Skip to content

Schools in Katipunan, Zamboanga del Norte

By · Published · Updated

SY 2024-25 data from DepEd as of 25 October 2025

Summary

On the Katipunan page, 97% of learners in schools are in public schools, against 85% nationally. Its 12,168 learners in schools in SY 2024-25 fell 3.2% from SY 2023-24, not counting ALS, with public schools down 3.3%.

Katipunan has the sixth most learners of the 27 cities and municipalities in Zamboanga del Norte, but the 26th most learners per teacher in public schools. Of the 52 reporting public schools, 31 (60%) have no internet, against 36% in Region IX; all have water.

The page's 55 schools are listed with their learners, teachers and classrooms, and the figures are broken down by sector and level.

Schools
55
No change from SY 2023-24
52 public, 2 private, 1 SUC or LUC
Community learning centers
33
Up 1 from SY 2023-24
Learners
12,896
Down 387 from SY 2023-24
Teachers
570
Down 7 from SY 2023-24
Classrooms
466
Up 8 from SY 2023-24

Key findings

For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.

  • Katipunan has the 6th most learners of the 27 cities and municipalities in Zamboanga del Norte, and the 26th most learners per teacher in public schools.
  • Enrollment in schools fell 3.2% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 3.3%, private schools fell 0.5% and SUC and LUC schools grew 1.0%.
  • Of the learners in schools, 97% are in public schools (85% nationally), 2% in private schools (14% nationally) and 2% in SUC and LUC schools (1% nationally).
  • The largest schools are Katipunan National High School (2,578 learners), Katipunan Central School (670 learners) and Bulawan Integrated School (542 learners).
  • Leaving out 1 school whose enrollment figures are under review, enrollment grew fastest at Katipunan SPED Center (+17%) and fell most at Balok Elementary School (−16%), among schools with 100 or more learners in both years.
  • Leaving out 2 schools whose figures are under review, the most crowded public classrooms are at Seroan Integrated School, with 51 learners per classroom.
  • Of the 52 reporting public schools, 2 (4%) have no electricity, against 2% in Region IX; all have water; 31 (60%) have no internet, against 36% in Region IX.
  • The 52 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱40.2 million. Across the 49 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,306 for each learner.

Learners

SY 2024-25: 12,896 learners, 12,168 in schools and 728 in community learning centers.

Learners, SY 2024-25
LearnersNumber
All learners12,896
In schools12,168
In community learning centers (ALS)728
Male6,529
Female6,366
Not broken down by sex1
Learners by level and sector, SY 2024-25 (at least)Public schoolsPrivate schoolsSUCs and LUCsCommunity learning centers (ALS)Elementary7,276 totalJunior High School3,387 totalSenior High School1,504 totalALS Basic Literacy Program62 totalALS A&E elementary189 totalALS A&E secondary477 total
Learners by level and sector, SY 2024-25: at least these numbers
Learners by level and sector, SY 2024-25: at least these numbers; 1 not broken down by level
LevelPublic schoolsPrivate schoolsSUCs and LUCsCommunity learning centers (ALS)Total
Elementary7,089187007,276
Junior High School3,230015703,387
Senior High School1,46204201,504
ALS Basic Literacy Program0006262
ALS A&E elementary000189189
ALS A&E secondary000477477
Learners by grade and sex, SY 2024-25 (at least)MaleFemaleKindergarten961 totalGrade 11,076 totalGrade 2999 totalGrade 31,142 totalGrade 4990 totalGrade 5931 totalGrade 61,051 totalGrade 7965 totalGrade 8790 totalGrade 9835 totalGrade 10791 totalGrade 11779 totalGrade 12725 totalSpecial needs, non-graded(elementary)126 totalSpecial needs, non-graded (junior high)6 totalALS Basic Literacy Program62 totalALS A&E elementary189 totalALS A&E secondary477 total
Learners by grade and sex, SY 2024-25: at least these numbers
Learners by grade and sex, SY 2024-25: at least these numbers; 1 not broken down by grade
GradeMaleFemaleTotal
Kindergarten486475961
Grade 15804961,076
Grade 2543456999
Grade 35645781,142
Grade 4507483990
Grade 5488443931
Grade 65165351,051
Grade 7465500965
Grade 8376414790
Grade 9404431835
Grade 10373418791
Grade 11367412779
Grade 12357368725
Special needs, non-graded (elementary)7749126
Special needs, non-graded (junior high)246
ALS Basic Literacy Program362662
ALS A&E elementary11376189
ALS A&E secondary275202477
Broken down by grade6,5296,36612,895
Senior High School learners by track, SY 2024-25Academic726Technical-Vocational-Livelihood779
Senior High School learners by track, SY 2024-25
Senior High School learners by track, SY 2024-25
TrackLearners
Academic726
Technical-Vocational-Livelihood779
All tracks1,505
ALIVE (Arabic Language and Islamic Values Education) learners by level and sex, SY 2024-25
LevelMaleFemaleTotal
Kindergarten101
Elementary19524
Junior High School202
All22527
Indigenous peoples (IP) learners by level and sex, SY 2024-25
LevelMaleFemaleTotal
Kindergarten200211411
Elementary1,2471,2012,448
Junior High School5205651,085
Senior High School178200378
All2,1452,1774,322

Schools and community learning centers

SY 2024-25: 55 schools and 33 community learning centers.

Schools and community learning centers by sector, SY 2024-25Public schools52Private schools2SUCs and LUCs1Community learning centers (ALS)33
Schools and community learning centers by sector, SY 2024-25
Schools and community learning centers by sector, SY 2024-25
SectorNumber
Public schools52
Private schools2
SUCs and LUCs1
Community learning centers (ALS)33
All88
Schools by curricular offering, SY 2024-25Elementary only43Elementary and junior high (K to 10)2Kindergarten to Grade 121Junior high only1Junior and senior high8Community learning centers (ALS)33
Schools by curricular offering, SY 2024-25
Schools by curricular offering, SY 2024-25
OfferingNumber
Elementary only43
Elementary and junior high (K to 10)2
Kindergarten to Grade 121
Junior high only1
Junior and senior high8
Community learning centers (ALS)33
Schools by subclassification, SY 2024-25
SubclassificationNumber
DepEd managed52
Community learning centers (ALS)33
Sectarian2
State universities and colleges1

School personnel

SY 2024-25: 570 teachers and 103 non-teaching personnel in public schools.

Public school personnel by type, SY 2024-25
TypeNumber
Teachers570
Non-teaching personnel103
All personnel673
Public school teachers by level, SY 2024-25Elementary326Junior High School189Senior High School55
Public school teachers by level, SY 2024-25
Public school teachers by level, SY 2024-25
LevelTeachers
Elementary326
Junior High School189
Senior High School55
All teachers570
Learners per teacher by level, public schools, SY 2024-25Elementary21.8Junior High School17.1Senior High School26.6
Learners per teacher by level, public schools, SY 2024-25
Learners per teacher by level, public schools, SY 2024-25
LevelLearners per teacher
Elementary21.8
Junior High School17.1
Senior High School26.6

School resources

SY 2024-25: 466 classrooms and 417 toilets in public schools.

Classrooms
466
Seats (approximate)
11,413
Toilets
417
Functional computers
945
Faucets
492
358 with water
Classrooms, seats, toilets and computers by level, public schools, SY 2024-25ElementaryJunior High SchoolSenior High SchoolClassrooms466 totalSeats (approximate)11,413 totalToilets417 totalFunctional computers945 total
Classrooms, seats, toilets and computers by level, public schools, SY 2024-25: shares of each by level
Classrooms, seats, toilets and computers by level, public schools, SY 2024-25, with learners per resource
MeasureElementaryJunior High SchoolSenior High School
Classrooms29511556
Learners per classroom24.028.126.1
Seats (approximate)5,2643,3982,751
Learners per seat1.41.00.5
Toilets25810554
Learners per toilet27.530.827.1
Functional computers255421269
Learners per computer27.87.75.4
Public schools with a water supply, by level, SY 2024-25With water supplyWithoutElementary44 totalJunior High School11 totalSenior High School8 total
Public schools with a water supply, by level, SY 2024-25
Public schools with a water supply, by level, SY 2024-25: number of schools
LevelWith water supplyWithout
Elementary440
Junior High School101
Senior High School80
Public schools by electricity supply and level, SY 2024-25Grid supplyOff-grid supplyGrid and off-grid supplyNo electricity supplyElementary44 totalJunior High School11 totalSenior High School8 total
Public schools by electricity supply and level, SY 2024-25
Public schools by electricity supply and level, SY 2024-25: number of schools
LevelGrid supplyOff-grid supplyGrid and off-grid supplyNo electricity supply
Elementary34622
Junior High School9110
Senior High School6020
Public schools with internet access, by level, SY 2024-25With internet accessWithoutElementary44 totalJunior High School11 totalSenior High School8 total
Public schools with internet access, by level, SY 2024-25
Public schools with internet access, by level, SY 2024-25: number of schools
LevelWith internet accessWithout
Elementary1628
Junior High School65
Senior High School44
Toilets in public schools by type, SY 2024-25Female50Male48Shared312For persons with disabilities7
Toilets in public schools by type, SY 2024-25
Toilets in public schools by type, SY 2024-25
TypeToilets
Female50
Male48
Shared312
For persons with disabilities7
All toilets417
Faucets in public schools, with and without water, SY 2024-25With water358Without water134
Faucets in public schools, with and without water, SY 2024-25
Faucets in public schools, with and without water, SY 2024-25
FaucetsNumber
With water358
Without water134
All faucets492
Public schools with each facility, SY 2024-25
FacilitySchools
School Garden47
Playground31
Offices29
Covered Court27
Entrance Gate26
Temporary Perimeter Fence26
Computer Room13
Home Economic Room11
Solar Panel11
Exit Gate9
Faculty Room9
Permanent Perimeter Fence9
Conference Room7
Library/Learning Resource Center7
Industrial Arts Room6
Clinic5
Science Laboratory5
Supply Room5
Data File Room/Records Room2
Speech Laboratory1
Student Co-Curricular Center1
Youth Development Center1

List of schools

Every school in Katipunan, Zamboanga del Norte in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.

Schools in Katipunan, Zamboanga del Norte: 55 schools, each with its own latest school year's figures
SchoolSectorLearnersTeachersClassrooms
Balok Elementary SchoolPublic16188
Banbanan Elementary SchoolPublic10965
Basagan Elementary SchoolPublic11295
Basagan National High SchoolPublic2372112
Biniray Elementary SchoolPublic8252
Bulawan Integrated SchoolPublic5423120
Carupay Elementary SchoolPublic12163
Dabiak Elementary SchoolPublic8547
Dabiak National High SchoolPublic13614
Danao Elementary SchoolPublic2923
Don Teotimo Z. Ochotorena National High SchoolPublic1851910
Dr. Jose Rizal Elementary SchoolPublic17686
Felipe Cadavedo Integrated SchoolPublic4942018
Fimagas Elementary SchoolPublic13477
Gonzalo Reinante National High SchoolPublic211157
Guisokan Elementary SchoolPublic5244
Gulapa Elementary SchoolPublic7544
Jose Gayapa Jr. Elementary SchoolPublic17188
Jose Ochotorena Elementary SchoolPublic20197
Jose Rizal Memorial State University - Katipunan CampusSUC or LUC199Not reportedNot reported
Katipunan Adventist Learning Center, Inc.Private173Not reportedNot reported
Katipunan Central SchoolPublic6702423
Katipunan Gospel Light Christian School, INCPrivate14Not reportedNot reported
Katipunan National High SchoolPublic2,57812478
Katipunan SPED CenterPublic269116
Kitonok Elementary SchoolPublic8234
Luyoran Elementary SchoolPublic13686
Macayas Elementary SchoolPublic5635
Malasay Elementary SchoolPublic7337
Malugas Elementary SchoolPublic17495
Matam Elementary SchoolPublic15385
Mias Elementary SchoolPublic246910
Miatan Elementary SchoolPublic11878
Nanginan Elementary SchoolPublic19684
New Dapitan Elementary SchoolPublic14386
New Tambo Elementary SchoolPublic18578
Patik Elementary SchoolPublic16287
Saluwagan Elementary SchoolPublic9254
San Antonio Elementary SchoolPublic3581513
San Vicente Elementary SchoolPublic1861111
Sanao Elementary SchoolPublic15987
Sapa Naga Elementary SchoolPublic9034
Sapa Ralum Elementary SchoolPublic11156
Seraboc Elementary SchoolPublic6651
Seres Elementary SchoolPublic23287
Seres National High SchoolPublic2892218
Seroan Integrated SchoolPublic25675
Sibayog Elementary SchoolPublic10976
Singatong Elementary SchoolPublic13077
Sinuyak Elementary SchoolPublic14479
Sinuyak National High SchoolPublic293512
Sitog Elementary SchoolPublic2851011
Sitog National High SchoolPublic217815
Sto. Niño Elementary SchoolPublic9456
Sulot Sumayong Elementary SchoolPublic11752

DepEd's public report has teachers and classrooms for public schools only.

About this data

  • 1 learner in SY 2024-25 is counted in the totals but not broken down by grade, level or sex, so those charts show at least these numbers.
  • Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.

Each school year's figures for Katipunan, Zamboanga del Norte count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked

Report a correction to the figures for Katipunan, Zamboanga del Norte