Skip to content

Schools in Cantilan I, SDO Surigao del Sur

By · Published · Updated

SY 2024-25 data from DepEd as of 25 October 2025

Summary

Cantilan I has the most learners per teacher in public schools among the 24 districts in Surigao del Sur, and the seventh most learners of them. In SY 2024-25 its 19 schools held 6,557 learners and 156 public teachers. Enrollment in schools fell 2.8% from SY 2023-24, not counting ALS: public schools fell 2.4%, and private schools fell 5.0%.

Public schools hold 85% of those learners, against 85% nationally, and private schools hold 15%, against 14% nationally. Of the 16 reporting public schools, two (13%) have no electricity, against 1% in CARAGA, and all of them have water.

The 19 schools are listed with their learners, teachers and classrooms, and the figures are broken down by sector and level in charts and tables.

Schools
19
No change from SY 2023-24
16 public, 3 private
Learners
6,557
Down 190 from SY 2023-24
Teachers
156
Down 51 from SY 2023-24
Classrooms
166
Up 4 from SY 2023-24

Key findings

For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.

  • Cantilan I has the 7th most learners of the 24 districts in Surigao del Sur, and the most learners per teacher in public schools.
  • Enrollment in schools fell 2.8% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 2.4% and private schools fell 5.0%.
  • Of the learners in schools, 85% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 15% in private schools (14% nationally).
  • Leaving out 2 schools whose figures are under review, the largest schools are Saint Michael College, Cantilan, Incorporated (937 learners), Cantilan Pilot School (824 learners) and Cabangahan Integrated School (472 learners).
  • Leaving out 1 school whose figures are under review, the most crowded public classrooms are at Cabas-An Elementary School, with 37 learners per classroom.
  • Of the 16 reporting public schools, 2 (13%) have no electricity, against 1% in CARAGA; all have water; 1 (6%) has no internet, against 21% in CARAGA.
  • The 16 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱15.4 million. Across the 16 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,085 for each learner.

Learners

SY 2024-25: 6,557 learners.

Learners, SY 2024-25
LearnersNumber
All learners6,557
Male3,338
Female3,166
Not broken down by sex53
Learners by level and sector, SY 2024-25 (at least)Public schoolsPrivate schoolsElementary2,711 totalJunior High School2,538 totalSenior High School1,255 total
Learners by level and sector, SY 2024-25: at least these numbers
Learners by level and sector, SY 2024-25: at least these numbers; 53 not broken down by level
LevelPublic schoolsPrivate schoolsTotal
Elementary2,4482632,711
Junior High School2,0375012,538
Senior High School1,0342211,255
Learners by grade and sex, SY 2024-25 (at least)MaleFemaleKindergarten330 totalGrade 1378 totalGrade 2391 totalGrade 3381 totalGrade 4420 totalGrade 5311 totalGrade 6482 totalGrade 7721 totalGrade 8590 totalGrade 9592 totalGrade 10635 totalGrade 11599 totalGrade 12656 totalSpecial needs, non-graded(elementary)18 total
Learners by grade and sex, SY 2024-25: at least these numbers
Learners by grade and sex, SY 2024-25: at least these numbers; 53 not broken down by grade
GradeMaleFemaleTotal
Kindergarten172158330
Grade 1195183378
Grade 2188203391
Grade 3203178381
Grade 4232188420
Grade 5168143311
Grade 6250232482
Grade 7364357721
Grade 8319271590
Grade 9308284592
Grade 10305330635
Grade 11277322599
Grade 12348308656
Special needs, non-graded (elementary)9918
Broken down by grade3,3383,1666,504
Senior High School learners by track, SY 2024-25Academic841Technical-Vocational-Livelihood439
Senior High School learners by track, SY 2024-25
Senior High School learners by track, SY 2024-25
TrackLearners
Academic841
Technical-Vocational-Livelihood439
All tracks1,280
Indigenous peoples (IP) learners by level and sex, SY 2024-25
LevelMaleFemaleTotal
Kindergarten282048
Elementary203157360
Junior High School107132239
Senior High School315889
All369367736

Schools and community learning centers

SY 2024-25: 19 schools.

Schools by sector, SY 2024-25Public schools16Private schools3
Schools by sector, SY 2024-25
Schools by sector, SY 2024-25
SectorNumber
Public schools16
Private schools3
All19
Schools by curricular offering, SY 2024-25Elementary only14Kindergarten to Grade 122Junior and senior high3
Schools by curricular offering, SY 2024-25
Schools by curricular offering, SY 2024-25
OfferingNumber
Elementary only14
Kindergarten to Grade 122
Junior and senior high3
Schools by subclassification, SY 2024-25
SubclassificationNumber
DepEd managed16
Non-sectarian2
Sectarian1

School personnel

SY 2024-25: 156 teachers and 26 non-teaching personnel in public schools.

Public school personnel by type, SY 2024-25
TypeNumber
Teachers156
Non-teaching personnel26
All personnel182
Public school teachers by level, SY 2024-25Elementary104Junior High School39Senior High School13
Public school teachers by level, SY 2024-25
Public school teachers by level, SY 2024-25
LevelTeachers
Elementary104
Junior High School39
Senior High School13
All teachers156
Learners per teacher by level, public schools, SY 2024-25Elementary23.5Junior High School52.2Senior High School79.5
Learners per teacher by level, public schools, SY 2024-25
Learners per teacher by level, public schools, SY 2024-25
LevelLearners per teacher
Elementary23.5
Junior High School52.2
Senior High School79.5

School resources

SY 2024-25: 166 classrooms and 166 toilets in public schools.

Classrooms
166
Seats (approximate)
4,789
Toilets
166
Functional computers
634
Faucets
556
509 with water
Classrooms, seats, toilets and computers by level, public schools, SY 2024-25ElementaryJunior High SchoolSenior High SchoolClassrooms166 totalSeats (approximate)4,789 totalToilets166 totalFunctional computers634 total
Classrooms, seats, toilets and computers by level, public schools, SY 2024-25: shares of each by level
Classrooms, seats, toilets and computers by level, public schools, SY 2024-25, with learners per resource
MeasureElementaryJunior High SchoolSenior High School
Classrooms895126
Learners per classroom27.539.939.8
Seats (approximate)2,7111,370708
Learners per seat0.91.51.5
Toilets1163317
Learners per toilet21.161.760.8
Functional computers25330279
Learners per computer9.76.813.1
Public schools with a water supply, by level, SY 2024-25With water supplyWithoutElementary13 totalJunior High School4 totalSenior High School4 total
Public schools with a water supply, by level, SY 2024-25
Public schools with a water supply, by level, SY 2024-25: number of schools
LevelWith water supplyWithout
Elementary130
Junior High School40
Senior High School40
Public schools by electricity supply and level, SY 2024-25Grid supplyNo electricity supplyElementary13 totalJunior High School4 totalSenior High School4 total
Public schools by electricity supply and level, SY 2024-25
Public schools by electricity supply and level, SY 2024-25: number of schools
LevelGrid supplyNo electricity supply
Elementary112
Junior High School40
Senior High School40
Public schools with internet access, by level, SY 2024-25With internet accessWithoutElementary13 totalJunior High School4 totalSenior High School4 total
Public schools with internet access, by level, SY 2024-25
Public schools with internet access, by level, SY 2024-25: number of schools
LevelWith internet accessWithout
Elementary121
Junior High School40
Senior High School40
Toilets in public schools by type, SY 2024-25Female25Male25Shared115For persons with disabilities1
Toilets in public schools by type, SY 2024-25
Toilets in public schools by type, SY 2024-25
TypeToilets
Female25
Male25
Shared115
For persons with disabilities1
All toilets166
Faucets in public schools, with and without water, SY 2024-25With water509Without water47
Faucets in public schools, with and without water, SY 2024-25
Faucets in public schools, with and without water, SY 2024-25
FaucetsNumber
With water509
Without water47
All faucets556
Public schools with each facility, SY 2024-25
FacilitySchools
Entrance Gate14
Playground13
School Garden12
Exit Gate10
Temporary Perimeter Fence10
Offices9
Paved Pathway9
Roofing6
Permanent Perimeter Fence5
Clinic3
Computer Room3
Covered Court3
Library/Learning Resource Center3
Supply Room3
Faculty Room2
Science Laboratory2
Canteen1
Conference Room1
Data File Room/Records Room1
Flood Marker1
Home Economic Room1

List of schools

Every school in Cantilan I, SDO Surigao del Sur in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.

Schools in Cantilan I, SDO Surigao del Sur: 19 schools, each with its own latest school year's figures
SchoolSectorLearnersTeachersClassrooms
Agsam Primary SchoolPublic2111
Algo Learning School Inc.Private26Not reportedNot reported
Anas Elementary School of Living TraditionPublic2710
Batoto Primary SchoolPublic2311
Buntalid Elementary SchoolPublic15177
Cabangahan Integrated SchoolPublic4721416
Cabas-An Elementary SchoolPublic18385
Cabitoonan Primary SchoolPublic1111
Canico P. Iriberri National High SchoolPublic13937
Cantilan Montessori School, Inc.Private50Not reportedNot reported
Cantilan National High SchoolPublic2,2033246
Cantilan Pilot SchoolPublic8243329
Consuelo Elmentary SchoolPublic16967
Parang Elementary SchoolPublic4711815
Parang National High SchoolPublic5581417
Saint Michael College, Cantilan, IncorporatedPrivate937Not reportedNot reported
Segundino V. Eleazar Elementary SchoolPublic16987
Sibayoto Primary SchoolPublic1312
Tigabong Elementary SchoolPublic11085

DepEd's public report has teachers and classrooms for public schools only.

About this data

  • 53 learners in SY 2024-25 are counted in the totals but not broken down by grade, level or sex, so those charts show at least these numbers.
  • Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.

The figures for Cantilan I, SDO Surigao del Sur exclude ALS centers, which DepEd does not assign to districts.

Each school year's figures for Cantilan I, SDO Surigao del Sur count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked

Report a correction to the figures for Cantilan I, SDO Surigao del Sur