Schools in Pugo, La Union
Summary
Enrollment in the schools of Pugo, La Union, fell 4.1% from SY 2023-24, with ALS not counted: public schools fell 3.8%, and private schools fell 7.9%. In SY 2024-25 its 17 schools held 4,645 learners, with another 237 in ALS, and its public schools had 206 teachers. Of the learners in schools, 94% are in public schools, against 85% nationally, and 6% in private schools, against 14% nationally.
Among the 20 cities and municipalities in La Union, Pugo has the 15th most learners and the ninth most learners per teacher in public schools. Of the 15 reporting public schools, all have electricity and all have water, but three, or 20%, have no internet, against 11% in Region I.
Each of the 17 schools is listed with its learners, teachers and classrooms.
- Schools
- 17
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 15 public, 2 private
- Community learning centers
- 9
- Down 2 from SY 2023-24
- Learners
- 4,882
- Down 137 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 206
- Up 1 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 169
- Up 2 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Pugo has the 15th most learners of the 20 cities and municipalities in La Union, and the 9th most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 4.1% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 3.8% and private schools fell 7.9%.
- Of the learners in schools, 94% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 6% in private schools (14% nationally).
- The largest schools are Pugo Central National High School (942 learners), Saytan Integrated School (669 learners) and Pugo Central School (617 learners).
- Enrollment grew fastest at Maoasoas National High School (+9%) and fell most at Maoasoas Elementary School (−19%), among schools with 100 or more learners in both years.
- The most crowded public classrooms are at Cuenca Elementary School, with 60 learners per classroom.
- Of the 15 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; 3 (20%) have no internet, against 11% in Region I.
- The 15 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱13.1 million. Across the 15 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,441 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 4,882 learners, 4,645 in schools and 237 in community learning centers.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 4,882 |
| In schools | 4,645 |
| In community learning centers (ALS) | 237 |
| Male | 2,539 |
| Female | 2,316 |
| Not broken down by sex | 27 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Community learning centers (ALS) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 2,370 | 107 | 0 | 2,477 |
| Junior High School | 1,433 | 94 | 0 | 1,527 |
| Senior High School | 557 | 57 | 0 | 614 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 0 | 0 | 4 | 4 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 0 | 18 | 18 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 0 | 0 | 215 | 215 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 116 | 149 | 265 |
| Grade 1 | 151 | 143 | 294 |
| Grade 2 | 162 | 180 | 342 |
| Grade 3 | 171 | 162 | 333 |
| Grade 4 | 216 | 212 | 428 |
| Grade 5 | 176 | 131 | 307 |
| Grade 6 | 256 | 232 | 488 |
| Grade 7 | 206 | 182 | 388 |
| Grade 8 | 187 | 176 | 363 |
| Grade 9 | 187 | 194 | 381 |
| Grade 10 | 197 | 198 | 395 |
| Grade 11 | 176 | 141 | 317 |
| Grade 12 | 159 | 138 | 297 |
| Special needs, non-graded (elementary) | 13 | 7 | 20 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 2 | 2 | 4 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 13 | 5 | 18 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 151 | 64 | 215 |
| Broken down by grade | 2,539 | 2,316 | 4,855 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 489 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 125 |
| All tracks | 614 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 59 | 75 | 134 |
| Elementary | 528 | 502 | 1,030 |
| Junior High School | 269 | 295 | 564 |
| Senior High School | 111 | 108 | 219 |
| All | 967 | 980 | 1,947 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 17 schools and 9 community learning centers.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 15 |
| Private schools | 2 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 9 |
| All | 26 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 11 |
| Kindergarten to Grade 12 | 2 |
| Junior and senior high | 4 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 9 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 15 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 9 |
| Non-sectarian | 2 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 206 teachers and 29 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 206 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 29 |
| All personnel | 235 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 102 |
| Junior High School | 74 |
| Senior High School | 30 |
| All teachers | 206 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 23.2 |
| Junior High School | 19.4 |
| Senior High School | 18.6 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 169 classrooms and 282 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 169
- Seats (approximate)
- 3,879
- Toilets
- 282
- Functional computers
- 751
- Faucets
- 384
- 336 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 95 | 53 | 21 |
| Learners per classroom | 25.0 | 27.0 | 26.5 |
| Seats (approximate) | 1,530 | 1,523 | 826 |
| Learners per seat | 1.6 | 0.9 | 0.7 |
| Toilets | 182 | 69 | 31 |
| Learners per toilet | 13.0 | 20.8 | 18.0 |
| Functional computers | 187 | 279 | 285 |
| Learners per computer | 12.7 | 5.1 | 2.0 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 11 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 5 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 5 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply | Grid and off-grid supply |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 9 | 2 |
| Junior High School | 5 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 5 | 0 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 8 | 3 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 2 |
| Senior High School | 5 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 63 |
| Male | 54 |
| Shared | 143 |
| For persons with disabilities | 22 |
| All toilets | 282 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 336 |
| Without water | 48 |
| All faucets | 384 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Entrance Gate | 13 |
| School Garden | 13 |
| Exit Gate | 12 |
| Offices | 12 |
| Computer Room | 11 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 11 |
| Playground | 10 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 10 |
| Covered Court | 9 |
| Canteen | 6 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 6 |
| Clinic | 5 |
| Paved Pathway | 5 |
| Science Laboratory | 4 |
| Faculty Room | 3 |
| Home Economic Room | 3 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 2 |
| Student Co-Curricular Center | 2 |
| Supply Room | 2 |
| Conference Room | 1 |
| Solar Panel | 1 |
| Speech Laboratory | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Pugo, La Union in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ambalite Elementary School | Public | 172 | 7 | 8 |
| Ambangonan Elementary School | Public | 121 | 7 | 8 |
| Cuenca Elementary School | Public | 180 | 7 | 3 |
| Cuenca National High School | Public | 156 | 10 | 10 |
| Maoasoas ES- Annex | Public | 226 | 8 | 6 |
| Maoasoas Elementary School | Public | 134 | 7 | 12 |
| Maoasoas National High School | Public | 327 | 17 | 13 |
| Palina Elementary School | Public | 127 | 7 | 5 |
| Palina Elementary School - Annex | Public | 93 | 6 | 4 |
| Pugo Catholic School | Private | 248 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Pugo Central National High School | Public | 942 | 44 | 24 |
| Pugo Central School | Public | 617 | 25 | 24 |
| San Luis Elementary School | Public | 234 | 8 | 8 |
| San Luis National High School | Public | 271 | 17 | 13 |
| Saytan Integrated School | Public | 669 | 29 | 26 |
| Tavora Elementary School | Public | 118 | 7 | 5 |
| UCCP Nursery Kindergarten - Pugo | Private | 10 | Not reported | Not reported |
About this data
- 27 learners in SY 2024-25 are counted in the totals but not broken down by grade, level or sex, so those charts show at least these numbers.
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
Each school year's figures for Pugo, La Union count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked