Skip to content

Schools in Buug, Zamboanga Sibugay

By · Published · Updated

SY 2024-25 data from DepEd as of 25 October 2025

Summary

Buug, in Zamboanga Sibugay, had 10,713 learners in its 40 schools in SY 2024-25, with another 242 learners in ALS. Enrollment in its schools fell 4.1% from SY 2023-24, with ALS not counted: public schools fell 2.9%, private schools fell 8.6% and SUC and LUC schools fell 12.2%. Among the 16 cities and municipalities of Zamboanga Sibugay, Buug has the sixth most learners and the sixth most learners per teacher in public schools.

Public schools hold 83% of the learners in schools, against 85% nationally, while private schools hold 11% (14% nationally) and SUC and LUC schools 6% (1% nationally). Leaving out two schools whose figures are under review, the most crowded public classrooms are at Talairan Integrated School, with 73 learners per classroom.

The 40 schools are listed on the page with their learners, teachers and classrooms, and the figures are broken down by sector and level in charts and tables.

Schools
40
No change from SY 2023-24
32 public, 7 private, 1 SUC or LUC
Community learning centers
9
Down 4 from SY 2023-24
Learners
10,955
Down 453 from SY 2023-24
Teachers
372
Up 2 from SY 2023-24
Classrooms
248
Up 10 from SY 2023-24

Key findings

For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.

  • Buug has the 6th most learners of the 16 cities and municipalities in Zamboanga Sibugay, and the 6th most learners per teacher in public schools.
  • Enrollment in schools fell 4.1% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 2.9%, private schools fell 8.6% and SUC and LUC schools fell 12.2%.
  • Of the learners in schools, 83% are in public schools (85% nationally), 11% in private schools (14% nationally) and 6% in SUC and LUC schools (1% nationally).
  • Leaving out 1 school whose figures are under review, the largest schools are Buug National High School (1,745 learners), Del Monte National High School (801 learners) and Mindanao State University-Buug Campus (625 learners).
  • Enrollment grew fastest at Western Mindanao Institute of Buug, Inc. (+9%) and fell most at Internacional Colegio De Tecnologia (−32%), among schools with 100 or more learners in both years.
  • Leaving out 2 schools whose figures are under review, the most crowded public classrooms are at Talairan Integrated School, with 73 learners per classroom.
  • Of the 32 reporting public schools, all have electricity; all have water; 7 (22%) have no internet, against 36% in Region IX.
  • The 32 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱25.7 million. Across the 32 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,031 for each learner.

Learners

SY 2024-25: 10,955 learners, 10,713 in schools and 242 in community learning centers.

Learners, SY 2024-25
LearnersNumber
All learners10,955
In schools10,713
In community learning centers (ALS)242
Male5,642
Female5,305
Not broken down by sex8
Learners by level and sector, SY 2024-25 (at least)Public schoolsPrivate schoolsSUCs and LUCsCommunity learning centers (ALS)Elementary5,791 totalJunior High School3,112 totalSenior High School1,802 totalALS Basic Literacy Program4 totalALS A&E elementary35 totalALS A&E secondary203 total
Learners by level and sector, SY 2024-25: at least these numbers
Learners by level and sector, SY 2024-25: at least these numbers; 8 not broken down by level
LevelPublic schoolsPrivate schoolsSUCs and LUCsCommunity learning centers (ALS)Total
Elementary5,595196005,791
Junior High School2,31742636903,112
Senior High School95758925601,802
ALS Basic Literacy Program00044
ALS A&E elementary0003535
ALS A&E secondary000203203
Learners by grade and sex, SY 2024-25 (at least)MaleFemaleKindergarten697 totalGrade 1867 totalGrade 2816 totalGrade 3798 totalGrade 4911 totalGrade 5833 totalGrade 6847 totalGrade 7910 totalGrade 8826 totalGrade 9713 totalGrade 10663 totalGrade 11916 totalGrade 12886 totalSpecial needs, non-graded(elementary)22 totalALS Basic Literacy Program4 totalALS A&E elementary35 totalALS A&E secondary203 total
Learners by grade and sex, SY 2024-25: at least these numbers
Learners by grade and sex, SY 2024-25: at least these numbers; 8 not broken down by grade
GradeMaleFemaleTotal
Kindergarten365332697
Grade 1468399867
Grade 2419397816
Grade 3409389798
Grade 4474437911
Grade 5433400833
Grade 6443404847
Grade 7472438910
Grade 8406420826
Grade 9337376713
Grade 10324339663
Grade 11448468916
Grade 12459427886
Special needs, non-graded (elementary)14822
ALS Basic Literacy Program314
ALS A&E elementary28735
ALS A&E secondary14063203
Broken down by grade5,6425,30510,947
Senior High School learners by track, SY 2024-25Academic1,029Technical-Vocational-Livelihood773
Senior High School learners by track, SY 2024-25
Senior High School learners by track, SY 2024-25
TrackLearners
Academic1,029
Technical-Vocational-Livelihood773
All tracks1,802
ALIVE (Arabic Language and Islamic Values Education) learners by level and sex, SY 2024-25
LevelMaleFemaleTotal
Junior High School011
Indigenous peoples (IP) learners by level and sex, SY 2024-25
LevelMaleFemaleTotal
Kindergarten464490
Elementary342336678
Junior High School145150295
Senior High School8381164
All6166111,227

Schools and community learning centers

SY 2024-25: 40 schools and 9 community learning centers.

Schools and community learning centers by sector, SY 2024-25Public schools32Private schools7SUCs and LUCs1Community learning centers (ALS)9
Schools and community learning centers by sector, SY 2024-25
Schools and community learning centers by sector, SY 2024-25
SectorNumber
Public schools32
Private schools7
SUCs and LUCs1
Community learning centers (ALS)9
All49
Schools by curricular offering, SY 2024-25Elementary only28Elementary and junior high (K to 10)1Kindergarten to Grade 123Junior and senior high6Senior high only2Community learning centers (ALS)9
Schools by curricular offering, SY 2024-25
Schools by curricular offering, SY 2024-25
OfferingNumber
Elementary only28
Elementary and junior high (K to 10)1
Kindergarten to Grade 123
Junior and senior high6
Senior high only2
Community learning centers (ALS)9
Schools by subclassification, SY 2024-25
SubclassificationNumber
DepEd managed32
Community learning centers (ALS)9
Sectarian5
Non-sectarian2
State universities and colleges1

School personnel

SY 2024-25: 372 teachers and 62 non-teaching personnel in public schools.

Public school personnel by type, SY 2024-25
TypeNumber
Teachers372
Non-teaching personnel62
All personnel434
Public school teachers by level, SY 2024-25Elementary245Junior High School84Senior High School43
Public school teachers by level, SY 2024-25
Public school teachers by level, SY 2024-25
LevelTeachers
Elementary245
Junior High School84
Senior High School43
All teachers372
Learners per teacher by level, public schools, SY 2024-25Elementary22.8Junior High School27.6Senior High School22.3
Learners per teacher by level, public schools, SY 2024-25
Learners per teacher by level, public schools, SY 2024-25
LevelLearners per teacher
Elementary22.8
Junior High School27.6
Senior High School22.3

School resources

SY 2024-25: 248 classrooms and 415 toilets in public schools.

