Schools in Balangiga, Eastern Samar
Summary
In SY 2024-25 the 11 schools of Balangiga, Eastern Samar, held 3,634 learners, with another 107 in ALS, and 171 public teachers. Of the 23 cities and municipalities in Eastern Samar, Balangiga has the 13th most learners and the fifth most learners per teacher in public schools.
Enrollment in schools fell 3.9% from SY 2023-24, not counting ALS: public schools fell 3.9% and private schools fell 9.5%. Public schools hold 99% of the learners in schools, against 85% nationally, and private schools hold 1%, against 14% nationally.
Of the 10 reporting public schools, all have electricity and water, but six, or 60%, have no internet, against 25% in Region VIII. Next, the page lists the 11 schools with their learners, teachers and classrooms, and breaks the figures down by sector and level in charts and tables.
- Schools
- 11
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 10 public, 1 private
- Community learning centers
- 6
- Up 2 from SY 2023-24
- Learners
- 3,741
- Down 166 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 171
- Up 3 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 167
- Down 7 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Balangiga has the 13th most learners of the 23 cities and municipalities in Eastern Samar, and the 5th most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 3.9% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 3.9% and private schools fell 9.5%.
- Of the learners in schools, 99% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 1% in private schools (14% nationally).
- Leaving out 2 schools whose figures are under review, the largest schools are Balangiga Central Elementary School (814 learners), San Miguel Elementary School (296 learners) and Cansumangkay Elementary School (257 learners).
- The most crowded public classrooms are at Guinmaayohan Elementary School, with 29 learners per classroom.
- Of the 10 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; 6 (60%) have no internet, against 25% in Region VIII.
- The 10 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱10.1 million. Across the 10 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,190 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 3,741 learners, 3,634 in schools and 107 in community learning centers.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 3,741 |
| In schools | 3,634 |
| In community learning centers (ALS) | 107 |
| Male | 2,001 |
| Female | 1,735 |
| Not broken down by sex | 5 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Community learning centers (ALS) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 2,117 | 0 | 0 | 2,117 |
| Junior High School | 1,005 | 38 | 0 | 1,043 |
| Senior High School | 474 | 0 | 0 | 474 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 0 | 0 | 5 | 5 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 0 | 31 | 31 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 0 | 0 | 66 | 66 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 119 | 111 | 230 |
| Grade 1 | 142 | 142 | 284 |
| Grade 2 | 167 | 117 | 284 |
| Grade 3 | 201 | 145 | 346 |
| Grade 4 | 176 | 196 | 372 |
| Grade 5 | 166 | 127 | 293 |
| Grade 6 | 150 | 158 | 308 |
| Grade 7 | 165 | 152 | 317 |
| Grade 8 | 133 | 112 | 245 |
| Grade 9 | 126 | 114 | 240 |
| Grade 10 | 117 | 124 | 241 |
| Grade 11 | 128 | 117 | 245 |
| Grade 12 | 145 | 84 | 229 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 4 | 1 | 5 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 24 | 7 | 31 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 38 | 28 | 66 |
| Broken down by grade | 2,001 | 1,735 | 3,736 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 304 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 170 |
| All tracks | 474 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Junior High School | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| All | 3 | 0 | 3 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 11 schools and 6 community learning centers.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 10 |
| Private schools | 1 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 6 |
| All | 17 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 9 |
| Junior high only | 1 |
| Junior and senior high | 1 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 6 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 10 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 6 |
| Sectarian | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 171 teachers and 24 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 171 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 24 |
| All personnel | 195 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 100 |
| Junior High School | 50 |
| Senior High School | 21 |
| All teachers | 171 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 21.2 |
| Junior High School | 20.1 |
| Senior High School | 22.6 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 167 classrooms and 231 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 167
- Seats (approximate)
- 3,561
- Toilets
- 231
- Functional computers
- 128
- Faucets
- 304
- 174 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 92 | 51 | 24 |
| Learners per classroom | 23.0 | 19.7 | 19.8 |
| Seats (approximate) | 2,105 | 1,049 | 407 |
| Learners per seat | 1.0 | 1.0 | 1.2 |
| Toilets | 137 | 64 | 30 |
| Learners per toilet | 15.5 | 15.7 | 15.8 |
| Functional computers | 27 | 100 | 1 |
| Learners per computer | 78.4 | 10.1 | 474.0 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 9 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply | Grid and off-grid supply |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 8 | 1 |
| Junior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 4 | 5 |
| Junior High School | 0 | 1 |
| Senior High School | 0 | 1 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 68 |
| Male | 66 |
| Shared | 84 |
| For persons with disabilities | 13 |
| All toilets | 231 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 174 |
| Without water | 130 |
| All faucets | 304 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Entrance Gate | 10 |
| School Garden | 10 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 10 |
| Playground | 9 |
| Offices | 8 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 7 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 7 |
| Paved Pathway | 6 |
| Conference Room | 5 |
| Exit Gate | 5 |
| Supply Room | 4 |
| Clinic | 3 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 3 |
| Canteen | 2 |
| Faculty Room | 2 |
| Home Economic Room | 1 |
| Industrial Arts Room | 1 |
| Solar Panel | 1 |
| Student Co-Curricular Center | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Balangiga, Eastern Samar in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bacjao Elementary School | Public | 98 | 8 | 7 |
| Balangiga Central Elementary School | Public | 814 | 33 | 33 |
| Bangon Elementary School | Public | 27 | 3 | 3 |
| Cag-Olango Elementary School | Public | 70 | 4 | 4 |
| Cansumangkay Elementary School | Public | 257 | 10 | 10 |
| Guinmaayohan Elementary School | Public | 205 | 10 | 7 |
| MSH Sisters Academy of Balangiga, Inc. | Private | 38 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Maybunga Elementary School | Public | 35 | 3 | 3 |
| San Miguel Elementary School | Public | 296 | 14 | 11 |
| Southern Samar National Comprehensive High School | Public | 1,479 | 71 | 75 |
| Sta. Rosa Elementary School | Public | 315 | 15 | 14 |
About this data
- 5 learners in SY 2024-25 are counted in the totals but not broken down by grade, level or sex, so those charts show at least these numbers.
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
Each school year's figures for Balangiga, Eastern Samar count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked
Report a correction to the figures for Balangiga, Eastern Samar