Schools in Santiago, SDO Ilocos Sur
Summary
In SY 2024-25, enrollment in the 14 schools of the Santiago district fell 5.3% from SY 2023-24, with ALS not counted, while public schools fell 5.0%, private schools fell 9.4% and SUC and LUC schools grew 5.9%. Public schools hold 91% of the learners in its schools, against 85% nationally, and private schools hold 8%, against 14% nationally.
Santiago has the 16th most learners of the 23 districts in Ilocos Sur, and the second most learners per teacher in public schools, tied. The most crowded public classrooms are at Santiago National High School, with 42 learners per classroom.
Each of its schools is listed with its learners, teachers and classrooms, and the figures are broken down by sector and level.
- Schools
- 14
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 12 public, 1 private, 1 SUC or LUC
- Learners
- 3,425
- Down 192 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 141
- Down 7 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 123
- Up 4 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Santiago has the 16th most learners of the 23 districts in Ilocos Sur, and the 2nd most learners per teacher in public schools (tied).
- Enrollment in schools fell 5.3% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 5.0%, private schools fell 9.4% and SUC and LUC schools grew 5.9%.
- Of the learners in schools, 91% are in public schools (85% nationally), 8% in private schools (14% nationally) and 1% in SUC and LUC schools (1% nationally).
- The largest schools are Santiago National High School (1,057 learners), Dan-Ar Integrated School (434 learners) and Santiago South Central School (306 learners).
- Enrollment grew fastest at Dan-Ar Integrated School (+5%) and fell most at Caburao Elementary School (−13%), among schools with 100 or more learners in both years.
- The most crowded public classrooms are at Santiago National High School, with 42 learners per classroom.
- Of the 12 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; all have internet.
- The 12 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱9.6 million. Across the 12 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,262 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 3,425 learners.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 3,425 |
| Male | 1,764 |
| Female | 1,661 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | SUCs and LUCs | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 1,918 | 0 | 0 | 1,918 |
| Junior High School | 815 | 177 | 0 | 992 |
| Senior High School | 385 | 112 | 18 | 515 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 92 | 101 | 193 |
| Grade 1 | 126 | 117 | 243 |
| Grade 2 | 142 | 123 | 265 |
| Grade 3 | 132 | 128 | 260 |
| Grade 4 | 179 | 175 | 354 |
| Grade 5 | 117 | 106 | 223 |
| Grade 6 | 191 | 189 | 380 |
| Grade 7 | 153 | 132 | 285 |
| Grade 8 | 102 | 97 | 199 |
| Grade 9 | 140 | 125 | 265 |
| Grade 10 | 128 | 115 | 243 |
| Grade 11 | 115 | 138 | 253 |
| Grade 12 | 147 | 115 | 262 |
| All grades | 1,764 | 1,661 | 3,425 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 421 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 94 |
| All tracks | 515 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Elementary | 9 | 6 | 15 |
| Junior High School | 5 | 0 | 5 |
| Senior High School | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| All | 14 | 8 | 22 |
| Program | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Other School-Initiated Intervention | 8 | 13 | 21 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 14 schools.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 12 |
| Private schools | 1 |
| SUCs and LUCs | 1 |
| All | 14 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 10 |
| Elementary and junior high (K to 10) | 1 |
| Junior and senior high | 2 |
| Senior high only | 1 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 12 |
| Sectarian | 1 |
| State universities and colleges | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 141 teachers and 22 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 141 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 22 |
| All personnel | 163 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 97 |
| Junior High School | 30 |
| Senior High School | 14 |
| All teachers | 141 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 19.8 |
| Junior High School | 27.2 |
| Senior High School | 27.5 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 123 classrooms and 205 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 123
- Seats (approximate)
- 1,613
- Toilets
- 205
- Functional computers
- 220
- Faucets
- 620
- 610 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 97 | 17 | 9 |
| Learners per classroom | 19.8 | 47.9 | 42.8 |
| Seats (approximate) | 1,338 | 184 | 91 |
| Learners per seat | 1.4 | 4.4 | 4.2 |
| Toilets | 180 | 17 | 8 |
| Learners per toilet | 10.7 | 47.9 | 48.1 |
| Functional computers | 93 | 81 | 46 |
| Learners per computer | 20.6 | 10.1 | 8.4 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 11 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 11 |
| Junior High School | 2 |
| Senior High School | 1 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 11 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 56 |
| Male | 58 |
| Shared | 90 |
| For persons with disabilities | 1 |
| All toilets | 205 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 610 |
| Without water | 10 |
| All faucets | 620 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Entrance Gate | 12 |
| Offices | 12 |
| School Garden | 12 |
| Exit Gate | 10 |
| Playground | 10 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 10 |
| Canteen | 8 |
| Covered Court | 8 |
| Home Economic Room | 7 |
| Paved Pathway | 6 |
| Clinic | 5 |
| Computer Room | 4 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 4 |
| Faculty Room | 3 |
| Conference Room | 2 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 2 |
| Science Laboratory | 2 |
| Flood Marker | 1 |
| Industrial Arts Room | 1 |
| Roofing | 1 |
| Solar Panel | 1 |
| Student Co-Curricular Center | 1 |
| Supply Room | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Santiago, SDO Ilocos Sur in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ambucao Elementary School | Public | 168 | 8 | 7 |
| Butol Elementary School | Public | 105 | 7 | 8 |
| Caburao Elementary School | Public | 116 | 8 | 3 |
| Dan-Ar Integrated School | Public | 434 | 15 | 13 |
| Gabao Elementary School | Public | 95 | 8 | 7 |
| ISPSC Santiago Campus | SUC or LUC | 18 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Olo-Olo Elementary School | Public | 204 | 8 | 8 |
| Sabangan Elementary School | Public | 224 | 10 | 10 |
| Salincub Elementary School | Public | 159 | 9 | 9 |
| San Roque Elementary School | Public | 109 | 8 | 7 |
| Santiago Catholic School (SCS), Inc. | Private | 289 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Santiago National High School | Public | 1,057 | 41 | 25 |
| Santiago North Central School | Public | 141 | 8 | 9 |
| Santiago South Central School | Public | 306 | 11 | 17 |
About this data
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
The figures for Santiago, SDO Ilocos Sur exclude ALS centers, which DepEd does not assign to districts.
Each school year's figures for Santiago, SDO Ilocos Sur count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked
Report a correction to the figures for Santiago, SDO Ilocos Sur