Schools in Pontevedra I, SDO Negros Occidental
Summary
Public schools in Pontevedra I fell 3.4% from SY 2023-24, while private schools grew 13.1%. Enrollment across all its schools fell 2.0% over the same period, with ALS not counted, to 7,854 learners in SY 2024-25. Public schools hold 90% of its learners in schools, against 85% nationally, and private schools hold 10%, against 14% nationally.
Pontevedra I has the 19th most learners of the 31 districts in Negros Occidental, and the 22nd most learners per teacher in public schools, with 299 public teachers. Pontevedra National High School has the most crowded public classrooms, with one classroom for every 37 learners. The 14 schools are listed with their learners, teachers and classrooms, and the figures are broken down by sector and level.
- Schools
- 14
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 12 public, 2 private
- Learners
- 7,854
- Down 157 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 299
- Up 5 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 251
- Down 1 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Pontevedra I has the 19th most learners of the 31 districts in Negros Occidental, and the 22nd most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 2.0% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 3.4% and private schools grew 13.1%.
- Of the learners in schools, 90% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 10% in private schools (14% nationally).
- Leaving out 2 schools whose figures are under review, the largest schools are Pontevedra National High School (2,358 learners), Miranda Elementary School (682 learners) and Catalino Soliguen National High School (558 learners).
- Enrollment grew fastest at St. Michael Academy of Pontevedra, Inc. (+25%) and fell most at M. H. Del Pilar Elementary School (−13%), among schools with 100 or more learners in both years.
- The most crowded public classrooms are at Pontevedra National High School, with 37 learners per classroom.
- Of the 12 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; all have internet.
- The 12 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱15.1 million. Across the 12 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱1,733 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 7,854 learners.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 7,854 |
| Male | 4,195 |
| Female | 3,659 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 3,548 | 127 | 3,675 |
| Junior High School | 2,379 | 507 | 2,886 |
| Senior High School | 1,125 | 168 | 1,293 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 228 | 224 | 452 |
| Grade 1 | 249 | 224 | 473 |
| Grade 2 | 272 | 232 | 504 |
| Grade 3 | 285 | 244 | 529 |
| Grade 4 | 284 | 254 | 538 |
| Grade 5 | 300 | 252 | 552 |
| Grade 6 | 331 | 296 | 627 |
| Grade 7 | 457 | 356 | 813 |
| Grade 8 | 348 | 287 | 635 |
| Grade 9 | 347 | 328 | 675 |
| Grade 10 | 403 | 360 | 763 |
| Grade 11 | 348 | 308 | 656 |
| Grade 12 | 343 | 294 | 637 |
| All grades | 4,195 | 3,659 | 7,854 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 911 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 382 |
| All tracks | 1,293 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 2 | 1 | 3 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 2 | 4 |
| All | 4 | 3 | 7 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 1 | 0 | 1 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 14 schools.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 12 |
| Private schools | 2 |
| All | 14 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 9 |
| Elementary and junior high (K to 10) | 1 |
| Junior and senior high | 4 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 12 |
| Sectarian | 2 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 299 teachers and 29 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 299 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 29 |
| All personnel | 328 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 145 |
| Junior High School | 109 |
| Senior High School | 45 |
| All teachers | 299 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 24.5 |
| Junior High School | 21.8 |
| Senior High School | 25.0 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 251 classrooms and 371 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 251
- Seats (approximate)
- 6,465
- Toilets
- 371
- Functional computers
- 447
- Faucets
- 709
- 618 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 148 | 70 | 33 |
| Learners per classroom | 24.0 | 34.0 | 34.1 |
| Seats (approximate) | 3,165 | 2,140 | 1,160 |
| Learners per seat | 1.1 | 1.1 | 1.0 |
| Toilets | 238 | 92 | 41 |
| Learners per toilet | 14.9 | 25.9 | 27.4 |
| Functional computers | 150 | 148 | 149 |
| Learners per computer | 23.7 | 16.1 | 7.6 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 9 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply | Grid and off-grid supply |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 8 | 1 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 9 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 133 |
| Male | 92 |
| Shared | 129 |
| For persons with disabilities | 17 |
| All toilets | 371 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 618 |
| Without water | 91 |
| All faucets | 709 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Offices | 12 |
| Entrance Gate | 11 |
| Exit Gate | 11 |
| School Garden | 11 |
| Computer Room | 10 |
| Playground | 10 |
| Home Economic Room | 9 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 9 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 8 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 8 |
| Paved Pathway | 5 |
| Science Laboratory | 5 |
| Clinic | 4 |
| Supply Room | 4 |
| Covered Court | 3 |
| Faculty Room | 3 |
| Roofing | 3 |
| Canteen | 2 |
| Industrial Arts Room | 2 |
| Flood Marker | 1 |
| Solar Panel | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Pontevedra I, SDO Negros Occidental in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Calvary Baptist Academy of Pontevedra, Inc. | Private | 308 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Cambarus Elementary School | Public | 283 | 12 | 12 |
| Canroma Elementary School | Public | 380 | 14 | 15 |
| Catalino Soliguen National High School | Public | 558 | 30 | 19 |
| General Malvar Elementary School | Public | 262 | 11 | 11 |
| M. H. Del Pilar Elementary School | Public | 179 | 9 | 9 |
| Miranda Elementary School | Public | 682 | 26 | 28 |
| Pontevedra National High School | Public | 2,358 | 95 | 64 |
| Pontevedra South Elementary School | Public | 661 | 25 | 27 |
| Recreo Elementary School | Public | 316 | 16 | 13 |
| San Isidro Elementary School | Public | 549 | 22 | 24 |
| San Isidro National High School | Public | 588 | 29 | 20 |
| St. Michael Academy of Pontevedra, Inc. | Private | 494 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Trinidad Elementary School | Public | 236 | 10 | 9 |
About this data
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
The figures for Pontevedra I, SDO Negros Occidental exclude ALS centers, which DepEd does not assign to districts.
Each school year's figures for Pontevedra I, SDO Negros Occidental count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked
Report a correction to the figures for Pontevedra I, SDO Negros Occidental