Schools in Olutanga, Zamboanga Sibugay
Summary
Olutanga, in Zamboanga Sibugay, had 6,444 learners in its 24 schools in SY 2024-25, with another 185 in ALS. That makes it the 14th most learners of the 16 cities and municipalities in Zamboanga Sibugay, and the 11th most learners per teacher in public schools. Enrollment in schools fell 5.5% from SY 2023-24, with ALS not counted: public schools fell 5.9%, while private schools fell 2.4%.
Of the 21 reporting public schools, all have electricity, but two (10%) have no water, against 3% in Region IX, and 10 (48%) have no internet, against 36% in Region IX. The most crowded public classrooms are at Buhangin Mahaba Elementary School, where there is one classroom for every 47 learners.
The page lists the 24 schools here, with learners, teachers and classrooms, and shows the figures by sector and level in charts and tables.
- Schools
- 24
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 21 public, 3 private
- Community learning centers
- 4
- Down 5 from SY 2023-24
- Learners
- 6,629
- Down 420 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 259
- Down 3 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 192
- Up 2 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Olutanga has the 14th most learners of the 16 cities and municipalities in Zamboanga Sibugay, and the 11th most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 5.5% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 5.9% and private schools fell 2.4%.
- Of the learners in schools, 89% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 11% in private schools (14% nationally).
- The largest schools are Olutanga National High School (1,846 learners), Olutanga Central Elementary School (1,318 learners) and Loyola High School (661 learners).
- Enrollment grew fastest at Buhangin Mahaba Elementary School (+7%) and fell most at Gandaan Elementary School (−22%), among schools with 100 or more learners in both years.
- The most crowded public classrooms are at Buhangin Mahaba Elementary School, with 47 learners per classroom.
- Of the 21 reporting public schools, all have electricity; 2 (10%) have no water, against 3% in Region IX; 10 (48%) have no internet, against 36% in Region IX.
- The 21 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱17.4 million. Across the 21 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱2,169 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 6,629 learners, 6,444 in schools and 185 in community learning centers.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 6,629 |
| In schools | 6,444 |
| In community learning centers (ALS) | 185 |
| Male | 3,333 |
| Female | 3,296 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | Community learning centers (ALS) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 3,710 | 57 | 0 | 3,767 |
| Junior High School | 1,360 | 427 | 0 | 1,787 |
| Senior High School | 656 | 234 | 0 | 890 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 0 | 0 | 6 | 6 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 0 | 36 | 36 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 0 | 0 | 143 | 143 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 232 | 236 | 468 |
| Grade 1 | 274 | 253 | 527 |
| Grade 2 | 295 | 266 | 561 |
| Grade 3 | 304 | 269 | 573 |
| Grade 4 | 295 | 295 | 590 |
| Grade 5 | 248 | 259 | 507 |
| Grade 6 | 279 | 259 | 538 |
| Grade 7 | 317 | 273 | 590 |
| Grade 8 | 203 | 213 | 416 |
| Grade 9 | 179 | 203 | 382 |
| Grade 10 | 177 | 222 | 399 |
| Grade 11 | 224 | 248 | 472 |
| Grade 12 | 185 | 233 | 418 |
| Special needs, non-graded (elementary) | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 1 | 5 | 6 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 27 | 9 | 36 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 93 | 50 | 143 |
| All grades | 3,333 | 3,296 | 6,629 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 428 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 462 |
| All tracks | 890 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 8 | 4 | 12 |
| Elementary | 278 | 241 | 519 |
| Junior High School | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| All | 287 | 246 | 533 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 74 | 77 | 151 |
| Elementary | 407 | 372 | 779 |
| Junior High School | 99 | 119 | 218 |
| Senior High School | 34 | 50 | 84 |
| All | 614 | 618 | 1,232 |
| Program | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Other School-Initiated Intervention | 0 | 1 | 1 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 24 schools and 4 community learning centers.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 21 |
| Private schools | 3 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 4 |
| All | 28 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 21 |
| Junior high only | 1 |
| Junior and senior high | 2 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 4 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 21 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 4 |
| Sectarian | 3 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 259 teachers and 47 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 259 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 47 |
| All personnel | 306 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 162 |
| Junior High School | 68 |
| Senior High School | 29 |
| All teachers | 259 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 22.9 |
| Junior High School | 20.0 |
| Senior High School | 22.6 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 192 classrooms and 166 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 192
- Seats (approximate)
- 4,319
- Toilets
- 166
- Functional computers
- 339
- Faucets
- 289
- 156 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 134 | 40 | 18 |
| Learners per classroom | 27.7 | 34.0 | 36.4 |
| Seats (approximate) | 2,307 | 1,367 | 645 |
| Learners per seat | 1.6 | 1.0 | 1.0 |
| Toilets | 129 | 26 | 11 |
| Learners per toilet | 28.8 | 52.3 | 59.6 |
| Functional computers | 226 | 113 | Not reported |
| Learners per computer | 16.4 | 12.0 | Not reported |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 17 | 2 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply | Off-grid supply |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 18 | 1 |
| Junior High School | 2 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 1 | 0 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 11 | 8 |
| Junior High School | 0 | 2 |
| Senior High School | 0 | 1 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 10 |
| Male | 9 |
| Shared | 143 |
| For persons with disabilities | 4 |
| All toilets | 166 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 156 |
| Without water | 133 |
| All faucets | 289 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Entrance Gate | 19 |
| Playground | 16 |
| School Garden | 16 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 13 |
| Offices | 10 |
| Exit Gate | 9 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 8 |
| Computer Room | 4 |
| Covered Court | 4 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 4 |
| Paved Pathway | 3 |
| Supply Room | 3 |
| Clinic | 2 |
| Conference Room | 2 |
| Faculty Room | 2 |
| Home Economic Room | 2 |
| Science Laboratory | 2 |
| Canteen | 1 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 1 |
| Industrial Arts Room | 1 |
| Solar Panel | 1 |
| Youth Development Center | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Olutanga, Zamboanga Sibugay in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
About this data
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
Each school year's figures for Olutanga, Zamboanga Sibugay count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked
Report a correction to the figures for Olutanga, Zamboanga Sibugay