Schools in San Fernando, Romblon
Summary
San Fernando ranks fourth of the 17 cities and municipalities in Romblon for learners per teacher in public schools, and fourth for total learners. In SY 2024-25 its 19 schools held 6,518 learners, with another 231 in ALS, and its public schools had 291 teachers. Enrollment in schools fell 3.3% from SY 2023-24, not counting ALS: public schools fell 3.6%, while private schools grew 13.1%.
Public schools hold 98% of the learners in schools, compared with 85% nationally, and private schools hold 2%, compared with 14%. Of the 16 reporting public schools, all have electricity and all have water, but nine, or 56%, have no internet, compared with 47% in Region IV-B. The page shows the figures by sector and level, with charts and tables, and lists the 19 schools here with their learners, teachers and classrooms.
- Schools
- 19
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 16 public, 3 private
- Community learning centers
- 13
- No change from SY 2023-24
- Learners
- 6,749
- Down 232 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 291
- Down 5 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 238
- Up 4 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- San Fernando has the 4th most learners of the 17 cities and municipalities in Romblon, and the 4th most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 3.3% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 3.6% and private schools grew 13.1%.
- Of the learners in schools, 98% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 2% in private schools (14% nationally).
- Leaving out 3 schools whose figures are under review, the largest schools are Don Carlos M. Mejias Memorial National High School (1,546 learners), España National High School (672 learners) and Otod Elementary School (332 learners).
- Leaving out 1 school whose enrollment figures are under review, enrollment grew fastest at Azagra Elementary School (+7%) and fell most at Azagra National High School (−15%), among schools with 100 or more learners in both years.
- Leaving out 1 school whose figures are under review, the most crowded public classrooms are at Don Carlos M. Mejias Memorial National High School, with 35 learners per classroom.
- Of the 16 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; 9 (56%) have no internet, against 47% in Region IV-B.
- The 16 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱16.2 million. Across the 16 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,079 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 6,749 learners, 6,518 in schools and 231 in community learning centers.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 6,749 |
| In schools | 6,518 |
| In community learning centers (ALS) | 231 |
| Male | 3,501 |
| Female | 3,211 |
| Not broken down by sex | 37 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Community learning centers (ALS) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 3,811 | 71 | 0 | 3,882 |
| Junior High School | 1,696 | 50 | 0 | 1,746 |
| Senior High School | 853 | 0 | 0 | 853 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 0 | 0 | 14 | 14 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 0 | 63 | 63 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 0 | 0 | 154 | 154 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 266 | 253 | 519 |
| Grade 1 | 289 | 276 | 565 |
| Grade 2 | 263 | 255 | 518 |
| Grade 3 | 310 | 301 | 611 |
| Grade 4 | 272 | 257 | 529 |
| Grade 5 | 317 | 203 | 520 |
| Grade 6 | 306 | 279 | 585 |
| Grade 7 | 255 | 228 | 483 |
| Grade 8 | 207 | 194 | 401 |
| Grade 9 | 214 | 236 | 450 |
| Grade 10 | 202 | 210 | 412 |
| Grade 11 | 216 | 222 | 438 |
| Grade 12 | 228 | 187 | 415 |
| Special needs, non-graded (elementary) | 19 | 16 | 35 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 3 | 11 | 14 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 43 | 20 | 63 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 91 | 63 | 154 |
| Broken down by grade | 3,501 | 3,211 | 6,712 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 762 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 91 |
| All tracks | 853 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 40 | 29 | 69 |
| Elementary | 299 | 247 | 546 |
| Junior High School | 91 | 84 | 175 |
| Senior High School | 8 | 27 | 35 |
| All | 438 | 387 | 825 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 19 schools and 13 community learning centers.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 16 |
| Private schools | 3 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 13 |
| All | 32 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 14 |
| Junior high only | 3 |
| Junior and senior high | 2 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 13 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 16 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 13 |
| Non-sectarian | 2 |
| Sectarian | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 291 teachers and 40 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 291 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 40 |
| All personnel | 331 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 159 |
| Junior High School | 97 |
| Senior High School | 35 |
| All teachers | 291 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 24.0 |
| Junior High School | 17.5 |
| Senior High School | 24.4 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 238 classrooms and 384 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 238
- Seats (approximate)
- 5,641
- Toilets
- 384
- Functional computers
- 277
- Faucets
- 554
- 507 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 160 | 48 | 30 |
| Learners per classroom | 23.8 | 35.3 | 28.4 |
| Seats (approximate) | 3,516 | 1,266 | 859 |
| Learners per seat | 1.1 | 1.3 | 1.0 |
| Toilets | 269 | 75 | 40 |
| Learners per toilet | 14.2 | 22.6 | 21.3 |
| Functional computers | 119 | 112 | 46 |
| Learners per computer | 32.0 | 15.1 | 18.5 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 12 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 4 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply | Off-grid supply |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 11 | 1 |
| Junior High School | 4 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 4 | 8 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 1 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 89 |
| Male | 77 |
| Shared | 214 |
| For persons with disabilities | 4 |
| All toilets | 384 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 507 |
| Without water | 47 |
| All faucets | 554 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| School Garden | 16 |
| Entrance Gate | 13 |
| Offices | 12 |
| Playground | 12 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 10 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 9 |
| Canteen | 8 |
| Home Economic Room | 7 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 7 |
| Clinic | 6 |
| Supply Room | 6 |
| Computer Room | 5 |
| Solar Panel | 5 |
| Conference Room | 4 |
| Industrial Arts Room | 4 |
| Exit Gate | 3 |
| Faculty Room | 3 |
| Science Laboratory | 3 |
| Covered Court | 2 |
| Paved Pathway | 2 |
| Roofing | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in San Fernando, Romblon in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agtiwa Elementary School | Public | 207 | 9 | 10 |
| Armin Rios-Marin National High School | Public | 114 | 6 | 0 |
| Azagra Elementary School | Public | 323 | 12 | 10 |
| Azagra National High School | Public | 254 | 19 | 2 |
| Campalingo Elementary School | Public | 221 | 12 | 12 |
| Canjalon Elementary School | Public | 303 | 14 | 14 |
| Don Carlos M. Mejias Memorial National High School | Public | 1,546 | 70 | 44 |
| España Elementary School | Public | 353 | 16 | 17 |
| España National High School | Public | 672 | 37 | 32 |
| Hillside View Academy | Private | 50 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Layag Cultural Minority School | Public | 62 | 3 | 4 |
| Mabini Elementary School | Public | 188 | 8 | 11 |
| Mabulo Elementary School | Public | 322 | 14 | 13 |
| Otod Elementary School | Public | 332 | 14 | 14 |
| San Fernando Elementary School | Public | 609 | 26 | 24 |
| Sibuyan Catholic School of San Fernando | Private | 26 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Sibuyan SDA Multigrade School | Private | 45 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Taclobo Elementary School | Public | 662 | 22 | 22 |
| Teresa Bernas MS | Public | 229 | 9 | 9 |
About this data
- 37 learners in SY 2024-25 are counted in the totals but not broken down by grade, level or sex, so those charts show at least these numbers.
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
Each school year's figures for San Fernando, Romblon count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked
Report a correction to the figures for San Fernando, Romblon