Schools in Luna I, SDO La Union
Summary
In SY 2024-25, 99% of the 4,265 learners in schools in Luna I are in public schools, compared with 85% nationally, and 1% are in private schools, compared with 14% nationally. Enrollment in schools fell 2.4% from SY 2023-24, with ALS not counted: public schools fell 2.0%, while private schools fell 66.7%.
Luna I has the 16th most learners of the 22 districts in La Union, and the 13th most learners per teacher in public schools. Its largest school is Luna National High School, with 1,797 learners, followed by Luna Central School with 633 and Luna National Vocational High School with 349.
The page lists its 11 schools with their learners, teachers and classrooms, and shows the figures by sector and level in charts and tables.
- Schools
- 11
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 10 public, 1 private
- Learners
- 4,265
- Down 105 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 203
- Down 5 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 173
- Up 8 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Luna I has the 16th most learners of the 22 districts in La Union, and the 13th most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 2.4% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 2.0% and private schools fell 66.7%.
- Of the learners in schools, 99% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 1% in private schools (14% nationally).
- The largest schools are Luna National High School (1,797 learners), Luna Central School (633 learners) and Luna National Vocational High School (349 learners).
- The most crowded public classrooms are at Nalvo Norte Elementary School, with 33 learners per classroom.
- Of the 10 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; all have internet.
- The 10 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱10.9 million. Across the 10 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,087 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 4,265 learners.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 4,265 |
| Male | 2,240 |
| Female | 2,025 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 1,877 | 8 | 1,885 |
| Junior High School | 1,486 | 0 | 1,486 |
| Senior High School | 894 | 0 | 894 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 113 | 98 | 211 |
| Grade 1 | 114 | 136 | 250 |
| Grade 2 | 158 | 103 | 261 |
| Grade 3 | 149 | 137 | 286 |
| Grade 4 | 153 | 137 | 290 |
| Grade 5 | 150 | 116 | 266 |
| Grade 6 | 168 | 153 | 321 |
| Grade 7 | 218 | 214 | 432 |
| Grade 8 | 151 | 146 | 297 |
| Grade 9 | 191 | 179 | 370 |
| Grade 10 | 214 | 173 | 387 |
| Grade 11 | 231 | 222 | 453 |
| Grade 12 | 230 | 211 | 441 |
| All grades | 2,240 | 2,025 | 4,265 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 586 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 308 |
| All tracks | 894 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Elementary | 5 | 3 | 8 |
| Junior High School | 6 | 1 | 7 |
| Senior High School | 1 | 3 | 4 |
| All | 12 | 8 | 20 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 11 schools.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 10 |
| Private schools | 1 |
| All | 11 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 8 |
| Junior and senior high | 3 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 10 |
| Non-sectarian | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 203 teachers and 53 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 203 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 53 |
| All personnel | 256 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 94 |
| Junior High School | 71 |
| Senior High School | 38 |
| All teachers | 203 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 20.0 |
| Junior High School | 20.9 |
| Senior High School | 23.5 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 173 classrooms and 206 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 173
- Seats (approximate)
- 3,796
- Toilets
- 206
- Functional computers
- 532
- Faucets
- 334
- 320 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 86 | 52 | 35 |
| Learners per classroom | 21.8 | 28.6 | 25.5 |
| Seats (approximate) | 1,018 | 1,732 | 1,046 |
| Learners per seat | 1.8 | 0.9 | 0.9 |
| Toilets | 125 | 50 | 31 |
| Learners per toilet | 15.0 | 29.7 | 28.8 |
| Functional computers | 138 | 127 | 267 |
| Learners per computer | 13.6 | 11.7 | 3.4 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 7 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 7 |
| Junior High School | 3 |
| Senior High School | 3 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 7 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 43 |
| Male | 37 |
| Shared | 121 |
| For persons with disabilities | 5 |
| All toilets | 206 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 320 |
| Without water | 14 |
| All faucets | 334 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Entrance Gate | 10 |
| Offices | 10 |
| School Garden | 10 |
| Canteen | 9 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 9 |
| Exit Gate | 8 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 8 |
| Covered Court | 7 |
| Playground | 6 |
| Clinic | 5 |
| Computer Room | 5 |
| Paved Pathway | 5 |
| Faculty Room | 4 |
| Home Economic Room | 3 |
| Science Laboratory | 3 |
| Roofing | 2 |
| Speech Laboratory | 2 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 2 |
| Flood Marker | 1 |
| Industrial Arts Room | 1 |
| Supply Room | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Luna I, SDO La Union in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Barrientos Elementary School | Public | 193 | 10 | 11 |
| Darigayos Elementary School | Public | 239 | 13 | 13 |
| Luna Central School | Public | 633 | 27 | 26 |
| Luna National High School | Public | 1,797 | 75 | 54 |
| Luna National Vocational High School | Public | 349 | 22 | 22 |
| Nalvo Norte Elementary School | Public | 200 | 11 | 6 |
| Rimos Del Norte Elementary School | Public | 294 | 15 | 13 |
| Rimos Elementary School | Public | 189 | 10 | 9 |
| Rimos National High School | Public | 234 | 12 | 11 |
| Sto. Domingo Elementary School | Public | 129 | 8 | 8 |
| UCCP Nursery-Kindergarten School (Luna) | Private | 8 | Not reported | Not reported |
About this data
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
The figures for Luna I, SDO La Union exclude ALS centers, which DepEd does not assign to districts.
Each school year's figures for Luna I, SDO La Union count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked