Schools in Lawaan, Eastern Samar
Summary
Among the 23 cities and municipalities in Eastern Samar, Lawaan has the 18th most learners, with 3,214 in its 10 schools in SY 2024-25. It also has the eighth most learners per teacher in public schools. Enrollment in its schools fell 3.3% from SY 2023-24, with ALS not counted, as public schools fell 3.9% and private schools grew 2.3%.
Of the learners in schools, 90% are in public schools, against 85% nationally, and 10% in private schools, against 14% nationally. Of its nine reporting public schools, all have electricity and all have water, but six, or 67%, have no internet, against 25% in Region VIII.
From here the page lists the 10 schools with their learners, teachers and classrooms, and shows the figures by sector and level in charts and tables.
- Schools
- 10
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 9 public, 1 private
- Community learning centers
- 4
- Up 2 from SY 2023-24
- Learners
- 3,325
- Down 78 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 144
- Down 2 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 159
- Up 6 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Lawaan has the 18th most learners of the 23 cities and municipalities in Eastern Samar, and the 8th most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 3.3% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 3.9% and private schools grew 2.3%.
- Of the learners in schools, 90% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 10% in private schools (14% nationally).
- The largest schools are Lawaan National School of Craftsmanship and Home Industries (1,018 learners), Lawaan Central Elementary School (909 learners) and Divine Child Academy of Lawaan Eastern Samar, Inc. (306 learners).
- The most crowded public classrooms are at Lawaan Central Elementary School, with 30 learners per classroom.
- Of the 9 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; 6 (67%) have no internet, against 25% in Region VIII.
- The 9 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱9.1 million. Across the 9 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,673 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 3,325 learners, 3,214 in schools and 111 in community learning centers.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 3,325 |
| In schools | 3,214 |
| In community learning centers (ALS) | 111 |
| Male | 1,742 |
| Female | 1,578 |
| Not broken down by sex | 5 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Community learning centers (ALS) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 1,782 | 0 | 0 | 1,782 |
| Junior High School | 738 | 230 | 0 | 968 |
| Senior High School | 388 | 71 | 0 | 459 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 0 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 0 | 21 | 21 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 0 | 0 | 87 | 87 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 112 | 102 | 214 |
| Grade 1 | 126 | 106 | 232 |
| Grade 2 | 118 | 117 | 235 |
| Grade 3 | 140 | 116 | 256 |
| Grade 4 | 154 | 135 | 289 |
| Grade 5 | 153 | 124 | 277 |
| Grade 6 | 137 | 142 | 279 |
| Grade 7 | 153 | 129 | 282 |
| Grade 8 | 103 | 118 | 221 |
| Grade 9 | 125 | 114 | 239 |
| Grade 10 | 115 | 111 | 226 |
| Grade 11 | 136 | 129 | 265 |
| Grade 12 | 94 | 100 | 194 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 3 | 0 | 3 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 18 | 3 | 21 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 55 | 32 | 87 |
| Broken down by grade | 1,742 | 1,578 | 3,320 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 254 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 205 |
| All tracks | 459 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 10 schools and 4 community learning centers.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 9 |
| Private schools | 1 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 4 |
| All | 14 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 7 |
| Kindergarten to Grade 12 | 1 |
| Junior high only | 1 |
| Junior and senior high | 1 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 4 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 9 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 4 |
| Sectarian | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 144 teachers and 31 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 144 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 31 |
| All personnel | 175 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 76 |
| Junior High School | 48 |
| Senior High School | 20 |
| All teachers | 144 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 23.5 |
| Junior High School | 15.4 |
| Senior High School | 19.4 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 159 classrooms and 167 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 159
- Seats (approximate)
- 4,011
- Toilets
- 167
- Functional computers
- 208
- Faucets
- 396
- 350 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 82 | 49 | 28 |
| Learners per classroom | 21.7 | 15.1 | 13.9 |
| Seats (approximate) | 2,171 | 1,345 | 495 |
| Learners per seat | 0.8 | 0.6 | 0.8 |
| Toilets | 133 | 24 | 10 |
| Learners per toilet | 13.4 | 30.8 | 38.8 |
| Functional computers | 75 | 132 | 1 |
| Learners per computer | 23.8 | 5.6 | 388.0 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 7 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 7 |
| Junior High School | 2 |
| Senior High School | 1 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 2 | 5 |
| Junior High School | 1 | 1 |
| Senior High School | 0 | 1 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 27 |
| Male | 26 |
| Shared | 104 |
| For persons with disabilities | 10 |
| All toilets | 167 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 350 |
| Without water | 46 |
| All faucets | 396 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Entrance Gate | 9 |
| School Garden | 8 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 8 |
| Exit Gate | 7 |
| Playground | 7 |
| Covered Court | 6 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 6 |
| Offices | 5 |
| Paved Pathway | 5 |
| Clinic | 4 |
| Computer Room | 4 |
| Faculty Room | 3 |
| Solar Panel | 3 |
| Conference Room | 2 |
| Home Economic Room | 2 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 2 |
| Canteen | 1 |
| Industrial Arts Room | 1 |
| Roofing | 1 |
| Science Laboratory | 1 |
| Student Co-Curricular Center | 1 |
| Youth Development Center | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Lawaan, Eastern Samar in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-Og Elementary School | Public | 113 | 7 | 6 |
| Bolusao Elementary School | Public | 205 | 8 | 13 |
| Bolusao National High School | Public | 108 | 10 | 5 |
| Divine Child Academy of Lawaan Eastern Samar, Inc. | Private | 306 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Guinob-An Elementary School | Public | 145 | 7 | 8 |
| Lawaan Central Elementary School | Public | 909 | 33 | 30 |
| Lawaan National School of Craftsmanship and Home Industries | Public | 1,018 | 58 | 72 |
| Maslog Elementary School | Public | 223 | 10 | 11 |
| San Isidro Primary School | Public | 29 | 3 | 4 |
| Taguite Elementary School | Public | 158 | 8 | 10 |
About this data
- 5 learners in SY 2024-25 are counted in the totals but not broken down by grade, level or sex, so those charts show at least these numbers.
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
Each school year's figures for Lawaan, Eastern Samar count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked
Report a correction to the figures for Lawaan, Eastern Samar