Classrooms
248
Seats (approximate)
7,779
Toilets
415
Functional computers
1,104
Faucets
447
284 with water
Classrooms, seats, toilets and computers by level, public schools, SY 2024-25ElementaryJunior High SchoolSenior High SchoolClassrooms248 totalSeats (approximate)7,779 totalToilets415 totalFunctional computers1,104 total
Classrooms, seats, toilets and computers by level, public schools, SY 2024-25: shares of each by level
Classrooms, seats, toilets and computers by level, public schools, SY 2024-25, with learners per resource
MeasureElementaryJunior High SchoolSenior High School
Classrooms1596128
Learners per classroom35.238.034.2
Seats (approximate)4,9112,017851
Learners per seat1.11.21.1
Toilets3206629
Learners per toilet17.535.133.0
Functional computers473355276
Learners per computer11.86.53.5
Public schools with a water supply, by level, SY 2024-25With water supplyWithoutElementary28 totalJunior High School5 totalSenior High School5 total
Public schools with a water supply, by level, SY 2024-25
Public schools with a water supply, by level, SY 2024-25: number of schools
LevelWith water supplyWithout
Elementary280
Junior High School50
Senior High School50
Public schools by electricity supply and level, SY 2024-25Grid supplyOff-grid supplyElementary28 totalJunior High School5 totalSenior High School5 total
Public schools by electricity supply and level, SY 2024-25
Public schools by electricity supply and level, SY 2024-25: number of schools
LevelGrid supplyOff-grid supply
Elementary271
Junior High School50
Senior High School50
Public schools with internet access, by level, SY 2024-25With internet accessWithoutElementary28 totalJunior High School5 totalSenior High School5 total
Public schools with internet access, by level, SY 2024-25
Public schools with internet access, by level, SY 2024-25: number of schools
LevelWith internet accessWithout
Elementary217
Junior High School41
Senior High School41
Toilets in public schools by type, SY 2024-25Female23Male22Shared363For persons with disabilities7
Toilets in public schools by type, SY 2024-25
Toilets in public schools by type, SY 2024-25
TypeToilets
Female23
Male22
Shared363
For persons with disabilities7
All toilets415
Faucets in public schools, with and without water, SY 2024-25With water284Without water163
Faucets in public schools, with and without water, SY 2024-25
Faucets in public schools, with and without water, SY 2024-25
FaucetsNumber
With water284
Without water163
All faucets447
Public schools with each facility, SY 2024-25
FacilitySchools
School Garden28
Entrance Gate26
Playground25
Temporary Perimeter Fence22
Offices14
Exit Gate12
Computer Room11
Covered Court11
Permanent Perimeter Fence11
Paved Pathway9
Home Economic Room6
Conference Room3
Faculty Room3
Library/Learning Resource Center3
Solar Panel3
Supply Room3
Clinic2
Gymnasium2
Roofing2
Science Laboratory2
Canteen1
Data File Room/Records Room1
Flood Marker1
Industrial Arts Room1
Student Co-Curricular Center1

List of schools

Every school in Buug, Zamboanga Sibugay in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.

Schools in Buug, Zamboanga Sibugay: 40 schools, each with its own latest school year's figures
SchoolSectorLearnersTeachersClassrooms
Agutayan Paaralan Ng Buhay Elementary SchoolPublic4241
Bag-Ong Borbon Primary SchoolPublic2132
Basalem Elementary SchoolPublic17384
Basalem National High SchoolPublic273207
Bawang Elementary SchoolPublic21371
Bliss Elementary SchoolPublic4181912
Bulaan Primary SchoolPublic3222
Buug Central SPED CenterPublic5312114
Buug Faith Kiddie Learning Center, Inc.Private73Not reportedNot reported
Buug National High SchoolPublic1,7455248
Buug Pilot Central Elementary SchoolPublic1,0874411
Compostela Elementary SchoolPublic16286
Danlugan Primary SchoolPublic1910
Del Monte Elementary SchoolPublic3911415
Del Monte National High SchoolPublic8013026
Guintoluan Primary SchoolPublic1922
Guitom Primary SchoolPublic1822
Guminta Elementary SchoolPublic13877
Internacional Colegio De TecnologiaPrivate291Not reportedNot reported
Labrador Elementary SchoolPublic3431410
Lantawan Primary SchoolPublic1712
Ligaya Elementary SchoolPublic4432
Mabuhay Elementary SchoolPublic14077
Maganay Elementary SchoolPublic18576
Manlin Elementary SchoolPublic16589
Mindanao State University-Buug CampusSUC or LUC625Not reportedNot reported
Muyo Elementary SchoolPublic20194
Pamintayan Elementary SchoolPublic21577
Pling Elementary SchoolPublic18876
Pulog Elementary SchoolPublic13175
Saint Paul School of Buug, Inc.Private320Not reportedNot reported
San Jose Elementary SchoolPublic9254
Sibugay Baptist School IncorporatedPrivate34Not reportedNot reported
St. John College of Buug Foundation, Inc.Private119Not reportedNot reported
Talairan Integrated SchoolPublic435196
Talamimi Elementary SchoolPublic11473
The Seeds of Life Christian School of Buug, Inc.Private224Not reportedNot reported
Villacastor Elementary SchoolPublic2831411
Villacastor National High SchoolPublic233136
Western Mindanao Institute of Buug, Inc.Private158Not reportedNot reported

DepEd's public report has teachers and classrooms for public schools only.

About this data

  • 8 learners in SY 2024-25 are counted in the totals but not broken down by grade, level or sex, so those charts show at least these numbers.
  • Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.

Each school year's figures for Buug, Zamboanga Sibugay count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked

Report a correction to the figures for Buug, Zamboanga Sibugay