Schools in Patikul, Sulu
Summary
In Patikul, Sulu, 18,057 learners are enrolled in 38 schools in SY 2024-25, the second most of the 19 cities and municipalities in Sulu. It also has the eighth most learners per teacher in public schools, with 329 public teachers. Of its learners in schools, 95% are in public schools, against 85% nationally; 1% are in private schools, against 14%; and 4% are in SUC and LUC schools, against 1%.
Of the 35 reporting public schools, 10 (29%) have no electricity, against 9% in BARMM, and 29 (83%) have no internet, against 74% in BARMM. The page lists its 38 schools with their learners, teachers and classrooms, and breaks the figures down by sector and level.
- Schools
- 38
- 35 public, 1 private, 2 SUCs and LUCs
- Community learning centers
- 2
- Learners
- 18,148
- Teachers
- 329
- Classrooms
- 281
Boundaries changed between school years, so no change is shown.
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Patikul has the 2nd most learners of the 19 cities and municipalities in Sulu, and the 8th most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Of the learners in schools, 95% are in public schools (85% nationally), 1% in private schools (14% nationally) and 4% in SUC and LUC schools (1% nationally).
- The largest schools are Sulu National High School (4,296 learners), Patikul National High School (1,742 learners) and Don Jose Godinez Elementary School (1,570 learners).
- Leaving out 1 school whose enrollment figures are under review, enrollment grew fastest at Anuling Elementary School (+10%) and fell most at Sulu State College (−57%), among schools with 100 or more learners in both years.
- Leaving out 7 schools whose figures are under review, the most crowded public classrooms are at Don Jose Godinez Elementary School, with 68 learners per classroom.
- Of the 35 reporting public schools, 10 (29%) have no electricity, against 9% in BARMM; 9 (26%) have no water, against 8% in BARMM; 29 (83%) have no internet, against 74% in BARMM.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 18,148 learners, 18,057 in schools and 91 in community learning centers.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 18,148 |
| In schools | 18,057 |
| In community learning centers (ALS) | 91 |
| Male | 8,779 |
| Female | 9,306 |
| Not broken down by sex | 63 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | SUCs and LUCs | Community learning centers (ALS) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 10,834 | 217 | 0 | 0 | 11,051 |
| Junior High School | 5,323 | 0 | 516 | 0 | 5,839 |
| Senior High School | 895 | 0 | 209 | 0 | 1,104 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 0 | 0 | 0 | 11 | 11 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 0 | 0 | 34 | 34 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 0 | 0 | 0 | 46 | 46 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 683 | 659 | 1,342 |
| Grade 1 | 819 | 799 | 1,618 |
| Grade 2 | 952 | 902 | 1,854 |
| Grade 3 | 894 | 865 | 1,759 |
| Grade 4 | 821 | 732 | 1,553 |
| Grade 5 | 756 | 737 | 1,493 |
| Grade 6 | 716 | 716 | 1,432 |
| Grade 7 | 770 | 825 | 1,595 |
| Grade 8 | 687 | 887 | 1,574 |
| Grade 9 | 649 | 766 | 1,415 |
| Grade 10 | 537 | 718 | 1,255 |
| Grade 11 | 200 | 296 | 496 |
| Grade 12 | 249 | 359 | 608 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 4 | 7 | 11 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 19 | 15 | 34 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 23 | 23 | 46 |
| Broken down by grade | 8,779 | 9,306 | 18,085 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 1,088 |
| Arts and Design | 79 |
| All tracks | 1,167 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 127 | 131 | 258 |
| Elementary | 1,628 | 1,686 | 3,314 |
| Junior High School | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| All | 1,756 | 1,819 | 3,575 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 1 | 9 | 10 |
| Elementary | 65 | 91 | 156 |
| Junior High School | 6 | 4 | 10 |
| Senior High School | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| All | 72 | 106 | 178 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 38 schools and 2 community learning centers.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 35 |
| Private schools | 1 |
| SUCs and LUCs | 2 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 2 |
| All | 40 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 33 |
| Junior high only | 2 |
| Junior and senior high | 2 |
| Senior high only | 1 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 2 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 35 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 2 |
| State universities and colleges | 2 |
| Non-sectarian | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 329 teachers and 8 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 329 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 8 |
| All personnel | 337 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 307 |
| Junior High School | 21 |
| Senior High School | 1 |
| All teachers | 329 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 35.3 |
| Junior High School | 253.5 |
| Senior High School | 895.0 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 281 classrooms and 120 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 281
- Seats (approximate)
- 6,614
- Toilets
- 120
- Functional computers
- 132
- Faucets
- 172
- 112 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 212 | 58 | 11 |
| Learners per classroom | 51.1 | 91.8 | 81.4 |
| Seats (approximate) | 5,638 | 839 | 137 |
| Learners per seat | 1.9 | 6.3 | 6.5 |
| Toilets | 85 | 30 | 5 |
| Learners per toilet | 127.5 | 177.4 | 179.0 |
| Functional computers | 132 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Learners per computer | 82.1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 24 | 8 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 1 |
| Senior High School | 0 | 2 |
| Level | Grid supply | Off-grid supply | Grid and off-grid supply | No electricity supply |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 15 | 4 | 3 | 10 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 5 | 27 |
| Junior High School | 0 | 3 |
| Senior High School | 1 | 1 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 47 |
| Male | 40 |
| Shared | 27 |
| For persons with disabilities | 6 |
| All toilets | 120 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 112 |
| Without water | 60 |
| All faucets | 172 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Entrance Gate | 22 |
| School Garden | 22 |
| Playground | 21 |
| Exit Gate | 18 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 16 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 12 |
| Offices | 9 |
| Covered Court | 8 |
| Solar Panel | 7 |
| Computer Room | 6 |
| Clinic | 4 |
| Faculty Room | 4 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 4 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 3 |
| Flood Marker | 3 |
| Canteen | 2 |
| Science Laboratory | 2 |
| Conference Room | 1 |
| Home Economic Room | 1 |
| Paved Pathway | 1 |
| Roofing | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Patikul, Sulu in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
About this data
- 63 learners in SY 2024-25 are counted in the totals but not broken down by grade, level or sex, so those charts show at least these numbers.
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
Each school year's figures for Patikul, Sulu count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked