Schools in San Jose, SDO Northern Samar
Summary
San Jose's 14 schools held 4,678 learners in SY 2024-25, the 17th most learners of the 36 districts in Northern Samar. Of those learners 97% are in public schools, against 85% nationally, and 3% are in private schools, against 14% nationally. Enrollment in schools fell 5.9% from SY 2023-24, with ALS not counted, as public schools fell 5.9% and private schools fell 6.7%.
Its 204 public teachers give it the eighth most learners per teacher in public schools of the 36 districts in Northern Samar. Of the 13 reporting public schools, all have electricity and all have water, but eight (62%) have no internet, against 25% in Region VIII.
The list of the 14 schools shows learners, teachers and classrooms for each one.
- Schools
- 14
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 13 public, 1 private
- Learners
- 4,678
- Down 295 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 204
- No change from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 150
- Down 3 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- San Jose has the 17th most learners of the 36 districts in Northern Samar, and the 8th most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 5.9% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 5.9% and private schools fell 6.7%.
- Of the learners in schools, 97% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 3% in private schools (14% nationally).
- Leaving out 1 school whose figures are under review, the largest schools are San Jose Technical High School (1,812 learners), San Jose CS (690 learners) and Geratag Elementary School (327 learners).
- Leaving out 1 school whose enrollment figures are under review, enrollment grew fastest at San Lorenzo Elementary School (+6%) and fell most at San Jose Technical High School (−8%), among schools with 100 or more learners in both years.
- The most crowded public classrooms are at San Jose Technical High School, with 39 learners per classroom.
- Of the 13 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; 8 (62%) have no internet, against 25% in Region VIII.
- The 13 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱12.9 million. Across the 13 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,224 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 4,678 learners.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 4,678 |
| Male | 2,375 |
| Female | 2,303 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 2,714 | 0 | 2,714 |
| Junior High School | 1,185 | 152 | 1,337 |
| Senior High School | 627 | 0 | 627 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 164 | 171 | 335 |
| Grade 1 | 186 | 154 | 340 |
| Grade 2 | 191 | 192 | 383 |
| Grade 3 | 210 | 202 | 412 |
| Grade 4 | 251 | 214 | 465 |
| Grade 5 | 194 | 172 | 366 |
| Grade 6 | 212 | 201 | 413 |
| Grade 7 | 190 | 187 | 377 |
| Grade 8 | 173 | 174 | 347 |
| Grade 9 | 135 | 166 | 301 |
| Grade 10 | 146 | 166 | 312 |
| Grade 11 | 190 | 154 | 344 |
| Grade 12 | 133 | 150 | 283 |
| All grades | 2,375 | 2,303 | 4,678 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 388 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 239 |
| All tracks | 627 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Junior High School | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Program | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Open High School Program | 1 | 4 | 5 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 14 schools.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 13 |
| Private schools | 1 |
| All | 14 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 12 |
| Elementary and junior high (K to 10) | 1 |
| Junior and senior high | 1 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 13 |
| Sectarian | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 204 teachers and 31 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 204 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 31 |
| All personnel | 235 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 119 |
| Junior High School | 58 |
| Senior High School | 27 |
| All teachers | 204 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 22.8 |
| Junior High School | 20.4 |
| Senior High School | 23.2 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 150 classrooms and 157 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 150
- Seats (approximate)
- 3,638
- Toilets
- 157
- Functional computers
- 117
- Faucets
- 414
- 244 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 103 | 31 | 16 |
| Learners per classroom | 26.4 | 38.2 | 39.2 |
| Seats (approximate) | 2,315 | 867 | 456 |
| Learners per seat | 1.2 | 1.4 | 1.4 |
| Toilets | 113 | 29 | 15 |
| Learners per toilet | 24.0 | 40.9 | 41.8 |
| Functional computers | 56 | 51 | 10 |
| Learners per computer | 48.5 | 23.2 | 62.7 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 12 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 0 | 1 |
| Level | Grid supply |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 12 |
| Junior High School | 1 |
| Senior High School | 1 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 4 | 8 |
| Junior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 0 | 1 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 13 |
| Male | 13 |
| Shared | 129 |
| For persons with disabilities | 2 |
| All toilets | 157 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 244 |
| Without water | 170 |
| All faucets | 414 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Entrance Gate | 12 |
| Exit Gate | 12 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 12 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 12 |
| School Garden | 11 |
| Offices | 6 |
| Computer Room | 4 |
| Playground | 4 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 2 |
| Roofing | 2 |
| Clinic | 1 |
| Conference Room | 1 |
| Covered Court | 1 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 1 |
| Faculty Room | 1 |
| Home Economic Room | 1 |
| Industrial Arts Room | 1 |
| Paved Pathway | 1 |
| Solar Panel | 1 |
| Supply Room | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in San Jose, SDO Northern Samar in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aguadahan Elementary School | Public | 224 | 9 | 7 |
| Bagong Sabang Elementary School | Public | 104 | 7 | 5 |
| Bonglas Primary School | Public | 125 | 7 | 4 |
| Dao Elementary School | Public | 213 | 8 | 7 |
| Gengarog Elementary School | Public | 109 | 6 | 4 |
| Geratag Elementary School | Public | 327 | 13 | 10 |
| Layuhan Elementary School | Public | 248 | 9 | 7 |
| Mandugang Elementary School | Public | 121 | 6 | 4 |
| P. Tingzon Elementary School | Public | 407 | 14 | 15 |
| San Jose CS | Public | 690 | 30 | 31 |
| San Jose Technical High School | Public | 1,812 | 85 | 47 |
| San Lorenzo Elementary School | Public | 114 | 6 | 7 |
| St. Joseph Academy | Private | 152 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tubigdanao Elementary School | Public | 32 | 4 | 2 |
About this data
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
The figures for San Jose, SDO Northern Samar exclude ALS centers, which DepEd does not assign to districts.
Each school year's figures for San Jose, SDO Northern Samar count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked
Report a correction to the figures for San Jose, SDO Northern Samar