Schools in Madrid, Surigao del Sur
Summary
Madrid, Surigao del Sur, held 5,156 learners in its 16 schools in SY 2024-25, with another 324 in ALS. Enrollment in those schools fell 2.9% from SY 2023-24, with ALS not counted: public schools fell 4.6%, while private schools grew 6.1%. Public schools hold 83% of the learners in schools, against 85% nationally.
Madrid has the 15th most learners of the 19 cities and municipalities in Surigao del Sur, and the 18th most learners per teacher in public schools. Leaving out one school whose figures are under review, the most crowded public classrooms are at Madrid National High School, with 39 learners per classroom.
The page lists the 16 schools with their learners, teachers and classrooms, and breaks the figures down by sector and level.
- Schools
- 16
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 15 public, 1 private
- Community learning centers
- 14
- No change from SY 2023-24
- Learners
- 5,480
- Down 31 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 228
- Down 8 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 156
- Down 8 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Madrid has the 15th most learners of the 19 cities and municipalities in Surigao del Sur, and the 18th most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 2.9% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 4.6% and private schools grew 6.1%.
- Of the learners in schools, 83% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 17% in private schools (14% nationally).
- The largest schools are Madrid National High School (1,773 learners), St. Michael's School of Madrid, Inc. (893 learners) and Madrid Central Elementary School (798 learners).
- Enrollment grew fastest at St. Michael's School of Madrid, Inc. (+6%) and fell most at San Vicente Elementary School (−14%), among schools with 100 or more learners in both years.
- Leaving out 1 school whose figures are under review, the most crowded public classrooms are at Madrid National High School, with 39 learners per classroom.
- Of the 15 reporting public schools, all have electricity; 2 (13%) have no water, against 2% in CARAGA; 2 (13%) have no internet, against 21% in CARAGA.
- The 15 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱13.4 million. Across the 15 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,338 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 5,480 learners, 5,156 in schools and 324 in community learning centers.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 5,480 |
| In schools | 5,156 |
| In community learning centers (ALS) | 324 |
| Male | 2,868 |
| Female | 2,612 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Community learning centers (ALS) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 2,351 | 168 | 0 | 2,519 |
| Junior High School | 1,222 | 486 | 0 | 1,708 |
| Senior High School | 690 | 239 | 0 | 929 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 0 | 0 | 28 | 28 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 0 | 79 | 79 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 0 | 0 | 217 | 217 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 146 | 149 | 295 |
| Grade 1 | 195 | 173 | 368 |
| Grade 2 | 173 | 143 | 316 |
| Grade 3 | 201 | 189 | 390 |
| Grade 4 | 191 | 200 | 391 |
| Grade 5 | 178 | 148 | 326 |
| Grade 6 | 223 | 198 | 421 |
| Grade 7 | 261 | 235 | 496 |
| Grade 8 | 181 | 199 | 380 |
| Grade 9 | 216 | 211 | 427 |
| Grade 10 | 207 | 198 | 405 |
| Grade 11 | 213 | 253 | 466 |
| Grade 12 | 244 | 219 | 463 |
| Special needs, non-graded (elementary) | 9 | 3 | 12 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 18 | 10 | 28 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 58 | 21 | 79 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 154 | 63 | 217 |
| All grades | 2,868 | 2,612 | 5,480 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 355 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 574 |
| All tracks | 929 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 3 | 2 | 5 |
| Elementary | 22 | 28 | 50 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 6 | 9 |
| All | 28 | 36 | 64 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 10 | 8 | 18 |
| Elementary | 67 | 63 | 130 |
| Junior High School | 26 | 40 | 66 |
| Senior High School | 20 | 39 | 59 |
| All | 123 | 150 | 273 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 16 schools and 14 community learning centers.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 15 |
| Private schools | 1 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 14 |
| All | 30 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 13 |
| Kindergarten to Grade 12 | 1 |
| Junior and senior high | 2 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 14 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 15 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 14 |
| Sectarian | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 228 teachers and 49 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 228 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 49 |
| All personnel | 277 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 108 |
| Junior High School | 92 |
| Senior High School | 28 |
| All teachers | 228 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 21.8 |
| Junior High School | 13.3 |
| Senior High School | 24.6 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 156 classrooms and 195 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 156
- Seats (approximate)
- 4,093
- Toilets
- 195
- Functional computers
- 318
- Faucets
- 478
- 473 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 101 | 34 | 21 |
| Learners per classroom | 23.3 | 35.9 | 32.9 |
| Seats (approximate) | 1,934 | 1,350 | 809 |
| Learners per seat | 1.2 | 0.9 | 0.9 |
| Toilets | 142 | 34 | 19 |
| Learners per toilet | 16.6 | 35.9 | 36.3 |
| Functional computers | 147 | 169 | 2 |
| Learners per computer | 16.0 | 7.2 | 345.0 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 11 | 2 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply | Grid and off-grid supply |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 12 | 1 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 11 | 2 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 25 |
| Male | 23 |
| Shared | 145 |
| For persons with disabilities | 2 |
| All toilets | 195 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 473 |
| Without water | 5 |
| All faucets | 478 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| School Garden | 15 |
| Entrance Gate | 14 |
| Offices | 13 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 13 |
| Playground | 13 |
| Exit Gate | 9 |
| Computer Room | 7 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 7 |
| Home Economic Room | 5 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 5 |
| Conference Room | 3 |
| Faculty Room | 3 |
| Paved Pathway | 3 |
| Supply Room | 3 |
| Clinic | 2 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 2 |
| Canteen | 1 |
| Covered Court | 1 |
| Gymnasium | 1 |
| Industrial Arts Room | 1 |
| Roofing | 1 |
| Science Laboratory | 1 |
| Solar Panel | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Madrid, Surigao del Sur in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bagsac Elementary School | Public | 83 | 4 | 4 |
| Bayogo Elementary School | Public | 152 | 7 | 8 |
| Carac-An Elementary School | Public | 190 | 7 | 8 |
| Estuya-Uriat Elementary School | Public | 106 | 8 | 6 |
| Madrid Central Elementary School | Public | 798 | 28 | 22 |
| Madrid National High School | Public | 1,773 | 108 | 46 |
| Magsaysay Elementary School | Public | 151 | 8 | 9 |
| Manga Elementary School | Public | 129 | 8 | 3 |
| Patongpatong Elementary School | Public | 182 | 8 | 5 |
| San Antonio Elementary School | Public | 125 | 8 | 8 |
| San Roque Elementary School | Public | 76 | 4 | 8 |
| San Vicente Elementary School | Public | 119 | 7 | 8 |
| Songkit Elementary School | Public | 63 | 4 | 5 |
| St. Michael's School of Madrid, Inc. | Private | 893 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Union Elementary School | Public | 177 | 7 | 7 |
| Union National High School | Public | 139 | 12 | 9 |
About this data
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
Each school year's figures for Madrid, Surigao del Sur count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked
Report a correction to the figures for Madrid, Surigao del Sur