Schools in Carigara I, SDO Leyte
Summary
Carigara I has the fifth most learners of the 60 districts in Leyte, with 10,065 learners in its 20 schools in SY 2024-25. In public schools it also has the 12th most learners per teacher, with 373 public teachers in SY 2024-25.
Enrollment in schools fell 3.3% from SY 2023-24, not counting ALS: public schools fell 5.3% while private schools grew 12.5%. Public schools hold 87% of learners in schools, against 85% nationally, and private schools hold 13%, against 14% nationally. The most crowded public classrooms are at Alberto T. Aguja Mem. Central School, with one classroom for every 61 learners.
All 18 reporting public schools have electricity, water and internet. From here, the 20 schools are listed with their learners, teachers and classrooms, or the figures can be broken down by sector and level.
- Schools
- 20
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 18 public, 2 private
- Learners
- 10,065
- Down 340 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 373
- Up 4 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 254
- Up 5 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Carigara I has the 5th most learners of the 60 districts in Leyte, and the 12th most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 3.3% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 5.3% and private schools grew 12.5%.
- Of the learners in schools, 87% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 13% in private schools (14% nationally).
- The largest schools are Jugaban National High School (2,088 learners), Carigara National High School (2,053 learners) and Cassidy Elementary School (1,344 learners).
- Enrollment grew fastest at Holy Cross College of Carigara (+13%) and fell most at Canlampay Elementary School (−13%), among schools with 100 or more learners in both years.
- The most crowded public classrooms are at Alberto T. Aguja Mem. Central School, with 61 learners per classroom.
- Of the 18 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; all have internet.
- The 18 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱20.2 million. Across the 18 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱1,734 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 10,065 learners.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 10,065 |
| Male | 5,177 |
| Female | 4,888 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 4,417 | 31 | 4,448 |
| Junior High School | 2,855 | 740 | 3,595 |
| Senior High School | 1,458 | 564 | 2,022 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 278 | 245 | 523 |
| Grade 1 | 277 | 290 | 567 |
| Grade 2 | 339 | 296 | 635 |
| Grade 3 | 307 | 293 | 600 |
| Grade 4 | 361 | 365 | 726 |
| Grade 5 | 336 | 289 | 625 |
| Grade 6 | 395 | 336 | 731 |
| Grade 7 | 511 | 480 | 991 |
| Grade 8 | 434 | 406 | 840 |
| Grade 9 | 463 | 427 | 890 |
| Grade 10 | 453 | 421 | 874 |
| Grade 11 | 520 | 521 | 1,041 |
| Grade 12 | 478 | 503 | 981 |
| Special needs, non-graded (elementary) | 25 | 16 | 41 |
| All grades | 5,177 | 4,888 | 10,065 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 1,398 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 624 |
| All tracks | 2,022 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Senior High School | 0 | 1 | 1 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 20 schools.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 18 |
| Private schools | 2 |
| All | 20 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 16 |
| Junior high only | 1 |
| Junior and senior high | 3 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 18 |
| Non-sectarian | 1 |
| Sectarian | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 373 teachers and 41 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 373 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 41 |
| All personnel | 414 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 191 |
| Junior High School | 128 |
| Senior High School | 54 |
| All teachers | 373 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 23.1 |
| Junior High School | 22.3 |
| Senior High School | 27.0 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 254 classrooms and 278 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 254
- Seats (approximate)
- 7,095
- Toilets
- 278
- Functional computers
- 340
- Faucets
- 613
- 511 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 149 | 71 | 34 |
| Learners per classroom | 29.6 | 40.2 | 42.9 |
| Seats (approximate) | 3,102 | 2,762 | 1,231 |
| Learners per seat | 1.4 | 1.0 | 1.2 |
| Toilets | 177 | 73 | 28 |
| Learners per toilet | 25.0 | 39.1 | 52.1 |
| Functional computers | 43 | 214 | 83 |
| Learners per computer | 102.7 | 13.3 | 17.6 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 15 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 15 |
| Junior High School | 3 |
| Senior High School | 2 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 15 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 24 |
| Male | 23 |
| Shared | 215 |
| For persons with disabilities | 16 |
| All toilets | 278 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 511 |
| Without water | 102 |
| All faucets | 613 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Entrance Gate | 18 |
| School Garden | 15 |
| Offices | 13 |
| Playground | 13 |
| Paved Pathway | 12 |
| Computer Room | 11 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 11 |
| Covered Court | 10 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 9 |
| Roofing | 8 |
| Exit Gate | 5 |
| Clinic | 4 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 4 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 3 |
| Gymnasium | 3 |
| Home Economic Room | 3 |
| Conference Room | 2 |
| Youth Development Center | 2 |
| Flood Marker | 1 |
| Solar Panel | 1 |
| Supply Room | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Carigara I, SDO Leyte in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberto T. Aguja Mem. Central School | Public | 910 | 35 | 15 |
| Balilit Elementary School | Public | 114 | 8 | 3 |
| Barugohay Sur Elementary School | Public | 139 | 8 | 8 |
| Caghalo Elementary School | Public | 262 | 12 | 12 |
| Candigahub Elementary School | Public | 192 | 8 | 8 |
| Canlampay Elementary School | Public | 131 | 8 | 8 |
| Carigara National High School | Public | 2,053 | 91 | 37 |
| Cassidy Elementary School | Public | 1,344 | 45 | 31 |
| Hiluctogan Elementary School | Public | 185 | 8 | 7 |
| Hira-An Elementary School | Public | 157 | 8 | 5 |
| Holy Child Devt. Ctr. of Carigara, Inc. | Private | 31 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Holy Cross College of Carigara | Private | 1,304 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Jugaban National High School | Public | 2,088 | 80 | 60 |
| Manloy Elementary School | Public | 108 | 7 | 8 |
| Mariano Morales Memorial Elementary School | Public | 135 | 8 | 8 |
| Nauguisan Elementary School | Public | 179 | 8 | 7 |
| Ponong Elementary School | Public | 206 | 11 | 12 |
| Sogod Elementary School | Public | 218 | 10 | 10 |
| Sogod National High school | Public | 172 | 11 | 8 |
| Uyawan Elementary School | Public | 137 | 7 | 7 |
About this data
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
The figures for Carigara I, SDO Leyte exclude ALS centers, which DepEd does not assign to districts.
Each school year's figures for Carigara I, SDO Leyte count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked
Report a correction to the figures for Carigara I, SDO Leyte