Schools in Basco, SDO Batanes
Summary
Basco has the most learners of the five districts in Batanes, and the most learners per teacher in public schools. In SY 2024-25 its eight schools held 2,233 learners, not counting ALS, and 161 public teachers. Enrollment in schools fell 3.1% from SY 2023-24, while public schools fell 3.0% and private schools fell 4.9%.
Of those learners, 94% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 6% in private schools (14% nationally). Batanes Nat"l Science High School is the largest school in the district, with 968 learners, and has the most crowded public classrooms, at 25 learners per classroom. The seven public schools with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱7.4 million. Across the seven with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱3,125 for each learner. All seven reporting public schools have electricity, water and internet.
The eight schools are listed with their learners, teachers and classrooms, and the figures are broken down by sector and level.
- Schools
- 8
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 7 public, 1 private
- Learners
- 2,233
- Down 71 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 161
- Up 3 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 120
- Down 6 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Basco has the most learners of the 5 districts in Batanes, and the most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 3.1% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 3.0% and private schools fell 4.9%.
- Of the learners in schools, 94% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 6% in private schools (14% nationally).
- The largest schools are Batanes Nat"l Science High School (968 learners), Basco Central School (637 learners) and Diptan Elementary School (260 learners).
- The most crowded public classrooms are at Batanes Nat"l Science High School, with 25 learners per classroom.
- Of the 7 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; all have internet.
- The 7 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱7.4 million. Across the 7 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱3,125 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 2,233 learners.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 2,233 |
| Male | 1,185 |
| Female | 1,048 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 1,038 | 84 | 1,122 |
| Junior High School | 662 | 12 | 674 |
| Senior High School | 396 | 41 | 437 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 61 | 73 | 134 |
| Grade 1 | 76 | 100 | 176 |
| Grade 2 | 92 | 57 | 149 |
| Grade 3 | 82 | 71 | 153 |
| Grade 4 | 102 | 84 | 186 |
| Grade 5 | 97 | 58 | 155 |
| Grade 6 | 92 | 66 | 158 |
| Grade 7 | 95 | 88 | 183 |
| Grade 8 | 53 | 67 | 120 |
| Grade 9 | 90 | 91 | 181 |
| Grade 10 | 97 | 93 | 190 |
| Grade 11 | 115 | 89 | 204 |
| Grade 12 | 125 | 108 | 233 |
| Special needs, non-graded (elementary) | 8 | 3 | 11 |
| All grades | 1,185 | 1,048 | 2,233 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 437 |
| All tracks | 437 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Junior High School | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 50 | 64 | 114 |
| Elementary | 504 | 398 | 902 |
| Junior High School | 307 | 313 | 620 |
| Senior High School | 227 | 187 | 414 |
| All | 1,088 | 962 | 2,050 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 8 schools.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 7 |
| Private schools | 1 |
| All | 8 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 4 |
| Elementary and junior high (K to 10) | 1 |
| Kindergarten to Grade 12 | 1 |
| Junior and senior high | 2 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 7 |
| Non-sectarian | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 161 teachers and 37 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 161 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 37 |
| All personnel | 198 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 88 |
| Junior High School | 51 |
| Senior High School | 22 |
| All teachers | 161 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 11.8 |
| Junior High School | 13.0 |
| Senior High School | 18.0 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 120 classrooms and 101 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 120
- Seats (approximate)
- 1,574
- Toilets
- 101
- Functional computers
- 654
- Faucets
- 166
- 154 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 68 | 34 | 18 |
| Learners per classroom | 15.3 | 19.5 | 22.0 |
| Seats (approximate) | 781 | 485 | 308 |
| Learners per seat | 1.3 | 1.4 | 1.3 |
| Toilets | 51 | 32 | 18 |
| Learners per toilet | 20.4 | 20.7 | 22.0 |
| Functional computers | 243 | 330 | 81 |
| Learners per computer | 4.3 | 2.0 | 4.9 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 5 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 5 |
| Junior High School | 3 |
| Senior High School | 2 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 5 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 37 |
| Male | 19 |
| Shared | 44 |
| For persons with disabilities | 1 |
| All toilets | 101 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 154 |
| Without water | 12 |
| All faucets | 166 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Computer Room | 7 |
| Offices | 7 |
| School Garden | 6 |
| Clinic | 5 |
| Entrance Gate | 5 |
| Home Economic Room | 5 |
| Supply Room | 5 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 4 |
| Covered Court | 3 |
| Exit Gate | 3 |
| Faculty Room | 3 |
| Industrial Arts Room | 3 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 3 |
| Museum | 3 |
| Science Laboratory | 3 |
| Student Co-Curricular Center | 3 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 3 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 2 |
| Paved Pathway | 2 |
| Canteen | 1 |
| Playground | 1 |
| Roofing | 1 |
| Speech Laboratory | 1 |
| Youth Development Center | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Basco, SDO Batanes in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Basco Central School | Public | 637 | 45 | 32 |
| Batanes Gen. Comp. High School | Public | 39 | 13 | 12 |
| Batanes Nat"l Science High School | Public | 968 | 58 | 38 |
| Chanarian Elementary School | Public | 33 | 9 | 5 |
| Diptan Elementary School | Public | 260 | 19 | 15 |
| Saint Dominic College of Batanes, Inc. | Private | 137 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tukon Elementary School | Public | 20 | 4 | 3 |
| Valugan Integrated School | Public | 139 | 13 | 15 |
About this data
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
The figures for Basco, SDO Batanes exclude ALS centers, which DepEd does not assign to districts.
Each school year's figures for Basco, SDO Batanes count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked