Schools in Cortes, Surigao del Sur
Summary
Public schools hold 99% of the learners in schools in Cortes, Surigao del Sur, against 85% nationally. Enrollment in those schools fell 4.5% from SY 2023-24, with ALS not counted: public schools fell 4.1% and private schools fell 31.4%. Its 19 schools held 4,645 learners in SY 2024-25, with another 315 in ALS, and its public schools had 239 teachers.
Cortes has the 16th most learners of the 19 cities and municipalities in Surigao del Sur, and the 17th most learners per teacher in public schools. All 18 reporting public schools have electricity, water and internet. Leaving out two schools whose figures are under review, the most crowded public classrooms are at Eusebio Josol Sr. Elementary School, with 37 learners per classroom.
Next on the page, the list of the 19 schools shows learners, teachers and classrooms for each, and the figures can be broken down by sector and level in charts and tables.
- Schools
- 19
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 18 public, 1 private
- Community learning centers
- 14
- Down 3 from SY 2023-24
- Learners
- 4,960
- Down 111 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 239
- Down 1 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 162
- Down 10 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Cortes has the 16th most learners of the 19 cities and municipalities in Surigao del Sur, and the 17th most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 4.5% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 4.1% and private schools fell 31.4%.
- Of the learners in schools, 99% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 1% in private schools (14% nationally).
- Leaving out 1 school whose figures are under review, the largest schools are Tigao National High School (609 learners), Felisberto Verano National High School (603 learners) and Burgos National High School (443 learners).
- Leaving out 2 schools whose figures are under review, the most crowded public classrooms are at Eusebio Josol Sr. Elementary School, with 37 learners per classroom.
- Of the 18 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; all have internet.
- The 18 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱14.6 million. Across the 18 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,396 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 4,960 learners, 4,645 in schools and 315 in community learning centers.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 4,960 |
| In schools | 4,645 |
| In community learning centers (ALS) | 315 |
| Male | 2,548 |
| Female | 2,381 |
| Not broken down by sex | 31 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Community learning centers (ALS) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 2,680 | 0 | 0 | 2,680 |
| Junior High School | 1,389 | 37 | 0 | 1,426 |
| Senior High School | 486 | 22 | 0 | 508 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 0 | 0 | 48 | 48 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 0 | 82 | 82 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 0 | 0 | 185 | 185 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 144 | 137 | 281 |
| Grade 1 | 174 | 208 | 382 |
| Grade 2 | 168 | 180 | 348 |
| Grade 3 | 191 | 179 | 370 |
| Grade 4 | 239 | 208 | 447 |
| Grade 5 | 190 | 188 | 378 |
| Grade 6 | 233 | 214 | 447 |
| Grade 7 | 226 | 201 | 427 |
| Grade 8 | 153 | 141 | 294 |
| Grade 9 | 168 | 139 | 307 |
| Grade 10 | 200 | 198 | 398 |
| Grade 11 | 120 | 126 | 246 |
| Grade 12 | 138 | 124 | 262 |
| Special needs, non-graded (elementary) | 19 | 8 | 27 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 28 | 20 | 48 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 54 | 28 | 82 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 103 | 82 | 185 |
| Broken down by grade | 2,548 | 2,381 | 4,929 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 403 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 136 |
| All tracks | 539 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Elementary | 13 | 15 | 28 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 2 | 5 |
| Senior High School | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| All | 17 | 20 | 37 |
| Program | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Distance Education | 3 | 2 | 5 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 19 schools and 14 community learning centers.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 18 |
| Private schools | 1 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 14 |
| All | 33 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 14 |
| Kindergarten to Grade 12 | 1 |
| Junior and senior high | 4 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 14 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 18 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 14 |
| Non-sectarian | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 239 teachers and 32 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 239 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 32 |
| All personnel | 271 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 127 |
| Junior High School | 81 |
| Senior High School | 31 |
| All teachers | 239 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 21.1 |
| Junior High School | 17.2 |
| Senior High School | 15.7 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 162 classrooms and 186 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 162
- Seats (approximate)
- 3,438
- Toilets
- 186
- Functional computers
- 783
- Faucets
- 302
- 237 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 102 | 43 | 17 |
| Learners per classroom | 26.3 | 32.3 | 28.6 |
| Seats (approximate) | 2,225 | 895 | 318 |
| Learners per seat | 1.2 | 1.6 | 1.5 |
| Toilets | 113 | 54 | 19 |
| Learners per toilet | 23.7 | 25.7 | 25.6 |
| Functional computers | 78 | 544 | 161 |
| Learners per computer | 34.4 | 2.6 | 3.0 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 15 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 4 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 4 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 15 |
| Junior High School | 4 |
| Senior High School | 4 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 15 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 4 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 4 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 23 |
| Male | 23 |
| Shared | 126 |
| For persons with disabilities | 14 |
| All toilets | 186 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 237 |
| Without water | 65 |
| All faucets | 302 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| School Garden | 18 |
| Entrance Gate | 17 |
| Playground | 17 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 16 |
| Offices | 14 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 10 |
| Exit Gate | 8 |
| Home Economic Room | 6 |
| Computer Room | 5 |
| Conference Room | 4 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 4 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 4 |
| Clinic | 3 |
| Faculty Room | 3 |
| Paved Pathway | 3 |
| Science Laboratory | 3 |
| Canteen | 2 |
| Flood Marker | 1 |
| Student Co-Curricular Center | 1 |
| Supply Room | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Cortes, Surigao del Sur in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Balibadon Elementary School | Public | 160 | 9 | 6 |
| Banuison Elementary School | Public | 94 | 4 | 5 |
| Burgos Elementary School | Public | 428 | 18 | 15 |
| Burgos National High School | Public | 443 | 24 | 14 |
| Capandan Elementary School | Public | 71 | 3 | 4 |
| Cortes Academy, Inc. | Private | 59 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Cortes Central Elementary School | Public | 360 | 19 | 17 |
| Eusebio Josol Sr. Elementary School | Public | 74 | 4 | 2 |
| Felisberto Verano National High School | Public | 603 | 49 | 21 |
| Lubcon Elementary School | Public | 228 | 10 | 10 |
| Mabahin Elementary School | Public | 240 | 9 | 3 |
| Madrelino Elementary School | Public | 109 | 6 | 2 |
| Manlico Elementary School | Public | 84 | 5 | 5 |
| Matho Integrated School | Public | 515 | 13 | 17 |
| Tag-Anungan Elementary School | Public | 151 | 8 | 5 |
| Tigao Elementary School | Public | 272 | 12 | 13 |
| Tigao National High School | Public | 609 | 35 | 17 |
| Tuboran Elementary School | Public | 32 | 4 | 2 |
| Uba Elementary School | Public | 113 | 7 | 4 |
About this data
- 31 learners in SY 2024-25 are counted in the totals but not broken down by grade, level or sex, so those charts show at least these numbers.
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
Each school year's figures for Cortes, Surigao del Sur count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked
Report a correction to the figures for Cortes, Surigao del Sur