Schools in Buluan, Maguindanao
Summary
Buluan has the 10th most learners of the 36 cities and municipalities in Maguindanao, with 9,994 learners in its 14 schools in SY 2024-25. With 174 public teachers, it has the 15th most learners per teacher in public schools among the cities and municipalities in Maguindanao.
Enrollment in schools fell 1.0% from SY 2023-24, not counting ALS: public schools fell 3.4%, while private schools grew 14.2%. Of the learners in schools, 84% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 16% in private schools (14% nationally).
Of the 11 reporting public schools, five (45%) have no internet, against 74% in BARMM. Leaving out two schools whose figures are under review, the most crowded public classrooms are at Talitay Elementary School, with 75 learners per classroom. The page lists its 14 schools with learners, teachers and classrooms, and breaks the figures down by sector and level.
- Schools
- 14
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 11 public, 3 private
- Community learning centers
- 2
- Down 1 from SY 2023-24
- Learners
- 10,179
- Down 138 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 174
- No change from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 168
- Down 5 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Buluan has the 10th most learners of the 36 cities and municipalities in Maguindanao, and the 15th most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 1.0% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 3.4% and private schools grew 14.2%.
- Of the learners in schools, 84% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 16% in private schools (14% nationally).
- Leaving out 3 schools whose figures are under review, the largest schools are Buluan National High School (1,807 learners), Bai Bagongan Paglas Elementary School (1,040 learners) and Datu Yuseff Paglas Elementary School (768 learners).
- Leaving out 2 schools whose figures are under review, the most crowded public classrooms are at Talitay Elementary School, with 75 learners per classroom.
- Of the 11 reporting public schools, 1 (9%) has no electricity, against 9% in BARMM; 2 (18%) have no water, against 8% in BARMM; 5 (45%) have no internet, against 74% in BARMM.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 10,179 learners, 9,994 in schools and 185 in community learning centers.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 10,179 |
| In schools | 9,994 |
| In community learning centers (ALS) | 185 |
| Male | 4,987 |
| Female | 5,192 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Community learning centers (ALS) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 6,622 | 559 | 0 | 7,181 |
| Junior High School | 1,341 | 755 | 0 | 2,096 |
| Senior High School | 466 | 251 | 0 | 717 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 0 | 0 | 4 | 4 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 0 | 16 | 16 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 0 | 0 | 165 | 165 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 583 | 518 | 1,101 |
| Grade 1 | 673 | 596 | 1,269 |
| Grade 2 | 707 | 659 | 1,366 |
| Grade 3 | 484 | 450 | 934 |
| Grade 4 | 409 | 378 | 787 |
| Grade 5 | 394 | 431 | 825 |
| Grade 6 | 438 | 461 | 899 |
| Grade 7 | 359 | 424 | 783 |
| Grade 8 | 210 | 291 | 501 |
| Grade 9 | 193 | 266 | 459 |
| Grade 10 | 133 | 220 | 353 |
| Grade 11 | 201 | 220 | 421 |
| Grade 12 | 124 | 172 | 296 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 0 | 4 | 4 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 12 | 4 | 16 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 67 | 98 | 165 |
| All grades | 4,987 | 5,192 | 10,179 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 427 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 290 |
| All tracks | 717 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 26 | 27 | 53 |
| Elementary | 574 | 562 | 1,136 |
| All | 600 | 589 | 1,189 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Junior High School | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| All | 1 | 3 | 4 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 14 schools and 2 community learning centers.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 11 |
| Private schools | 3 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 2 |
| All | 16 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 11 |
| Kindergarten to Grade 12 | 1 |
| Junior and senior high | 2 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 2 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 11 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 2 |
| Non-sectarian | 2 |
| Sectarian | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 174 teachers and 5 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 174 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 5 |
| All personnel | 179 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 141 |
| Junior High School | 31 |
| Senior High School | 2 |
| All teachers | 174 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 47.0 |
| Junior High School | 43.3 |
| Senior High School | 233.0 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 168 classrooms and 152 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 168
- Seats (approximate)
- 4,535
- Toilets
- 152
- Functional computers
- 190
- Faucets
- 65
- 58 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 141 | 20 | 7 |
| Learners per classroom | 47.0 | 67.1 | 66.6 |
| Seats (approximate) | 3,390 | 850 | 295 |
| Learners per seat | 2.0 | 1.6 | 1.6 |
| Toilets | 147 | 4 | 1 |
| Learners per toilet | 45.1 | 335.3 | 466.0 |
| Functional computers | 35 | 150 | 5 |
| Learners per computer | 189.2 | 8.9 | 93.2 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 8 | 2 |
| Junior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply | Off-grid supply | Grid and off-grid supply | No electricity supply |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 6 | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| Junior High School | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 5 | 5 |
| Junior High School | 0 | 1 |
| Senior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 10 |
| Male | 10 |
| Shared | 122 |
| For persons with disabilities | 10 |
| All toilets | 152 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 58 |
| Without water | 7 |
| All faucets | 65 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Entrance Gate | 10 |
| School Garden | 10 |
| Playground | 9 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 9 |
| Offices | 8 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 8 |
| Solar Panel | 7 |
| Exit Gate | 6 |
| Covered Court | 4 |
| Gymnasium | 3 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 3 |
| Clinic | 2 |
| Flood Marker | 2 |
| Supply Room | 2 |
| Canteen | 1 |
| Computer Room | 1 |
| Conference Room | 1 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 1 |
| Faculty Room | 1 |
| Home Economic Room | 1 |
| Paved Pathway | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Buluan, Maguindanao in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bai Bagongan Paglas Elementary School | Public | 1,040 | 17 | 23 |
| Buluan National High School | Public | 1,807 | 33 | 27 |
| Buluan Technical Educational School of Life, Inc. | Private | 446 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Datu Idon S'Pi Elementary School | Public | 315 | 8 | 5 |
| Datu Luminog Mangelen PES | Public | 1,767 | 48 | 44 |
| Datu Powa K. Mangudadatu Elementary School | Public | 137 | 6 | 6 |
| Datu Yuseff Paglas Elementary School | Public | 768 | 15 | 28 |
| Eastern Kutawato Islamic Institute Inc. | Private | 343 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Eastern Kutawato Islamic Institute, Inc. | Private | 776 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Lower Siling Elementary School | Public | 105 | 4 | 2 |
| Maguindanao Childhood Development Center | Public | 655 | 11 | 9 |
| Maslabeng Elementary School | Public | 978 | 18 | 13 |
| Popol Elementary School | Public | 482 | 7 | 6 |
| Talitay Elementary School | Public | 375 | 7 | 5 |
About this data
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
Each school year's figures for Buluan, Maguindanao count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked