Schools in San Jose (Capital), Dinagat Islands
Summary
In SY 2024-25 San Jose (Capital) had 6,877 learners in its 18 schools, the most of the seven cities and municipalities in Dinagat Islands, with another 232 in ALS. Enrollment in schools fell 3.0% from SY 2023-24 with ALS not counted: public schools grew 0.8%, while private schools fell 29.4%.
Of its learners in schools, 91% are in public schools, against 85% nationally, and 9% are in private schools, against 14% nationally. It has 317 public teachers and the second most learners per teacher in public schools. Of its 16 reporting public schools, all have electricity and all have water, but six (38%) have no internet, against 21% in CARAGA.
Next on the page is the list of its 18 schools, with learners, teachers and classrooms for each.
- Schools
- 18
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 16 public, 2 private
- Community learning centers
- 7
- Up 4 from SY 2023-24
- Learners
- 7,109
- Down 112 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 317
- Down 4 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 231
- Up 6 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- San Jose (Capital) has the most learners of the 7 cities and municipalities in Dinagat Islands, and the 2nd most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 3.0% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools grew 0.8% and private schools fell 29.4%.
- Of the learners in schools, 91% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 9% in private schools (14% nationally).
- Leaving out 2 schools whose figures are under review, the largest schools are Aurelio Elementary School (841 learners), San Jose CES-SPED Center (528 learners) and Jade B. Ecleo- Aurelio National High School (507 learners).
- Leaving out 1 school whose enrollment figures are under review, enrollment grew fastest at Matingbe Elementary School (+11%) and fell most at Cuarenta National High School (−22%), among schools with 100 or more learners in both years.
- The most crowded public classrooms are at Cuarenta Elementary School, with 54 learners per classroom.
- Of the 16 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; 6 (38%) have no internet, against 21% in CARAGA.
- The 16 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱16.1 million. Across the 16 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,088 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 7,109 learners, 6,877 in schools and 232 in community learning centers.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 7,109 |
| In schools | 6,877 |
| In community learning centers (ALS) | 232 |
| Male | 3,577 |
| Female | 3,519 |
| Not broken down by sex | 13 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Community learning centers (ALS) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 3,536 | 70 | 0 | 3,606 |
| Junior High School | 1,873 | 218 | 0 | 2,091 |
| Senior High School | 835 | 332 | 0 | 1,167 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 0 | 0 | 8 | 8 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 0 | 53 | 53 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 0 | 0 | 171 | 171 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 203 | 212 | 415 |
| Grade 1 | 242 | 229 | 471 |
| Grade 2 | 262 | 233 | 495 |
| Grade 3 | 273 | 264 | 537 |
| Grade 4 | 274 | 263 | 537 |
| Grade 5 | 278 | 256 | 534 |
| Grade 6 | 273 | 292 | 565 |
| Grade 7 | 306 | 308 | 614 |
| Grade 8 | 202 | 219 | 421 |
| Grade 9 | 237 | 287 | 524 |
| Grade 10 | 283 | 249 | 532 |
| Grade 11 | 295 | 285 | 580 |
| Grade 12 | 273 | 314 | 587 |
| Special needs, non-graded (elementary) | 31 | 21 | 52 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 8 | 0 | 8 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 35 | 18 | 53 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 102 | 69 | 171 |
| Broken down by grade | 3,577 | 3,519 | 7,096 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 587 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 593 |
| All tracks | 1,180 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Elementary | 3 | 2 | 5 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 7 | 10 |
| Senior High School | 3 | 2 | 5 |
| All | 11 | 11 | 22 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 18 schools and 7 community learning centers.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 16 |
| Private schools | 2 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 7 |
| All | 25 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 14 |
| Kindergarten to Grade 12 | 1 |
| Junior and senior high | 3 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 7 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 16 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 7 |
| Non-sectarian | 2 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 317 teachers and 48 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 317 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 48 |
| All personnel | 365 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 152 |
| Junior High School | 152 |
| Senior High School | 13 |
| All teachers | 317 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 23.3 |
| Junior High School | 12.3 |
| Senior High School | 64.2 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 231 classrooms and 317 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 231
- Seats (approximate)
- 4,194
- Toilets
- 317
- Functional computers
- 1,586
- Faucets
- 428
- 364 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 138 | 64 | 29 |
| Learners per classroom | 25.6 | 29.3 | 28.8 |
| Seats (approximate) | 2,543 | 1,141 | 510 |
| Learners per seat | 1.4 | 1.6 | 1.6 |
| Toilets | 176 | 100 | 41 |
| Learners per toilet | 20.1 | 18.7 | 20.4 |
| Functional computers | 533 | 562 | 491 |
| Learners per computer | 6.6 | 3.3 | 1.7 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 13 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply | Off-grid supply | Grid and off-grid supply |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 11 | 1 | 1 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 0 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 3 | 0 | 0 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 7 | 6 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 50 |
| Male | 38 |
| Shared | 215 |
| For persons with disabilities | 14 |
| All toilets | 317 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 364 |
| Without water | 64 |
| All faucets | 428 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Entrance Gate | 14 |
| School Garden | 14 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 13 |
| Playground | 11 |
| Exit Gate | 10 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 10 |
| Offices | 9 |
| Computer Room | 7 |
| Covered Court | 6 |
| Supply Room | 5 |
| Clinic | 4 |
| Faculty Room | 4 |
| Home Economic Room | 4 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 3 |
| Science Laboratory | 3 |
| Industrial Arts Room | 2 |
| Paved Pathway | 2 |
| Youth Development Center | 2 |
| Bike Rack | 1 |
| Canteen | 1 |
| Conference Room | 1 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 1 |
| Roofing | 1 |
| Speech Laboratory | 1 |
| Student Co-Curricular Center | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in San Jose (Capital), Dinagat Islands in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aurelio Elementary School | Public | 841 | 32 | 25 |
| Borres-Omega Elementary School | Public | 21 | 3 | 3 |
| Cuarenta Elementary School | Public | 323 | 12 | 6 |
| Cuarenta National High School | Public | 153 | 15 | 13 |
| Don Jose Ecleo MFCST | Private | 605 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Don Ruben E. Ecleo Sr. MNHS | Public | 2,048 | 121 | 63 |
| Don Ruben Elementary School | Public | 194 | 8 | 7 |
| Jacquez Primary School | Public | 52 | 4 | 4 |
| Jade B. Ecleo- Aurelio National High School | Public | 507 | 29 | 17 |
| Justiniana Edera Elementary School | Public | 108 | 8 | 6 |
| Luna Elementary School | Public | 206 | 7 | 7 |
| Mahayahay Elementary School | Public | 269 | 12 | 10 |
| Matingbe Elementary School | Public | 131 | 7 | 8 |
| Reesfi Education Center, Inc. | Private | 28 | Not reported | Not reported |
| San Jose CES-SPED Center | Public | 528 | 26 | 31 |
| San Juan Elementary School | Public | 266 | 11 | 10 |
| Sta Cruz Elementary School | Public | 429 | 14 | 16 |
| Wilson Elementary School | Public | 168 | 8 | 5 |
About this data
- 13 learners in SY 2024-25 are counted in the totals but not broken down by grade, level or sex, so those charts show at least these numbers.
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
Each school year's figures for San Jose (Capital), Dinagat Islands count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked
Report a correction to the figures for San Jose (Capital), Dinagat Islands