Schools in San Agustin, Surigao del Sur
Summary
San Agustin has the 12th most learners of the 19 cities and municipalities in Surigao del Sur, and the 10th most learners per teacher in public schools. Its 17 schools held 6,113 learners in SY 2024-25, with another 344 in ALS, and its public schools had 230 public teachers.
Enrollment in schools fell 1.8% from SY 2023-24, with ALS not counted: public schools fell 1.7% while private schools fell 2.1%. Public schools hold 84% of the learners in schools, against 85% nationally, and private schools hold 16%, against 14% nationally.
Of the 16 reporting public schools, all have electricity and all have water, while one, or 6%, has no internet, against 21% in CARAGA. The page lists the 17 schools with their learners, teachers and classrooms, and breaks the figures down by sector and level.
- Schools
- 17
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 16 public, 1 private
- Community learning centers
- 15
- Down 1 from SY 2023-24
- Learners
- 6,457
- Down 2 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 230
- Down 16 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 163
- Up 9 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- San Agustin has the 12th most learners of the 19 cities and municipalities in Surigao del Sur, and the 10th most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 1.8% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 1.7% and private schools fell 2.1%.
- Of the learners in schools, 84% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 16% in private schools (14% nationally).
- Leaving out 2 schools whose figures are under review, the largest schools are Saint Augustine High School (973 learners), Sto. Nino Elementary School (652 learners) and Gata Integrated School (411 learners).
- Leaving out 3 schools whose enrollment figures are under review, enrollment grew fastest at Gata Integrated School (+9%) and fell most at Lamela Elementary School (−10%), among schools with 100 or more learners in both years.
- The most crowded public classrooms are at Britania Elementary School, with 64 learners per classroom.
- Of the 16 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; 1 (6%) has no internet, against 21% in CARAGA.
- The 16 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱14.0 million. Across the 16 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,087 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 6,457 learners, 6,113 in schools and 344 in community learning centers.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 6,457 |
| In schools | 6,113 |
| In community learning centers (ALS) | 344 |
| Male | 3,344 |
| Female | 3,104 |
| Not broken down by sex | 9 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Community learning centers (ALS) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 3,410 | 94 | 0 | 3,504 |
| Junior High School | 1,217 | 566 | 0 | 1,783 |
| Senior High School | 504 | 313 | 0 | 817 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 0 | 0 | 19 | 19 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 0 | 122 | 122 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 0 | 0 | 203 | 203 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 212 | 187 | 399 |
| Grade 1 | 309 | 221 | 530 |
| Grade 2 | 261 | 268 | 529 |
| Grade 3 | 267 | 249 | 516 |
| Grade 4 | 255 | 233 | 488 |
| Grade 5 | 231 | 194 | 425 |
| Grade 6 | 304 | 299 | 603 |
| Grade 7 | 273 | 249 | 522 |
| Grade 8 | 209 | 218 | 427 |
| Grade 9 | 196 | 247 | 443 |
| Grade 10 | 187 | 204 | 391 |
| Grade 11 | 217 | 203 | 420 |
| Grade 12 | 200 | 197 | 397 |
| Special needs, non-graded (elementary) | 10 | 4 | 14 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 12 | 7 | 19 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 82 | 40 | 122 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 119 | 84 | 203 |
| Broken down by grade | 3,344 | 3,104 | 6,448 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 647 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 179 |
| All tracks | 826 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 5 | 5 | 10 |
| Elementary | 80 | 73 | 153 |
| Junior High School | 44 | 36 | 80 |
| Senior High School | 36 | 24 | 60 |
| All | 165 | 138 | 303 |
| Program | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Distance Education | 0 | 1 | 1 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 17 schools and 15 community learning centers.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 16 |
| Private schools | 1 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 15 |
| All | 32 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 12 |
| Elementary and junior high (K to 10) | 1 |
| Kindergarten to Grade 12 | 2 |
| Junior and senior high | 2 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 15 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 16 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 15 |
| Sectarian | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 230 teachers and 33 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 230 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 33 |
| All personnel | 263 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 135 |
| Junior High School | 91 |
| Senior High School | 4 |
| All teachers | 230 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 25.3 |
| Junior High School | 13.4 |
| Senior High School | 126.0 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 163 classrooms and 197 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 163
- Seats (approximate)
- 5,362
- Toilets
- 197
- Functional computers
- 850
- Faucets
- 363
- 320 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 112 | 37 | 14 |
| Learners per classroom | 30.5 | 32.9 | 36.0 |
| Seats (approximate) | 3,434 | 1,394 | 534 |
| Learners per seat | 1.0 | 0.9 | 0.9 |
| Toilets | 139 | 41 | 17 |
| Learners per toilet | 24.5 | 29.7 | 29.7 |
| Functional computers | 395 | 241 | 214 |
| Learners per computer | 8.6 | 5.1 | 2.4 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 14 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 4 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply | Grid and off-grid supply |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 13 | 1 |
| Junior High School | 4 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 12 | 2 |
| Junior High School | 4 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 3 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 42 |
| Male | 38 |
| Shared | 105 |
| For persons with disabilities | 12 |
| All toilets | 197 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 320 |
| Without water | 43 |
| All faucets | 363 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Entrance Gate | 16 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 15 |
| School Garden | 14 |
| Playground | 12 |
| Offices | 11 |
| Exit Gate | 7 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 6 |
| Clinic | 3 |
| Computer Room | 3 |
| Paved Pathway | 3 |
| Canteen | 2 |
| Covered Court | 2 |
| Faculty Room | 2 |
| Home Economic Room | 2 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 2 |
| Science Laboratory | 2 |
| Solar Panel | 2 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 1 |
| Roofing | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in San Agustin, Surigao del Sur in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Britania Elementary School | Public | 255 | 9 | 4 |
| Buhisan Elementary School | Public | 153 | 7 | 5 |
| Campanubay Elementary School | Public | 126 | 7 | 4 |
| Gata Integrated School | Public | 411 | 21 | 14 |
| Hamburger Elementary School | Public | 212 | 4 | 4 |
| Hornasan Elementary School | Public | 130 | 6 | 7 |
| Janipaan Elementary School | Public | 164 | 7 | 7 |
| Lamela Elementary School | Public | 216 | 9 | 8 |
| Maurillo Avila Integrated School | Public | 194 | 14 | 10 |
| Pongtod Elementary School | Public | 153 | 6 | 6 |
| Saint Augustine High School | Private | 973 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Salvacion Elementary School | Public | 379 | 13 | 16 |
| Salvacion National High School | Public | 377 | 35 | 16 |
| San Agustin Central Elementary School | Public | 552 | 21 | 16 |
| Sto. Nino Elementary School | Public | 652 | 26 | 22 |
| Sto. Niño National High School | Public | 1,053 | 39 | 21 |
| Teodoro R. Alvizo IP Community Elementary School | Public | 113 | 6 | 3 |
About this data
- 9 learners in SY 2024-25 are counted in the totals but not broken down by grade, level or sex, so those charts show at least these numbers.
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
Each school year's figures for San Agustin, Surigao del Sur count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked
Report a correction to the figures for San Agustin, Surigao del Sur