Schools in Ermita, Manila
Summary
In SY 2024-25, 62% of the 10,495 learners in Ermita's schools attend public schools, against 85% nationally. The rest sit in private schools (35%, against 14% nationally) and SUC and LUC schools (3%, against 1% nationally). Enrollment in its schools fell 7.9% from SY 2023-24, with ALS not counted: public schools fell 0.3%, private schools fell 6.4% and SUC and LUC schools fell 67.0%.
Among the 14 districts of Manila, it has the 11th most learners, and among the 13 that report teachers it has the 12th most learners per teacher in public schools. It has 380 public teachers, and another 151 learners in ALS.
Its schools are listed with their learners, teachers and classrooms, and the figures are broken down by sector and level.
- Schools
- 9
- Down 1 from SY 2023-24
- 2 public, 6 private, 1 SUC or LUC
- Community learning centers
- 3
- No change from SY 2023-24
- Learners
- 10,646
- Down 864 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 380
- Up 24 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 274
- Up 15 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Ermita has the 11th most learners of the 14 districts in Manila, and the 12th most learners per teacher in public schools among the 13 that report teachers.
- Enrollment in schools fell 7.9% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 0.3%, private schools fell 6.4% and SUC and LUC schools fell 67.0%.
- Of the learners in schools, 62% are in public schools (85% nationally), 35% in private schools (14% nationally) and 3% in SUC and LUC schools (1% nationally).
- Leaving out 2 schools whose figures are under review, the largest schools are Adamson University (2,774 learners), Santa Isabel College of Manila (646 learners) and Phil Normal University-Institute of Teaching and Learning (310 learners).
- Of the 2 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; all have internet.
- The 2 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱12.2 million. Across the 2 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱1,763 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 10,646 learners, 10,495 in schools and 151 in community learning centers.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 10,646 |
| In schools | 10,495 |
| In community learning centers (ALS) | 151 |
| Male | 5,110 |
| Female | 5,518 |
| Not broken down by sex | 18 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | SUCs and LUCs | Community learning centers (ALS) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 0 | 493 | 191 | 0 | 684 |
| Junior High School | 5,299 | 1,011 | 119 | 0 | 6,429 |
| Senior High School | 1,170 | 2,194 | 0 | 0 | 3,364 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 0 | 0 | 20 | 20 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 0 | 0 | 0 | 129 | 129 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 49 | 50 | 99 |
| Grade 1 | 42 | 37 | 79 |
| Grade 2 | 46 | 45 | 91 |
| Grade 3 | 43 | 51 | 94 |
| Grade 4 | 49 | 49 | 98 |
| Grade 5 | 49 | 57 | 106 |
| Grade 6 | 56 | 61 | 117 |
| Grade 7 | 863 | 889 | 1,752 |
| Grade 8 | 751 | 759 | 1,510 |
| Grade 9 | 734 | 788 | 1,522 |
| Grade 10 | 795 | 850 | 1,645 |
| Grade 11 | 851 | 993 | 1,844 |
| Grade 12 | 672 | 848 | 1,520 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 18 | 2 | 20 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 90 | 39 | 129 |
| Broken down by grade | 5,110 | 5,518 | 10,628 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 3,221 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 144 |
| All tracks | 3,365 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Junior High School | 4 | 6 | 10 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 4 | 6 |
| All | 6 | 10 | 16 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 9 schools and 3 community learning centers.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 2 |
| Private schools | 6 |
| SUCs and LUCs | 1 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 3 |
| All | 12 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 1 |
| Elementary and junior high (K to 10) | 1 |
| Kindergarten to Grade 12 | 2 |
| Junior high only | 1 |
| Junior and senior high | 2 |
| Senior high only | 2 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 3 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| Non-sectarian | 6 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 3 |
| DepEd managed | 2 |
| State universities and colleges | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 380 teachers and 54 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 380 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 54 |
| All personnel | 434 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Junior High School | 329 |
| Senior High School | 51 |
| All teachers | 380 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Junior High School | 16.1 |
| Senior High School | 22.9 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 274 classrooms and 188 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 274
- Seats (approximate)
- 4,207
- Toilets
- 188
- Functional computers
- 1,349
- Faucets
- 248
- 240 with water
| Measure | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 213 | 61 |
| Learners per classroom | 24.9 | 19.2 |
| Seats (approximate) | 3,337 | 870 |
| Learners per seat | 1.6 | 1.3 |
| Toilets | 142 | 46 |
| Learners per toilet | 37.3 | 25.4 |
| Functional computers | 1,241 | 108 |
| Learners per computer | 4.3 | 10.8 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Junior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply |
|---|---|
| Junior High School | 2 |
| Senior High School | 2 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Junior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 112 |
| Male | 42 |
| Shared | 10 |
| For persons with disabilities | 24 |
| All toilets | 188 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 240 |
| Without water | 8 |
| All faucets | 248 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Canteen | 2 |
| Clinic | 2 |
| Computer Room | 2 |
| Covered Court | 2 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 2 |
| Entrance Gate | 2 |
| Exit Gate | 2 |
| Faculty Room | 2 |
| Industrial Arts Room | 2 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 2 |
| Offices | 2 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 2 |
| School Garden | 2 |
| Conference Room | 1 |
| Gymnasium | 1 |
| Home Economic Room | 1 |
| Paved Pathway | 1 |
| Playground | 1 |
| Science Laboratory | 1 |
| Solar Panel | 1 |
| Speech Laboratory | 1 |
| Student Co-Curricular Center | 1 |
| Supply Room | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Ermita, Manila in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AMA Computer College - Sta. Mesa, Inc. | Private | 55 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Adamson University | Private | 2,774 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Emilio Aguinaldo Educational Corporation | Private | 164 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Little Mighty Stars Christian School, Inc. | Private | 36 | Not reported | Not reported |
| M.Araullo High School | Public | 4,604 | 282 | 135 |
| Manila Science High School | Public | 1,865 | 98 | 139 |
| Mariana Academy of Maritime Studies, Inc. | Private | 41 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Phil Normal University-Institute of Teaching and Learning | SUC or LUC | 310 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Santa Isabel College of Manila | Private | 646 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Universidad de Manila | SUC or LUC | 649 | Not reported | Not reported |
About this data
- 18 learners in SY 2024-25 are counted in the totals but not broken down by grade, level or sex, so those charts show at least these numbers.
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
Each school year's figures for Ermita, Manila count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked