Skip to content

Schools in Loreto, Dinagat Islands

By · Published · Updated

SY 2024-25 data from DepEd as of 25 October 2025

Summary

Loreto's 15 schools held 2,783 learners in SY 2024-25, with another 166 in ALS, and it has the fifth most learners of the seven cities and municipalities in Dinagat Islands. With 134 public teachers, it has the fourth most learners per teacher in public schools among the same seven cities and municipalities. Enrollment in schools fell 2.7% from SY 2023-24, with ALS not counted: public schools fell 2.6%, while private schools fell 3.2%.

Public schools hold 92% of its learners in schools, against 85% nationally, and private schools hold 8%, against 14% nationally. Of the 14 reporting public schools, all have electricity, water and internet. The page lists its 15 schools with learners, teachers and classrooms, and shows the figures by sector and level in charts and tables.

Schools
15
No change from SY 2023-24
14 public, 1 private
Community learning centers
3
No change from SY 2023-24
Learners
2,949
Down 31 from SY 2023-24
Teachers
134
Up 16 from SY 2023-24
Classrooms
105
Down 1 from SY 2023-24

Key findings

For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.

  • Loreto has the 5th most learners of the 7 cities and municipalities in Dinagat Islands, and the 4th most learners per teacher in public schools.
  • Enrollment in schools fell 2.7% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 2.6% and private schools fell 3.2%.
  • Of the learners in schools, 92% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 8% in private schools (14% nationally).
  • Leaving out 2 schools whose figures are under review, the largest schools are Loreto Central Elementary School (574 learners), Panamaon Elementary School (230 learners) and Esperanza Elementary School (213 learners).
  • Leaving out 2 schools whose figures are under review, the most crowded public classrooms are at Loreto National high school, with 29 learners per classroom.
  • Of the 14 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; all have internet.
  • The 14 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱9.5 million. Across the 14 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,772 for each learner.

Learners

SY 2024-25: 2,949 learners, 2,783 in schools and 166 in community learning centers.

Learners, SY 2024-25
LearnersNumber
All learners2,949
In schools2,783
In community learning centers (ALS)166
Male1,525
Female1,424
Learners by level and sector, SY 2024-25Public schoolsPrivate schoolsCommunity learning centers (ALS)Elementary1,490 totalJunior High School883 totalSenior High School410 totalALS Basic Literacy Program1 totalALS A&E elementary33 totalALS A&E secondary132 total
Learners by level and sector, SY 2024-25
Learners by level and sector, SY 2024-25
LevelPublic schoolsPrivate schoolsCommunity learning centers (ALS)Total
Elementary1,490001,490
Junior High School7321510883
Senior High School352580410
ALS Basic Literacy Program0011
ALS A&E elementary003333
ALS A&E secondary00132132
Learners by grade and sex, SY 2024-25MaleFemaleKindergarten156 totalGrade 1176 totalGrade 2219 totalGrade 3190 totalGrade 4271 totalGrade 5238 totalGrade 6237 totalGrade 7240 totalGrade 8206 totalGrade 9194 totalGrade 10243 totalGrade 11214 totalGrade 12196 totalSpecial needs, non-graded (elementary)3 totalALS Basic Literacy Program1 totalALS A&E elementary33 totalALS A&E secondary132 total
Learners by grade and sex, SY 2024-25
Learners by grade and sex, SY 2024-25
GradeMaleFemaleTotal
Kindergarten8472156
Grade 19482176
Grade 2118101219
Grade 39397190
Grade 4142129271
Grade 5104134238
Grade 6122115237
Grade 7133107240
Grade 8106100206
Grade 993101194
Grade 10121122243
Grade 11104110214
Grade 1211284196
Special needs, non-graded (elementary)213
ALS Basic Literacy Program101
ALS A&E elementary27633
ALS A&E secondary6963132
All grades1,5251,4242,949
Senior High School learners by track, SY 2024-25Academic124Technical-Vocational-Livelihood286
Senior High School learners by track, SY 2024-25
Senior High School learners by track, SY 2024-25
TrackLearners
Academic124
Technical-Vocational-Livelihood286
All tracks410
Indigenous peoples (IP) learners by level and sex, SY 2024-25
LevelMaleFemaleTotal
Junior High School202
Senior High School101
All303

Schools and community learning centers

SY 2024-25: 15 schools and 3 community learning centers.

Schools and community learning centers by sector, SY 2024-25Public schools14Private schools1Community learning centers (ALS)3
Schools and community learning centers by sector, SY 2024-25
Schools and community learning centers by sector, SY 2024-25
SectorNumber
Public schools14
Private schools1
Community learning centers (ALS)3
All18
Schools by curricular offering, SY 2024-25Elementary only10Junior high only1Junior and senior high3Senior high only1Community learning centers (ALS)3
Schools by curricular offering, SY 2024-25
Schools by curricular offering, SY 2024-25
OfferingNumber
Elementary only10
Junior high only1
Junior and senior high3
Senior high only1
Community learning centers (ALS)3
Schools by subclassification, SY 2024-25
SubclassificationNumber
DepEd managed14
Community learning centers (ALS)3
Non-sectarian1

School personnel

SY 2024-25: 134 teachers and 35 non-teaching personnel in public schools.

Public school personnel by type, SY 2024-25
TypeNumber
Teachers134
Non-teaching personnel35
All personnel169
Public school teachers by level, SY 2024-25Elementary79Junior High School37Senior High School18
Public school teachers by level, SY 2024-25
Public school teachers by level, SY 2024-25
LevelTeachers
Elementary79
Junior High School37
Senior High School18
All teachers134
Learners per teacher by level, public schools, SY 2024-25Elementary18.9Junior High School19.8Senior High School19.6
Learners per teacher by level, public schools, SY 2024-25
Learners per teacher by level, public schools, SY 2024-25
LevelLearners per teacher
Elementary18.9
Junior High School19.8
Senior High School19.6

School resources

SY 2024-25: 105 classrooms and 205 toilets in public schools.

Classrooms
105
Seats (approximate)
2,225
Toilets
205
Functional computers
812
Faucets
259
199 with water
Classrooms, seats, toilets and computers by level, public schools, SY 2024-25ElementaryJunior High SchoolSenior High SchoolClassrooms105 totalSeats (approximate)2,225 totalToilets205 totalFunctional computers812 total
Classrooms, seats, toilets and computers by level, public schools, SY 2024-25: shares of each by level
Classrooms, seats, toilets and computers by level, public schools, SY 2024-25, with learners per resource
MeasureElementaryJunior High SchoolSenior High School
Classrooms583017
Learners per classroom25.724.420.7
Seats (approximate)1,275594356
Learners per seat1.21.21.0
Toilets1302946
Learners per toilet11.525.27.7
Functional computers393232187
Learners per computer3.83.21.9
Public schools with a water supply, by level, SY 2024-25With water supplyWithoutElementary10 totalJunior High School3 totalSenior High School3 total
Public schools with a water supply, by level, SY 2024-25
Public schools with a water supply, by level, SY 2024-25: number of schools
LevelWith water supplyWithout
Elementary100
Junior High School30
Senior High School21
Public schools by electricity supply and level, SY 2024-25Grid supplyGrid and off-grid supplyElementary10 totalJunior High School3 totalSenior High School3 total
Public schools by electricity supply and level, SY 2024-25
Public schools by electricity supply and level, SY 2024-25: number of schools
LevelGrid supplyGrid and off-grid supply
Elementary82
Junior High School21
Senior High School21
Public schools with internet access, by level, SY 2024-25With internet accessWithoutElementary10 totalJunior High School3 totalSenior High School3 total
Public schools with internet access, by level, SY 2024-25
Public schools with internet access, by level, SY 2024-25: number of schools
LevelWith internet accessWithout
Elementary100
Junior High School30
Senior High School21
Toilets in public schools by type, SY 2024-25Female50Male34Shared114For persons with disabilities7
Toilets in public schools by type, SY 2024-25
Toilets in public schools by type, SY 2024-25
TypeToilets
Female50
Male34
Shared114
For persons with disabilities7
All toilets205
Faucets in public schools, with and without water, SY 2024-25With water199Without water60
Faucets in public schools, with and without water, SY 2024-25
Faucets in public schools, with and without water, SY 2024-25
FaucetsNumber
With water199
Without water60
All faucets259
Public schools with each facility, SY 2024-25
FacilitySchools
School Garden12
Entrance Gate11
Temporary Perimeter Fence9
Clinic7
Computer Room6
Library/Learning Resource Center6
Offices6
Permanent Perimeter Fence6
Playground5
Canteen4
Conference Room4
Home Economic Room4
Exit Gate3
Faculty Room3
Covered Court2
Data File Room/Records Room2
Roofing2
Science Laboratory2
Solar Panel2
Student Co-Curricular Center2
Supply Room2
Industrial Arts Room1
Paved Pathway1

List of schools

Every school in Loreto, Dinagat Islands in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.

Schools in Loreto, Dinagat Islands: 15 schools, each with its own latest school year's figures
SchoolSectorLearnersTeachersClassrooms
Acoje Elementary SchoolPublic1731
Busay Elementary SchoolPublic5343
Cambinliw Elementary SchoolPublic17281
Dahican Elementary SchoolPublic4142
Esperanza Elementary SchoolPublic213912
Ferdinand Elementary SchoolPublic3832
Liberty Elementary SchoolPublic11481
Liberty National High SchoolPublic131157
Loreto Academy, Inc.Private209Not reportedNot reported
Loreto Central Elementary SchoolPublic5742724
Loreto National high schoolPublic5242118
Loreto National high schoolPublic3181515
Magsaysay Elementary SchoolPublic3842
Panamaon Elementary SchoolPublic230910
Panamaon National High SchoolPublic11147

DepEd's public report has teachers and classrooms for public schools only.

About this data

  • Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.

Each school year's figures for Loreto, Dinagat Islands count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked

Report a correction to the figures for Loreto, Dinagat Islands