148 | 10 | 9 |
| Tangbo Elementary School | Public | 183 | 9 | 7 |
About this data
- 18 learners in SY 2024-25 are counted in the totals but not broken down by grade, level or sex, so those charts show at least these numbers.
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
Each school year's figures for Samboan, Cebu count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked