Schools in Sogod I, SDO Southern Leyte
Summary
Sogod I has the most learners of the 20 districts in Southern Leyte, and the most learners per teacher in public schools. Its 16 schools held 8,479 learners in SY 2024-25, with 323 public teachers. Enrollment in schools fell 2.5% from SY 2023-24, not counting ALS: public schools fell 2.5% and private schools fell 1.8%.
The most crowded public classrooms are at Sogod Central School, with 40 learners per classroom. Of the 13 reporting public schools, two (15%) have no internet, against 25% in Region VIII. Its largest school is Sogod National High school, with 3,811 learners.
The page lists its schools with their learners, teachers and classrooms, and shows the figures by sector and level in charts and tables.
- Schools
- 16
- Down 1 from SY 2023-24
- 13 public, 3 private
- Learners
- 8,479
- Down 213 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 323
- Down 4 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 238
- Down 1 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Sogod I has the most learners of the 20 districts in Southern Leyte, and the most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 2.5% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 2.5% and private schools fell 1.8%.
- Of the learners in schools, 87% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 13% in private schools (14% nationally).
- The largest schools are Sogod National High school (3,811 learners), Sogod Central School (2,229 learners) and Saint Thomas Aquinas College (888 learners).
- Enrollment grew fastest at Merryhills Academy of Sogod Inc. (+4%) and fell most at Mabicay Elementary School (−16%), among schools with 100 or more learners in both years.
- The most crowded public classrooms are at Sogod Central School, with 40 learners per classroom.
- Of the 13 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; 2 (15%) have no internet, against 25% in Region VIII.
- The 13 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱17.3 million. Across the 13 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱1,905 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 8,479 learners.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 8,479 |
| Male | 4,424 |
| Female | 4,050 |
| Not broken down by sex | 5 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 3,182 | 318 | 3,500 |
| Junior High School | 2,496 | 462 | 2,958 |
| Senior High School | 1,682 | 334 | 2,016 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 207 | 196 | 403 |
| Grade 1 | 234 | 216 | 450 |
| Grade 2 | 260 | 199 | 459 |
| Grade 3 | 291 | 242 | 533 |
| Grade 4 | 283 | 243 | 526 |
| Grade 5 | 262 | 234 | 496 |
| Grade 6 | 303 | 269 | 572 |
| Grade 7 | 444 | 399 | 843 |
| Grade 8 | 319 | 297 | 616 |
| Grade 9 | 359 | 381 | 740 |
| Grade 10 | 379 | 380 | 759 |
| Grade 11 | 540 | 480 | 1,020 |
| Grade 12 | 501 | 495 | 996 |
| Special needs, non-graded (elementary) | 42 | 19 | 61 |
| Broken down by grade | 4,424 | 4,050 | 8,474 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 1,444 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 572 |
| All tracks | 2,016 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Junior High School | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| All | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Program | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Open High School Program | 17 | 10 | 27 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 16 schools.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 13 |
| Private schools | 3 |
| All | 16 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 13 |
| Kindergarten to Grade 12 | 1 |
| Junior and senior high | 2 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 13 |
| Sectarian | 2 |
| Non-sectarian | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 323 teachers and 23 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 323 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 23 |
| All personnel | 346 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 145 |
| Junior High School | 114 |
| Senior High School | 64 |
| All teachers | 323 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 21.9 |
| Junior High School | 21.9 |
| Senior High School | 26.3 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 238 classrooms and 320 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 238
- Seats (approximate)
- 6,132
- Toilets
- 320
- Functional computers
- 474
- Faucets
- 709
- 634 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 102 | 82 | 54 |
| Learners per classroom | 31.2 | 30.4 | 31.2 |
| Seats (approximate) | 1,720 | 2,636 | 1,776 |
| Learners per seat | 1.9 | 1.0 | 1.0 |
| Toilets | 137 | 109 | 74 |
| Learners per toilet | 23.2 | 22.9 | 22.7 |
| Functional computers | 134 | 186 | 154 |
| Learners per computer | 23.8 | 13.4 | 10.9 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 11 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply | Grid and off-grid supply |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 10 | 1 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 9 | 2 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 83 |
| Male | 63 |
| Shared | 147 |
| For persons with disabilities | 27 |
| All toilets | 320 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 634 |
| Without water | 75 |
| All faucets | 709 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Entrance Gate | 13 |
| School Garden | 12 |
| Playground | 10 |
| Paved Pathway | 9 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 7 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 7 |
| Exit Gate | 6 |
| Offices | 5 |
| Computer Room | 4 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 3 |
| Roofing | 3 |
| Clinic | 2 |
| Conference Room | 2 |
| Home Economic Room | 2 |
| Industrial Arts Room | 2 |
| Science Laboratory | 2 |
| Solar Panel | 2 |
| Covered Court | 1 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 1 |
| Faculty Room | 1 |
| Gymnasium | 1 |
| Student Co-Curricular Center | 1 |
| Supply Room | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Sogod I, SDO Southern Leyte in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cabadbaran Primary School | Public | 27 | 5 | 0 |
| Grace Christian School | Private | 113 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hindangan Primary School | Public | 25 | 4 | 4 |
| Kauswagan Elementary School | Public | 63 | 4 | 2 |
| Libas Elementary School | Public | 274 | 15 | 12 |
| Libas National High School | Public | 367 | 15 | 15 |
| Lum-An Multigrade School | Public | 20 | 4 | 2 |
| Mabicay Elementary School | Public | 123 | 8 | 5 |
| Merryhills Academy of Sogod Inc. | Private | 118 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Milagroso Elementary School | Public | 112 | 9 | 6 |
| Rizal Primary School | Public | 108 | 4 | 4 |
| Royal Waldorf Integrated Academy, Inc. | Private | 9 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Saint Thomas Aquinas College | Private | 888 | Not reported | Not reported |
| San Pedro Elementary School | Public | 173 | 8 | 8 |
| Sogod Central School | Public | 2,229 | 79 | 56 |
| Sogod National High school | Public | 3,811 | 163 | 121 |
| Sta. Maria Primary School | Public | 28 | 5 | 3 |
About this data
- 5 learners in SY 2024-25 are counted in the totals but not broken down by grade, level or sex, so those charts show at least these numbers.
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
The figures for Sogod I, SDO Southern Leyte exclude ALS centers, which DepEd does not assign to districts.
Each school year's figures for Sogod I, SDO Southern Leyte count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked
Report a correction to the figures for Sogod I, SDO Southern Leyte