Schools in Guiuan East, SDO Eastern Samar
Summary
Guiuan East has the second most learners of the 27 districts in Eastern Samar, and the most learners per teacher in public schools. In SY 2024-25 its 18 schools held 7,937 learners, and enrollment in schools fell 2.3% from SY 2023-24, with ALS not counted: public schools fell 4.6%, while private schools grew 4.6%.
Of the learners in schools, 72% are in public schools against 85% nationally, and 28% in private schools against 14% nationally. Of its 14 reporting public schools, one (7%) has no electricity against 1% in Region VIII, all have water, and 11 (79%) have no internet against 25% in Region VIII.
The 18 schools are listed with their learners, teachers and classrooms, and the figures are broken down by sector and level in charts and tables.
- Schools
- 18
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 14 public, 4 private
- Learners
- 7,937
- Down 183 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 248
- No change from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 220
- Up 8 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Guiuan East has the 2nd most learners of the 27 districts in Eastern Samar, and the most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 2.3% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 4.6% and private schools grew 4.6%.
- Of the learners in schools, 72% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 28% in private schools (14% nationally).
- The largest schools are Guiuan National High School (2,660 learners), Guiuan East Central School (1,403 learners) and Immaculate Conception School of Guiuan, Inc. (1,270 learners).
- Enrollment grew fastest at Immaculate Conception School of Guiuan, Inc. (+8%) and fell most at Bungtod Elementary School (−11%), among schools with 100 or more learners in both years.
- The most crowded public classrooms are at Guiuan National High School, with 33 learners per classroom.
- Of the 14 reporting public schools, 1 (7%) has no electricity, against 1% in Region VIII; all have water; 11 (79%) have no internet, against 25% in Region VIII.
- The 14 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱14.5 million. Across the 14 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱1,882 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 7,937 learners.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 7,937 |
| Male | 4,023 |
| Female | 3,914 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 3,090 | 254 | 3,344 |
| Junior High School | 1,460 | 1,320 | 2,780 |
| Senior High School | 1,200 | 613 | 1,813 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 215 | 196 | 411 |
| Grade 1 | 219 | 220 | 439 |
| Grade 2 | 239 | 211 | 450 |
| Grade 3 | 258 | 266 | 524 |
| Grade 4 | 300 | 244 | 544 |
| Grade 5 | 220 | 208 | 428 |
| Grade 6 | 272 | 276 | 548 |
| Grade 7 | 421 | 372 | 793 |
| Grade 8 | 340 | 342 | 682 |
| Grade 9 | 312 | 323 | 635 |
| Grade 10 | 324 | 346 | 670 |
| Grade 11 | 458 | 474 | 932 |
| Grade 12 | 445 | 436 | 881 |
| All grades | 4,023 | 3,914 | 7,937 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 1,271 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 542 |
| All tracks | 1,813 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Program | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Other School-Initiated Intervention | 5 | 1 | 6 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 18 schools.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 14 |
| Private schools | 4 |
| All | 18 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 14 |
| Elementary and junior high (K to 10) | 1 |
| Kindergarten to Grade 12 | 1 |
| Junior and senior high | 2 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 14 |
| Sectarian | 4 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 248 teachers and 22 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 248 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 22 |
| All personnel | 270 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 147 |
| Junior High School | 63 |
| Senior High School | 38 |
| All teachers | 248 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 21.0 |
| Junior High School | 23.2 |
| Senior High School | 31.6 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 220 classrooms and 296 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 220
- Seats (approximate)
- 5,182
- Toilets
- 296
- Functional computers
- 969
- Faucets
- 294
- 231 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 139 | 44 | 37 |
| Learners per classroom | 22.2 | 33.2 | 32.4 |
| Seats (approximate) | 3,119 | 1,215 | 848 |
| Learners per seat | 1.0 | 1.2 | 1.4 |
| Toilets | 180 | 64 | 52 |
| Learners per toilet | 17.2 | 22.8 | 23.1 |
| Functional computers | 604 | 92 | 273 |
| Learners per computer | 5.1 | 15.9 | 4.4 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 13 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply | No electricity supply |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 12 | 1 |
| Junior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 2 | 11 |
| Junior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 119 |
| Male | 46 |
| Shared | 129 |
| For persons with disabilities | 2 |
| All toilets | 296 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 231 |
| Without water | 63 |
| All faucets | 294 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Entrance Gate | 14 |
| Playground | 14 |
| School Garden | 13 |
| Offices | 12 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 10 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 8 |
| Conference Room | 6 |
| Exit Gate | 6 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 6 |
| Home Economic Room | 5 |
| Clinic | 4 |
| Canteen | 3 |
| Computer Room | 3 |
| Covered Court | 3 |
| Faculty Room | 3 |
| Student Co-Curricular Center | 3 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 2 |
| Supply Room | 2 |
| Industrial Arts Room | 1 |
| Paved Pathway | 1 |
| Roofing | 1 |
| Science Laboratory | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Guiuan East, SDO Eastern Samar in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Banaag Elementary School | Public | 72 | 5 | 5 |
| Buenavista Elementary School | Public | 107 | 5 | 5 |
| Bungtod Elementary School | Public | 126 | 7 | 7 |
| Campoyong Elementary School | Public | 319 | 14 | 13 |
| Dalaragan Elementary School | Public | 115 | 6 | 5 |
| Gahoy Elementary School | Public | 110 | 7 | 6 |
| Grace Christian School of Guiuan, Inc. | Private | 45 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Guiuan East Central School | Public | 1,403 | 57 | 51 |
| Guiuan National High School | Public | 2,660 | 101 | 81 |
| Hamorawon Elementary School | Public | 99 | 5 | 6 |
| Immaculate Conception School of Guiuan, Inc. | Private | 1,270 | Not reported | Not reported |
| MSH Sisters Academy (Guiuan) | Private | 62 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Salug Elementary School | Public | 290 | 15 | 15 |
| San Jose Elementary School | Public | 72 | 4 | 4 |
| Sapao Elementary School | Public | 101 | 8 | 7 |
| St. Mary’s Academy of Guiuan, Inc. | Private | 810 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Surok Elementary School | Public | 187 | 8 | 8 |
| Victory Elementary School | Public | 89 | 6 | 7 |
About this data
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
The figures for Guiuan East, SDO Eastern Samar exclude ALS centers, which DepEd does not assign to districts.
Each school year's figures for Guiuan East, SDO Eastern Samar count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked
Report a correction to the figures for Guiuan East, SDO Eastern Samar