Schools Division of Agusan del Sur
Summary
Agusan del Sur has the most learners of the 12 schools divisions in CARAGA, and the eighth most learners per teacher in public schools. In SY 2024-25, 174,796 learners attend its 569 schools, another 6,198 are in ALS, and the division has 7,308 public teachers.
Public schools hold 93% of the learners in schools, against 85% nationally, while private schools hold 6%, against 14% nationally. Enrollment in schools fell 1.2% from SY 2023-24, with ALS not counted; public schools fell 1.0% and private schools fell 3.9%. Of the 518 reporting public schools, 162 (31%) have no internet, against 21% across CARAGA.
The page lists its 31 districts, and its figures are shown by sector and level in charts and tables.
- Schools
- 569
- Up 1 from SY 2023-24
- 518 public, 50 private, 1 SUC or LUC
- Community learning centers
- 249
- Down 14 from SY 2023-24
- Learners
- 180,994
- Down 1,343 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 7,308
- Down 104 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 5,319
- Up 33 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Agusan del Sur has the most learners of the 12 schools divisions in CARAGA, and the 8th most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 1.2% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 1.0%, private schools fell 3.9% and SUC and LUC schools grew 1.1%.
- Of the learners in schools, 93% are in public schools (85% nationally), 6% in private schools (14% nationally) and 1% in SUC and LUC schools (1% nationally).
- Leaving out 4 schools whose figures are under review, the largest schools are Bunawan National High School (2,682 learners), San Luis National High School (1,770 learners) and Father Saturnino Urios College of Trento,Inc. (1,756 learners).
- Leaving out 9 schools whose enrollment figures are under review, enrollment grew fastest at Mindanao Christian Academy (+41%) and fell most at Nueva Era High School (−36%), among schools with 100 or more learners in both years.
- Leaving out 9 schools whose figures are under review, the most crowded public classrooms are at Tahina Elementary School, with 78 learners per classroom.
- Of the 518 reporting public schools, 8 (2%) have no electricity, against 1% in CARAGA; 6 (1%) have no water, against 2% in CARAGA; 162 (31%) have no internet, against 21% in CARAGA.
- The 514 public schools here with FY 2025 MOOE received ₱432.8 million. Across the 513 with FY 2024 MOOE and SY 2024-25 learners, FY 2024 MOOE came to ₱1,815 for each learner.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 180,994 learners, 174,796 in schools and 6,198 in community learning centers.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 180,994 |
| In schools | 174,796 |
| In community learning centers (ALS) | 6,198 |
| Male | 92,638 |
| Female | 88,280 |
| Not broken down by sex | 76 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | SUCs and LUCs | Community learning centers (ALS) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 101,959 | 2,133 | 179 | 0 | 104,271 |
| Junior High School | 44,756 | 3,882 | 0 | 0 | 48,638 |
| Senior High School | 16,545 | 5,267 | 0 | 0 | 21,812 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 0 | 0 | 0 | 381 | 381 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1,081 | 1,081 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4,735 | 4,735 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 6,532 | 5,947 | 12,479 |
| Grade 1 | 7,544 | 6,876 | 14,420 |
| Grade 2 | 8,096 | 7,235 | 15,331 |
| Grade 3 | 8,162 | 7,449 | 15,611 |
| Grade 4 | 7,816 | 7,340 | 15,156 |
| Grade 5 | 8,047 | 7,161 | 15,208 |
| Grade 6 | 7,924 | 7,730 | 15,654 |
| Grade 7 | 6,845 | 6,753 | 13,598 |
| Grade 8 | 5,794 | 5,741 | 11,535 |
| Grade 9 | 5,768 | 6,025 | 11,793 |
| Grade 10 | 5,674 | 6,037 | 11,711 |
| Grade 11 | 5,603 | 5,669 | 11,272 |
| Grade 12 | 5,233 | 5,307 | 10,540 |
| Special needs, non-graded (elementary) | 257 | 155 | 412 |
| Special needs, non-graded (junior high) | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 213 | 168 | 381 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 648 | 433 | 1,081 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 2,482 | 2,253 | 4,735 |
| Broken down by grade | 92,638 | 88,280 | 180,918 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 11,432 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 10,343 |
| Arts and Design | 37 |
| All tracks | 21,812 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 9 | 7 | 16 |
| Elementary | 47 | 31 | 78 |
| Junior High School | 3 | 7 | 10 |
| All | 59 | 45 | 104 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 1,411 | 1,276 | 2,687 |
| Elementary | 8,898 | 8,181 | 17,079 |
| Junior High School | 3,614 | 3,766 | 7,380 |
| Senior High School | 960 | 1,171 | 2,131 |
| All | 14,883 | 14,394 | 29,277 |
| Program | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Distance Education | 4 | 2 | 6 |
| Enhanced-Instructional Management by Parents, Community and teachers | 16 | 10 | 26 |
| Modified In-School Off-School Approach | 6 | 6 | 12 |
| Open High School Program | 13 | 5 | 18 |
| Other School-Initiated Intervention | 9 | 3 | 12 |
| All | 48 | 26 | 74 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 569 schools and 249 community learning centers.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 518 |
| Private schools | 50 |
