Schools in Leyte I, SDO Leyte
Summary
With 6,596 learners in SY 2024-25 across 19 schools, Leyte I has the 21st most learners of the 60 districts in Leyte, and the 28th most learners per teacher in public schools. Enrollment in its schools fell 5.1% from SY 2023-24, not counting ALS: public schools fell 4.9% and private schools fell 60.0%. Public schools hold 99% of its learners, against 85% nationally, and private schools hold 1%, against 14%.
Its most crowded public classrooms are at Leyte National High School, where there is one classroom for every 47 learners. The page lists its schools with their learners, teachers and classrooms, and breaks the figures down by sector and level in charts and tables.
- Schools
- 19
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 18 public, 1 private
- Learners
- 6,596
- Down 354 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 302
- Up 6 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 217
- No change from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Leyte I has the 21st most learners of the 60 districts in Leyte, and the 28th most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 5.1% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 4.9% and private schools fell 60.0%.
- Of the learners in schools, 99% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 1% in private schools (14% nationally).
- The largest schools are Leyte Agro-Industrial School (1,298 learners), Leyte National High School (1,278 learners) and Leyte Central School (1,029 learners).
- Enrollment grew fastest at Leyte Agro-Industrial School (+4%) and fell most at Leyte National High School (−18%), among schools with 100 or more learners in both years.
- The most crowded public classrooms are at Leyte National High School, with 47 learners per classroom.
- Of the 18 reporting public schools, all have electricity; 1 (6%) has no water, against 2% in Region VIII; 5 (28%) have no internet, against 25% in Region VIII.
- The 18 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱18.4 million. Across the 17 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,204 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 6,596 learners.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 6,596 |
| Male | 3,386 |
| Female | 3,210 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 3,057 | 8 | 3,065 |
| Junior High School | 2,562 | 0 | 2,562 |
| Senior High School | 969 | 0 | 969 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 185 | 167 | 352 |
| Grade 1 | 227 | 198 | 425 |
| Grade 2 | 243 | 189 | 432 |
| Grade 3 | 239 | 208 | 447 |
| Grade 4 | 248 | 211 | 459 |
| Grade 5 | 231 | 197 | 428 |
| Grade 6 | 263 | 230 | 493 |
| Grade 7 | 375 | 365 | 740 |
| Grade 8 | 289 | 348 | 637 |
| Grade 9 | 290 | 311 | 601 |
| Grade 10 | 286 | 298 | 584 |
| Grade 11 | 269 | 253 | 522 |
| Grade 12 | 225 | 222 | 447 |
| Special needs, non-graded (elementary) | 16 | 13 | 29 |
| All grades | 3,386 | 3,210 | 6,596 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 750 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 219 |
| All tracks | 969 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Junior High School | 1 | 0 | 1 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 19 schools.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 18 |
| Private schools | 1 |
| All | 19 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 15 |
| Elementary and junior high (K to 10) | 1 |
| Junior and senior high | 3 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 18 |
| Sectarian | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 302 teachers and 43 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 302 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 43 |
| All personnel | 345 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 142 |
| Junior High School | 120 |
| Senior High School | 40 |
| All teachers | 302 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 21.5 |
| Junior High School | 21.4 |
| Senior High School | 24.2 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 217 classrooms and 235 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 217
- Seats (approximate)
- 6,179
- Toilets
- 235
- Functional computers
- 338
- Faucets
- 400
- 299 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 130 | 63 | 24 |
| Learners per classroom | 23.5 | 40.7 | 40.4 |
| Seats (approximate) | 2,755 | 2,179 | 1,245 |
| Learners per seat | 1.1 | 1.2 | 0.8 |
| Toilets | 136 | 72 | 27 |
| Learners per toilet | 22.5 | 35.6 | 35.9 |
| Functional computers | 35 | 203 | 100 |
| Learners per computer | 87.3 | 12.6 | 9.7 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 14 | 1 |
| Junior High School | 4 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 15 |
| Junior High School | 4 |
| Senior High School | 3 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 11 | 4 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 1 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 1 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 21 |
| Male | 20 |
| Shared | 191 |
| For persons with disabilities | 3 |
| All toilets | 235 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 299 |
| Without water | 101 |
| All faucets | 400 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Entrance Gate | 17 |
| School Garden | 15 |
| Paved Pathway | 13 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 13 |
| Playground | 11 |
| Exit Gate | 10 |
| Computer Room | 9 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 5 |
| Offices | 5 |
| Home Economic Room | 4 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 4 |
| Science Laboratory | 3 |
| Clinic | 2 |
| Covered Court | 2 |
| Faculty Room | 2 |
| Supply Room | 2 |
| Conference Room | 1 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 1 |
| Student Co-Curricular Center | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Leyte I, SDO Leyte in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bachao Elementary School | Public | 203 | 8 | 6 |
| Bachao Integrated School | Public | 371 | 8 | 12 |
| Baco Elementary School | Public | 163 | 8 | 6 |
| Basud Primary School | Public | 17 | 1 | 0 |
| Burabod Elementary School | Public | 116 | 7 | 6 |
| Culasi Elementary School | Public | 144 | 8 | 8 |
| Danus Elementary School | Public | 102 | 8 | 4 |
| Juan V. Delantar National High School | Public | 774 | 38 | 22 |
| Kawayan Elementary School | Public | 165 | 8 | 9 |
| Leyte Agro-Industrial School | Public | 1,298 | 63 | 34 |
| Leyte Central School | Public | 1,029 | 35 | 39 |
| Leyte National High School | Public | 1,278 | 59 | 27 |
| Maanda Elementary School | Public | 97 | 7 | 5 |
| Palarao Elementary School | Public | 368 | 13 | 13 |
| Palid II Elementary School | Public | 95 | 8 | 5 |
| Parasan Elementary School | Public | 88 | 6 | 5 |
| Sambulawan Elementary School | Public | 225 | 9 | 7 |
| Sisters of the Angels Learning Center | Private | 8 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tinocdugan Elementary School | Public | 100 | 8 | 6 |
| Toctoc Elementary School | Public | 158 | 8 | 9 |
About this data
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
The figures for Leyte I, SDO Leyte exclude ALS centers, which DepEd does not assign to districts.
Each school year's figures for Leyte I, SDO Leyte count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked