Schools in San Fernando II, SDO San Fernando City (La Union)
Summary
San Fernando II has 13 schools and 5,526 learners in SY 2024-25, the second most learners of the two districts in San Fernando City (La Union). Its enrollment fell 8.1% from SY 2023-24, with ALS not counted: public schools fell 4.8%, private schools grew 19.6% and SUC and LUC schools fell 27.7%.
Public schools hold 87% of those learners, against 85% nationally, while private schools hold 1% (14% nationally) and SUC and LUC schools 12% (1% nationally). The district also has the most learners per teacher in public schools, across its 191 public teachers. The most crowded public classrooms are at San Agustin (Poro) Elementary School, with 48 learners per classroom.
Each of the 13 schools is listed with its learners, teachers and classrooms, and the figures are broken down by sector and level.
- Schools
- 13
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 10 public, 2 private, 1 SUC or LUC
- Learners
- 5,526
- Down 486 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 191
- Up 4 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 144
- Down 3 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- San Fernando II has the 2nd most learners of the 2 districts in San Fernando City (La Union), and the most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 8.1% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 4.8%, private schools grew 19.6% and SUC and LUC schools fell 27.7%.
- Of the learners in schools, 87% are in public schools (85% nationally), 1% in private schools (14% nationally) and 12% in SUC and LUC schools (1% nationally).
- The largest schools are Catbangen Central School (1,800 learners), Pagudpud Integrated School (940 learners) and Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University - Mid La Union Campus (663 learners).
- The most crowded public classrooms are at San Agustin (Poro) Elementary School, with 48 learners per classroom.
- Of the 10 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; all have internet.
- The 10 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱9.7 million. Across the 10 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱1,544 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 5,526 learners.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 5,526 |
| Male | 2,907 |
| Female | 2,619 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | SUCs and LUCs | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 4,388 | 67 | 300 | 4,755 |
| Junior High School | 353 | 0 | 208 | 561 |
| Senior High School | 55 | 0 | 155 | 210 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 255 | 267 | 522 |
| Grade 1 | 294 | 294 | 588 |
| Grade 2 | 348 | 309 | 657 |
| Grade 3 | 367 | 333 | 700 |
| Grade 4 | 461 | 340 | 801 |
| Grade 5 | 387 | 341 | 728 |
| Grade 6 | 398 | 361 | 759 |
| Grade 7 | 63 | 55 | 118 |
| Grade 8 | 85 | 70 | 155 |
| Grade 9 | 71 | 72 | 143 |
| Grade 10 | 70 | 75 | 145 |
| Grade 11 | 29 | 23 | 52 |
| Grade 12 | 79 | 79 | 158 |
| All grades | 2,907 | 2,619 | 5,526 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 201 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 9 |
| All tracks | 210 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 2 | 7 | 9 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 5 | 10 | 15 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 2 | 4 |
| Senior High School | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| All | 7 | 13 | 20 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 13 schools.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 10 |
| Private schools | 2 |
| SUCs and LUCs | 1 |
| All | 13 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 10 |
| Kindergarten to Grade 12 | 3 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 10 |
| Non-sectarian | 2 |
| State universities and colleges | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 191 teachers and 24 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 191 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 24 |
| All personnel | 215 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 169 |
| Junior High School | 14 |
| Senior High School | 8 |
| All teachers | 191 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 26.0 |
| Junior High School | 25.2 |
| Senior High School | 6.9 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 144 classrooms and 223 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 144
- Seats (approximate)
- 3,460
- Toilets
- 223
- Functional computers
- 429
- Faucets
- 613
- 577 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 127 | 14 | 3 |
| Learners per classroom | 34.6 | 25.2 | 18.3 |
| Seats (approximate) | 3,130 | 315 | 15 |
| Learners per seat | 1.4 | 1.1 | 3.7 |
| Toilets | 206 | 15 | 2 |
| Learners per toilet | 21.3 | 23.5 | 27.5 |
| Functional computers | 280 | 97 | 52 |
| Learners per computer | 15.7 | 3.6 | 1.1 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 10 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 10 |
| Junior High School | 2 |
| Senior High School | 2 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 10 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 17 |
| Male | 13 |
| Shared | 188 |
| For persons with disabilities | 5 |
| All toilets | 223 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 577 |
| Without water | 36 |
| All faucets | 613 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Entrance Gate | 10 |
| Exit Gate | 10 |
| Covered Court | 9 |
| School Garden | 9 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 7 |
| Canteen | 6 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 6 |
| Offices | 5 |
| Playground | 5 |
| Clinic | 3 |
| Computer Room | 3 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 3 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 2 |
| Faculty Room | 1 |
| Paved Pathway | 1 |
| Supply Room | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in San Fernando II, SDO San Fernando City (La Union) in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bungro Elementary School | Public | 243 | 8 | 7 |
| Canaoay Elementary School | Public | 411 | 14 | 13 |
| Catbangen Central School | Public | 1,800 | 59 | 49 |
| Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University - Mid La Union Campus | SUC or LUC | 663 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Jesus Reigns Christian Academy La Union Foundation, Inc | Private | 21 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Lighthouse Baptist Learning Center of San Fernando La Union, Inc | Private | 46 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Masicong Elementary School | Public | 86 | 8 | 8 |
| Pagudpud Integrated School | Public | 940 | 36 | 21 |
| Sacyud Elementary School | Public | 104 | 8 | 7 |
| Sagayad Elementary School | Public | 314 | 11 | 10 |
| San Agustin (Poro) Elementary School | Public | 579 | 23 | 12 |
| Sibuan-Otong Integrated School | Public | 161 | 16 | 10 |
| Tanquigan Elementary School | Public | 158 | 8 | 7 |
About this data
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
The figures for San Fernando II, SDO San Fernando City (La Union) exclude ALS centers, which DepEd does not assign to districts.
Each school year's figures for San Fernando II, SDO San Fernando City (La Union) count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked
Report a correction to the figures for San Fernando II, SDO San Fernando City (La Union)