| SUCs and LUCs | 1 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 249 |
| All | 818 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 435 |
| Elementary and junior high (K to 10) | 22 |
| Kindergarten to Grade 12 | 5 |
| Junior high only | 8 |
| Junior and senior high | 93 |
| Senior high only | 6 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 249 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 518 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 249 |
| Sectarian | 31 |
| Non-sectarian | 19 |
| State universities and colleges | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 7,308 teachers and 1,114 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 7,308 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 1,114 |
| All personnel | 8,422 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 4,372 |
| Junior High School | 2,280 |
| Senior High School | 656 |
| All teachers | 7,308 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 23.3 |
| Junior High School | 19.6 |
| Senior High School | 25.2 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 5,319 classrooms and 6,467 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 5,319
- Seats (approximate)
- 142,242
- Toilets
- 6,467
- Functional computers
- 15,423
- Faucets
- 8,474
- 6,550 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 3,445 | 1,365 | 509 |
| Learners per classroom | 29.6 | 32.8 | 32.5 |
| Seats (approximate) | 91,319 | 37,385 | 13,538 |
| Learners per seat | 1.1 | 1.2 | 1.2 |
| Toilets | 4,181 | 1,702 | 584 |
| Learners per toilet | 24.4 | 26.3 | 28.3 |
| Functional computers | 5,069 | 6,867 | 3,487 |
| Learners per computer | 20.1 | 6.5 | 4.7 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 417 | 6 |
| Junior High School | 113 | 2 |
| Senior High School | 82 | 8 |
| Level | Grid supply | Off-grid supply | Grid and off-grid supply | No electricity supply |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 381 | 17 | 18 | 7 |
| Junior High School | 109 | 1 | 4 | 1 |
| Senior High School | 84 | 1 | 5 | 0 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 278 | 145 |
| Junior High School | 87 | 28 |
| Senior High School | 63 | 27 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 1,038 |
| Male | 985 |
| Shared | 4,309 |
| For persons with disabilities | 135 |
| All toilets | 6,467 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 6,550 |
| Without water | 1,924 |
| All faucets | 8,474 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| School Garden | 484 |
| Entrance Gate | 456 |
| Playground | 418 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 385 |
| Offices | 283 |
| Exit Gate | 270 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 262 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 147 |
| Computer Room | 131 |
| Clinic | 98 |
| Faculty Room | 97 |
| Paved Pathway | 97 |
| Solar Panel | 86 |
| Supply Room | 80 |
| Conference Room | 74 |
| Covered Court | 67 |
| Home Economic Room | 67 |
| Canteen | 55 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 51 |
| Science Laboratory | 49 |
| Roofing | 45 |
| Flood Marker | 37 |
| Industrial Arts Room | 28 |
| Student Co-Curricular Center | 26 |
| Gymnasium | 23 |
| Youth Development Center | 10 |
| Speech Laboratory | 9 |
| Bike Rack | 2 |
| Museum | 1 |
Districts
31 districts, each with its SY 2024-25 schools and learners in every sector.
| Name | Schools | Learners | Teachers (public) | Learners per teacher (public) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bunawan I | 17 | 9,608 | 265 | 25.4 |
| Bunawan II | 12 | 4,011 | 167 | 24.0 |
| Curriculum Implementation Division (Agusan del Sur Division) | 1 | 415 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Esperanza I | 27 | 7,154 | 344 | 20.4 |
| Esperanza II | 24 | 4,552 | 250 | 18.2 |
| Esperanza III | 15 | 3,905 | 159 | 24.6 |
| La Paz I | 23 | 5,821 | 224 | 24.9 |
| La Paz II | 13 | 2,696 | 114 | 23.7 |
| Loreto North | 35 | 9,227 | 450 | 20.5 |
| Loreto South | 23 | 4,282 | 190 | 22.5 |
| Prosperidad I | 18 | 7,186 | 254 | 25.7 |
| Prosperidad II | 13 | 5,153 | 220 | 23.4 |
| Prosperidad III | 13 | 5,879 | 241 | 24.3 |
| Prosperidad IV | 16 | 4,403 | 216 | 20.4 |
| Rosario I | 25 | 11,018 | 348 | 25.5 |
| Rosario II | 8 | 3,443 | 126 | 27.3 |
| San Francisco I | 16 | 13,153 | 488 | 25.7 |
| San Francisco II | 15 | 3,447 | 155 | 21.4 |
| San Francisco III | 15 | 4,132 | 113 | 28.9 |
| San Francisco IV | 10 | 3,441 | 132 | 25.2 |
| San Luis I | 29 | 5,951 | 292 | 20.1 |
| San Luis II | 17 | 3,853 | 157 | 24.5 |
| Sibagat I | 23 | 5,476 | 231 | 19.3 |
| Sibagat II | 18 | 3,246 | 153 | 21.2 |
| Sta. Josefa | 21 | 6,392 | 344 | 18.3 |
| Talacogon East | 21 | 4,651 | 253 | 18.3 |
| Talacogon West | 23 | 7,091 | 351 | 19.7 |
| Trento I | 22 | 10,587 | 385 | 22.9 |
| Trento II | 20 | 5,055 | 234 | 21.6 |
| Veruela I | 17 | 5,804 | 256 | 22.5 |
| Veruela II | 19 | 3,764 | 196 | 19.0 |
About this data
- 76 learners in SY 2024-25 are counted in the totals but not broken down by grade, level or sex, so those charts show at least these numbers.
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
District totals exclude ALS centers, which DepEd does not assign to districts.
Each school year's figures for the Schools Division of Agusan del Sur count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked
Report a correction to the figures for the Schools Division of Agusan del Sur