Schools in Santa Monica (Sapao), Surigao del Norte
Summary
In SY 2024-25, 99% of the 2,320 learners in schools in Santa Monica (Sapao) attend public schools, against 85% nationally, and 1% attend private schools, against 14% nationally. Enrollment in schools rose 0.5% from SY 2023-24, with ALS not counted, as public schools grew 0.4% and private schools grew 60.0%.
Of the 21 cities and municipalities in Surigao del Norte, Santa Monica (Sapao) has the 18th most learners and the 15th most learners per teacher in public schools. All 13 reporting public schools have electricity, but two (15%) have no water, against 2% in CARAGA, and two (15%) have no internet, against 21% in CARAGA.
The most crowded public classrooms are at Rizal Elementary School, with 29 learners per classroom. Further on the page, the figures are shown by sector and level, and all 14 schools are listed with their learners, teachers and classrooms.
- Schools
- 14
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 13 public, 1 private
- Community learning centers
- 10
- No change from SY 2023-24
- Learners
- 2,409
- Down 11 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 115
- Up 2 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 116
- Up 16 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Santa Monica (Sapao) has the 18th most learners of the 21 cities and municipalities in Surigao del Norte, and the 15th most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools rose 0.5% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools grew 0.4% and private schools grew 60.0%.
- Of the learners in schools, 99% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 1% in private schools (14% nationally).
- Leaving out 2 schools whose figures are under review, the largest schools are Sapao Central Elementary School (303 learners), Rizal Elementary School (204 learners) and Alegria National High School (187 learners).
- The most crowded public classrooms are at Rizal Elementary School, with 29 learners per classroom.
- Of the 13 reporting public schools, all have electricity; 2 (15%) have no water, against 2% in CARAGA; 2 (15%) have no internet, against 21% in CARAGA.
- The 13 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱9.2 million. Across the 13 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,913 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 2,409 learners, 2,320 in schools and 89 in community learning centers.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 2,409 |
| In schools | 2,320 |
| In community learning centers (ALS) | 89 |
| Male | 1,250 |
| Female | 1,159 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Community learning centers (ALS) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 1,261 | 8 | 0 | 1,269 |
| Junior High School | 737 | 0 | 0 | 737 |
| Senior High School | 314 | 0 | 0 | 314 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 0 | 0 | 20 | 20 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 0 | 19 | 19 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 0 | 0 | 50 | 50 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 92 | 84 | 176 |
| Grade 1 | 81 | 76 | 157 |
| Grade 2 | 101 | 85 | 186 |
| Grade 3 | 78 | 109 | 187 |
| Grade 4 | 88 | 88 | 176 |
| Grade 5 | 102 | 86 | 188 |
| Grade 6 | 98 | 101 | 199 |
| Grade 7 | 112 | 95 | 207 |
| Grade 8 | 87 | 90 | 177 |
| Grade 9 | 88 | 85 | 173 |
| Grade 10 | 91 | 89 | 180 |
| Grade 11 | 92 | 81 | 173 |
| Grade 12 | 82 | 59 | 141 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 11 | 9 | 20 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 15 | 4 | 19 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 32 | 18 | 50 |
| All grades | 1,250 | 1,159 | 2,409 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 147 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 167 |
| All tracks | 314 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 1 | 3 | 4 |
| Junior High School | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| All | 2 | 4 | 6 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 14 schools and 10 community learning centers.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 13 |
| Private schools | 1 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 10 |
| All | 24 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 11 |
| Junior and senior high | 3 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 10 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 13 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 10 |
| Sectarian | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 115 teachers and 21 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 115 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 21 |
| All personnel | 136 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 65 |
| Junior High School | 36 |
| Senior High School | 14 |
| All teachers | 115 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 19.4 |
| Junior High School | 20.5 |
| Senior High School | 22.4 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 116 classrooms and 140 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 116
- Seats (approximate)
- 1,359
- Toilets
- 140
- Functional computers
- 638
- Faucets
- 288
- 256 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 68 | 33 | 15 |
| Learners per classroom | 18.5 | 22.3 | 20.9 |
| Seats (approximate) | 729 | 437 | 193 |
| Learners per seat | 1.7 | 1.7 | 1.6 |
| Toilets | 88 | 36 | 16 |
| Learners per toilet | 14.3 | 20.5 | 19.6 |
| Functional computers | 150 | 268 | 220 |
| Learners per computer | 8.4 | 2.8 | 1.4 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 8 | 2 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply | Grid and off-grid supply |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 8 | 2 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 8 | 2 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 31 |
| Male | 26 |
| Shared | 76 |
| For persons with disabilities | 7 |
| All toilets | 140 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 256 |
| Without water | 32 |
| All faucets | 288 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Entrance Gate | 13 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 12 |
| School Garden | 11 |
| Playground | 10 |
| Paved Pathway | 6 |
| Exit Gate | 4 |
| Offices | 4 |
| Computer Room | 3 |
| Covered Court | 3 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 3 |
| Home Economic Room | 3 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 3 |
| Solar Panel | 3 |
| Supply Room | 3 |
| Canteen | 2 |
| Conference Room | 2 |
| Faculty Room | 2 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 2 |
| Science Laboratory | 2 |
| Student Co-Curricular Center | 2 |
| Clinic | 1 |
| Speech Laboratory | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Santa Monica (Sapao), Surigao del Norte in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Abad Santos Elementary School | Public | 114 | 6 | 6 |
| Alegria Elementary School | Public | 131 | 7 | 7 |
| Alegria National High School | Public | 187 | 4 | 10 |
| Bailan Elementary School | Public | 57 | 4 | 4 |
| Garcia Elementary School | Public | 45 | 3 | 3 |
| Libertad Elementary School | Public | 148 | 7 | 8 |
| Libertad National High School | Public | 228 | 14 | 12 |
| Mabini Elementary School | Public | 73 | 5 | 5 |
| Magsaysay Elementary School | Public | 91 | 4 | 4 |
| Rizal Elementary School | Public | 204 | 8 | 7 |
| Sapao Central Elementary School | Public | 303 | 14 | 17 |
| Sapao National High School | Public | 636 | 32 | 26 |
| Sta. Monica Children's Garden Learning Center, Inc. | Private | 8 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tangbo Elementary School | Public | 95 | 7 | 7 |
About this data
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
Each school year's figures for Santa Monica (Sapao), Surigao del Norte count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked
Report a correction to the figures for Santa Monica (Sapao), Surigao del Norte