Schools in West Sibutu/Sitangkai, SDO Tawi-Tawi
Summary
West Sibutu/Sitangkai has the fifth most learners (tied) of the 18 districts in Tawi-Tawi, and the most learners per teacher in public schools. In SY 2024-25 its 14 schools held 5,932 learners and 63 public teachers. Enrollment in schools fell 4.6% from SY 2023-24, with ALS not counted: public schools fell 0.4%, while SUC and LUC schools fell 30.0%.
Leaving out four schools whose figures are under review, the most crowded public classrooms are at Datu Halun Central Elementary School, with one classroom for every 65 learners. Of the 11 reporting public schools, all have electricity, while two (18%) have no water, against 8% in BARMM, and seven (64%) have no internet, against 74% in BARMM.
The page lists the 14 schools with their learners, teachers and classrooms, and it breaks the figures down by sector and level in charts and tables.
- Schools
- 14
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 11 public, 3 SUCs and LUCs
- Learners
- 5,932
- Down 286 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 63
- Up 2 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 57
- Down 17 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- West Sibutu/Sitangkai has the 5th most learners (tied) of the 18 districts in Tawi-Tawi, and the most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 4.6% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted); public schools fell 0.4% and SUC and LUC schools fell 30.0%.
- Of the learners in schools, 90% are in public schools (85% nationally) and 10% in SUC and LUC schools (1% nationally).
- Leaving out 2 schools whose figures are under review, the largest schools are Laud Sitangkai Elementary School (863 learners), Laud Sitangkai Annex Elementary School (722 learners) and MSU-Tcto Sitangkai High School (540 learners).
- Leaving out 4 schools whose figures are under review, the most crowded public classrooms are at Datu Halun Central Elementary School, with 65 learners per classroom.
- Of the 11 reporting public schools, all have electricity; 2 (18%) have no water, against 8% in BARMM; 7 (64%) have no internet, against 74% in BARMM.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 5,932 learners.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 5,932 |
| Male | 2,888 |
| Female | 3,044 |
| Level | Public schools | SUCs and LUCs | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 5,320 | 0 | 5,320 |
| Junior High School | 0 | 541 | 541 |
| Senior High School | 0 | 71 | 71 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 432 | 394 | 826 |
| Grade 1 | 533 | 507 | 1,040 |
| Grade 2 | 437 | 411 | 848 |
| Grade 3 | 382 | 454 | 836 |
| Grade 4 | 330 | 335 | 665 |
| Grade 5 | 267 | 310 | 577 |
| Grade 6 | 240 | 288 | 528 |
| Grade 7 | 57 | 63 | 120 |
| Grade 8 | 32 | 65 | 97 |
| Grade 9 | 85 | 96 | 181 |
| Grade 10 | 64 | 79 | 143 |
| Grade 12 | 29 | 42 | 71 |
| All grades | 2,888 | 3,044 | 5,932 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 71 |
| All tracks | 71 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 125 | 123 | 248 |
| Elementary | 892 | 889 | 1,781 |
| All | 1,017 | 1,012 | 2,029 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 183 | 152 | 335 |
| Elementary | 699 | 761 | 1,460 |
| Junior High School | 15 | 28 | 43 |
| Senior High School | 25 | 37 | 62 |
| All | 922 | 978 | 1,900 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 14 schools.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 11 |
| SUCs and LUCs | 3 |
| All | 14 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 11 |
| Junior high only | 2 |
| Senior high only | 1 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 11 |
| State universities and colleges | 3 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 63 teachers and 7 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 63 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 7 |
| All personnel | 70 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 63 |
| All teachers | 63 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 84.4 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 57 classrooms and 40 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 57
- Seats (approximate)
- 1,944
- Toilets
- 40
- Functional computers
- 56
- Faucets
- 87
- 79 with water
| Measure | Elementary |
|---|---|
| Classrooms | 57 |
| Learners per classroom | 93.3 |
| Seats (approximate) | 1,944 |
| Learners per seat | 2.7 |
| Toilets | 40 |
| Learners per toilet | 133.0 |
| Functional computers | 56 |
| Learners per computer | 95.0 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 9 | 2 |
| Level | Grid supply | Off-grid supply | Grid and off-grid supply |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 5 | 5 | 1 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 4 | 7 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 16 |
| Male | 17 |
| Shared | 6 |
| For persons with disabilities | 1 |
| All toilets | 40 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 79 |
| Without water | 8 |
| All faucets | 87 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Entrance Gate | 6 |
| Solar Panel | 6 |
| Exit Gate | 5 |
| Playground | 5 |
| Offices | 4 |
| School Garden | 4 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 3 |
| Supply Room | 3 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 2 |
| Faculty Room | 2 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 2 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 2 |
| Computer Room | 1 |
| Conference Room | 1 |
| Covered Court | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in West Sibutu/Sitangkai, SDO Tawi-Tawi in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Sector | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Abdel Mustafa Kong Ahaja Elementary School | Public | 718 | 4 | 14 |
| Datu Alamia Elementary School | Public | 472 | 3 | 0 |
| Datu Dawila Primary School | Public | 248 | 0 | 1 |
| Datu Halun Central Elementary School | Public | 452 | 10 | 7 |
| Larap Elementary School | Public | 348 | 9 | 11 |
| Laud Sitangkai Annex Elementary School | Public | 722 | 9 | 0 |
| Laud Sitangkai Elementary School | Public | 863 | 11 | 5 |
| MSU-Tcto Larap High School | SUC or LUC | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| MSU-Tcto Sitangkai High School | SUC or LUC | 540 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mindanao State University - Sibutu Extension | SUC or LUC | 71 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Panglima Alari Elementary School | Public | 578 | 6 | 8 |
| Tongmageng Elementary School | Public | 331 | 2 | 7 |
| Tongusong Elementary School | Public | 232 | 8 | 0 |
| Ungus-Ungus Primary School | Public | 356 | 1 | 4 |
About this data
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
The figures for West Sibutu/Sitangkai, SDO Tawi-Tawi exclude ALS centers, which DepEd does not assign to districts.
Each school year's figures for West Sibutu/Sitangkai, SDO Tawi-Tawi count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked
Report a correction to the figures for West Sibutu/Sitangkai, SDO Tawi-Tawi