Schools in Santa Catalina, Ilocos Sur
Summary
Santa Catalina, in Ilocos Sur, has nine schools with 1,825 learners in SY 2024-25, and another 58 in ALS. Among the 34 cities and municipalities in Ilocos Sur, it has the 23rd most learners, and the 14th most learners per teacher in public schools. Enrollment in schools fell 1.0% from SY 2023-24, not counting ALS, while public schools grew 0.3% and private schools fell 16.9%.
Of the learners in schools, 94% are in public schools, compared with 85% nationally, and 6% are in private schools, compared with 14% nationally. All eight reporting public schools have electricity, water and internet.
Each of the schools is listed on the page with its learners, teachers and classrooms, and the figures are broken down by sector and level.
- Schools
- 9
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 8 public, 1 private
- Community learning centers
- 8
- Up 1 from SY 2023-24
- Learners
- 1,883
- Down 8 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 84
- Up 1 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 91
- Up 4 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Santa Catalina has the 23rd most learners of the 34 cities and municipalities in Ilocos Sur, and the 14th most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 1.0% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools grew 0.3% and private schools fell 16.9%.
- Of the learners in schools, 94% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 6% in private schools (14% nationally).
- Leaving out 1 school whose figures are under review, the largest schools are Cabittaogan National High School (328 learners), Cabittaogan Elementary School (260 learners) and Sta. Catalina Central School (198 learners).
- The most crowded public classrooms are at Cabuloan Elementary School, with 24 learners per classroom.
- Of the 8 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; all have internet.
- The 8 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱5.6 million. Across the 8 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,623 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 1,883 learners, 1,825 in schools and 58 in community learning centers.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 1,883 |
| In schools | 1,825 |
| In community learning centers (ALS) | 58 |
| Male | 998 |
| Female | 885 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Community learning centers (ALS) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 1,202 | 0 | 0 | 1,202 |
| Junior High School | 398 | 55 | 0 | 453 |
| Senior High School | 112 | 58 | 0 | 170 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 0 | 10 | 10 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 0 | 0 | 48 | 48 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 66 | 62 | 128 |
| Grade 1 | 72 | 82 | 154 |
| Grade 2 | 83 | 79 | 162 |
| Grade 3 | 76 | 90 | 166 |
| Grade 4 | 101 | 89 | 190 |
| Grade 5 | 96 | 89 | 185 |
| Grade 6 | 115 | 102 | 217 |
| Grade 7 | 64 | 53 | 117 |
| Grade 8 | 71 | 40 | 111 |
| Grade 9 | 62 | 46 | 108 |
| Grade 10 | 70 | 47 | 117 |
| Grade 11 | 52 | 43 | 95 |
| Grade 12 | 37 | 38 | 75 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 6 | 4 | 10 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 27 | 21 | 48 |
| All grades | 998 | 885 | 1,883 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 170 |
| All tracks | 170 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 1 | 3 |
| Senior High School | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| All | 3 | 2 | 5 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 9 schools and 8 community learning centers.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 8 |
| Private schools | 1 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 8 |
| All | 17 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 6 |
| Kindergarten to Grade 12 | 1 |
| Junior and senior high | 2 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 8 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 8 |
| DepEd managed | 8 |
| Sectarian | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 84 teachers and 16 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 84 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 16 |
| All personnel | 100 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 67 |
| Junior High School | 14 |
| Senior High School | 3 |
| All teachers | 84 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 17.9 |
| Junior High School | 28.4 |
| Senior High School | 37.3 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 91 classrooms and 194 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 91
- Seats (approximate)
- 2,180
- Toilets
- 194
- Functional computers
- 308
- Faucets
- 421
- 419 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 72 | 14 | 5 |
| Learners per classroom | 16.7 | 28.4 | 22.4 |
| Seats (approximate) | 1,740 | 346 | 94 |
| Learners per seat | 0.7 | 1.2 | 1.2 |
| Toilets | 167 | 20 | 7 |
| Learners per toilet | 7.2 | 19.9 | 16.0 |
| Functional computers | 195 | 112 | 1 |
| Learners per computer | 6.2 | 3.6 | 112.0 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 7 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply | Grid and off-grid supply |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 5 | 2 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 7 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 37 |
| Male | 50 |
| Shared | 103 |
| For persons with disabilities | 4 |
| All toilets | 194 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 419 |
| Without water | 2 |
| All faucets | 421 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Entrance Gate | 8 |
| School Garden | 8 |
| Clinic | 7 |
| Exit Gate | 7 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 7 |
| Canteen | 6 |
| Home Economic Room | 6 |
| Offices | 6 |
| Playground | 6 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 5 |
| Covered Court | 4 |
| Computer Room | 3 |
| Paved Pathway | 3 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 3 |
| Industrial Arts Room | 2 |
| Solar Panel | 2 |
| Conference Room | 1 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 1 |
| Faculty Room | 1 |
| Museum | 1 |
| Science Laboratory | 1 |
| Supply Room | 1 |
| Youth Development Center | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Santa Catalina, Ilocos Sur in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bernardo P. Ragasa Elementary School | Public | 147 | 9 | 9 |
| Cabittaogan Elementary School | Public | 260 | 12 | 14 |
| Cabittaogan National High School | Public | 328 | 15 | 14 |
| Cabuloan Elementary School | Public | 118 | 7 | 5 |
| Calawaan Elementary School | Public | 105 | 7 | 9 |
| Pangada-Cabaroan Integrated School | Public | 370 | 10 | 17 |
| Paratong Elementary School | Public | 186 | 10 | 9 |
| Sta. Catalina Central School | Public | 198 | 14 | 14 |
| Sta. Catalina High School, Inc. | Private | 113 | Not reported | Not reported |
About this data
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
Each school year's figures for Santa Catalina, Ilocos Sur count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked
Report a correction to the figures for Santa Catalina, Ilocos Sur