Schools in Borongan South, SDO Borongan City
Summary
Of the three districts in Borongan City, Borongan South has the third most learners, and the second most learners per teacher in public schools. Its 19 schools held 3,278 learners in SY 2024-25, alongside 160 public teachers. Enrollment in schools rose 1.1% from SY 2023-24, not counting ALS; public schools grew 1.1%, while private schools were unchanged at 0.0%.
Public schools hold 99% of the learners in schools, against 85% nationally, and private schools hold 1%, against 14% nationally. Of the 18 reporting public schools, all have electricity and all have water, but 10 (56%) have no internet, against 25% in Region VIII. Next, the page lists the 19 schools with their learners, teachers and classrooms, and shows the figures by sector and level.
- Schools
- 19
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 18 public, 1 private
- Learners
- 3,278
- Up 35 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 160
- Down 13 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 160
- Down 4 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Borongan South has the 3rd most learners of the 3 districts in Borongan City, and the 2nd most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools rose 1.1% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools grew 1.1% and private schools were unchanged at 0.0%.
- Of the learners in schools, 99% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 1% in private schools (14% nationally).
- Leaving out 2 schools whose figures are under review, the largest schools are Lalawigan Central Elementary School (256 learners), Locso-On Elementary School (240 learners) and Benowangan National High School (227 learners).
- Leaving out 1 school whose figures are under review, the most crowded public classrooms are at Suribao Elementary School, with 25 learners per classroom.
- Of the 18 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; 10 (56%) have no internet, against 25% in Region VIII.
- The 18 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱12.2 million. Across the 18 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,327 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 3,278 learners.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 3,278 |
| Male | 1,728 |
| Female | 1,550 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 2,118 | 8 | 2,126 |
| Junior High School | 794 | 0 | 794 |
| Senior High School | 358 | 0 | 358 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 139 | 125 | 264 |
| Grade 1 | 154 | 122 | 276 |
| Grade 2 | 157 | 141 | 298 |
| Grade 3 | 179 | 156 | 335 |
| Grade 4 | 186 | 151 | 337 |
| Grade 5 | 139 | 136 | 275 |
| Grade 6 | 188 | 153 | 341 |
| Grade 7 | 121 | 121 | 242 |
| Grade 8 | 98 | 75 | 173 |
| Grade 9 | 98 | 94 | 192 |
| Grade 10 | 100 | 87 | 187 |
| Grade 11 | 92 | 87 | 179 |
| Grade 12 | 77 | 102 | 179 |
| All grades | 1,728 | 1,550 | 3,278 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 209 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 149 |
| All tracks | 358 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Program | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Other School-Initiated Intervention | 2 | 2 | 4 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 19 schools.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 18 |
| Private schools | 1 |
| All | 19 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 17 |
| Junior and senior high | 2 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 18 |
| Non-sectarian | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 160 teachers and 32 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 160 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 32 |
| All personnel | 192 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 115 |
| Junior High School | 45 |
| All teachers | 160 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 18.4 |
| Junior High School | 17.6 |
| Senior High School | Not reported |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 160 classrooms and 176 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 160
- Seats (approximate)
- 4,075
- Toilets
- 176
- Functional computers
- 341
- Faucets
- 227
- 209 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 118 | 28 | 14 |
| Learners per classroom | 18.0 | 28.4 | 25.6 |
| Seats (approximate) | 1,808 | 1,257 | 1,010 |
| Learners per seat | 1.2 | 0.6 | 0.4 |
| Toilets | 104 | 51 | 21 |
| Learners per toilet | 20.4 | 15.6 | 17.1 |
| Functional computers | 100 | 122 | 119 |
| Learners per computer | 21.2 | 6.5 | 3.0 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 16 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply | Grid and off-grid supply |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 15 | 1 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 7 | 9 |
| Junior High School | 1 | 1 |
| Senior High School | 1 | 1 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 31 |
| Male | 30 |
| Shared | 108 |
| For persons with disabilities | 7 |
| All toilets | 176 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 209 |
| Without water | 18 |
| All faucets | 227 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Entrance Gate | 18 |
| Offices | 15 |
| Playground | 15 |
| School Garden | 15 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 15 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 10 |
| Computer Room | 9 |
| Exit Gate | 9 |
| Paved Pathway | 4 |
| Conference Room | 3 |
| Covered Court | 3 |
| Faculty Room | 3 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 3 |
| Clinic | 2 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 2 |
| Home Economic Room | 2 |
| Solar Panel | 2 |
| Bike Rack | 1 |
| Industrial Arts Room | 1 |
| Science Laboratory | 1 |
| Supply Room | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Borongan South, SDO Borongan City in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bagong Barrio Elementary School | Public | 116 | 8 | 7 |
| Banuyo Elementary School | Public | 101 | 8 | 8 |
| Baras Elementary School | Public | 81 | 6 | 5 |
| Benowangan Elementary School | Public | 177 | 8 | 8 |
| Benowangan National High School | Public | 227 | 9 | 11 |
| Cabalagnan Elementary School | Public | 54 | 4 | 3 |
| Cabong Elementary School | Public | 194 | 9 | 9 |
| Camada Elementary School | Public | 70 | 4 | 4 |
| Can-Abong Elementary School | Public | 244 | 9 | 11 |
| Canyupay Elementary School | Public | 55 | 4 | 4 |
| Divinubo Elementary School | Public | 107 | 9 | 10 |
| Hebacong Elementary School | Public | 74 | 4 | 6 |
| Lalawigan Central Elementary School | Public | 256 | 13 | 15 |
| Lalawigan National High School | Public | 925 | 36 | 31 |
| Locso-On Elementary School | Public | 240 | 10 | 10 |
| Pinanag-An Elementary School | Public | 89 | 4 | 4 |
| San Gregorio Elementary School | Public | 60 | 4 | 6 |
| Suribao Elementary School | Public | 200 | 11 | 8 |
| Trinity Center for Creative Learning and Discovery, Inc. | Private | 8 | Not reported | Not reported |
About this data
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
The figures for Borongan South, SDO Borongan City exclude ALS centers, which DepEd does not assign to districts.
Each school year's figures for Borongan South, SDO Borongan City count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked
Report a correction to the figures for Borongan South, SDO Borongan City