Kanaway Primary School
School ID 134655 · Public elementary school · Barangay Kanaway, Tapul, Sulu · Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM)
Summary
Kanaway Primary School has no electricity, water or internet in SY 2024-25 with 235 learners. It is one of 88 public schools in the division without electricity and one of 71 without water; 81% of the 457 that report on electricity have it, and 84% of the 457 that report on water do. With three teachers it has one teacher for every 78 learners, more learners per teacher than at 91% of the 402 other public elementary schools in the division that report teachers, and the page carries a review note on this figure.
Enrollment rose 35% to 235 from SY 2023-24, while the division's public schools fell 0.2%, and the page carries a review note on that rise. The nearest public schools with junior high are Tapul National High School, 0.4 km, and Lugus National High School, 7.0 km, straight-line.
Its ratios can be read against medians for the division, the region and the Philippines.
- Learners
- 235
- Up 61 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 3
- Down 1 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 4
- No change from SY 2023-24
- Learners per teacher
- 78.3
- Up 34.8 from SY 2023-24
- Division median 35.0
- Learners per classroom
- 58.8
- Up 15.3 from SY 2023-24
- Division median 45.0
Key findings
- Enrollment rose 35% to 235 from SY 2023-24, while the division's public schools fell 0.2%. See the note on DepEd's figures
- Tied as the 148th largest of 417 public elementary schools in the Schools Division of Sulu. See the note on DepEd's figures
- Each teacher has 78 learners, more than at 91% of the 402 other public elementary schools in the division that report teachers. See the notes on DepEd's figures
- Each classroom has 59 learners, more than at 66% of the 360 other public elementary schools in the division that report classrooms. See the notes on DepEd's figures
- One of 88 public schools in the division without electricity; 81% of the 457 that report on electricity have it.
- One of 71 public schools in the division without water; 84% of the 457 that report on water have it.
- The nearest public schools with junior high are Tapul National High School (0.4 km), Lugus National High School (7.0 km) and Laminusa National High School (17.5 km), straight-line.
Enrollment
SY 2024-25: 235 learners, up 61 from SY 2023-24.
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 41 | 28 | 69 |
| Grade 1 | 2 | 16 | 18 |
| Grade 2 | 21 | 21 | 42 |
| Grade 3 | 13 | 12 | 25 |
| Grade 4 | 8 | 10 | 18 |
| Grade 5 | 15 | 13 | 28 |
| Grade 6 | 18 | 17 | 35 |
| All grades | 118 | 117 | 235 |
Teachers and staff
Its 78.3 learners per teacher is above the Sulu median of 35.0 for elementary schools.
| Teachers | 3 |
|---|---|
| Non-teaching personnel | 0 |
| Learners per teacher | 78.3 |
| Sulu division median | 35.0 |
| Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao median | 37.2 |
| National median | 22.3 |
Staff by position
| Teacher I | 3 |
|---|
Classrooms and facilities
Its 58.8 learners per classroom is above the Sulu median of 45.0 for elementary schools.
- Classrooms
- 4
- 58.8 learners per classroom
- Other rooms
- 0
- Seats (approximate)
- 0
- Toilets
- 0
- Faucets
- 0
- 0 with water, 0 without
- Functional computers
- 1
- 235.0 learners per computer
- Electricity
- No electricity supply
- Water supply
- No
- Internet access
- No
Other facilities
Not reported.
MOOE
MOOE: Not reported.
How it compares
It is compared with the 417 elementary schools in the Sulu division, itself included, in SY 2024-25.
| Measure | This school | Division median | Schools with as many or fewer |
|---|---|---|---|
| Learners per teacher | 78.3 | 35.0 | 91% |
| Learners per classroom | 58.8 | 45.0 | 66% |
| Learners per toilet | Not reported | 81.3 | Not reported |
| Learners per computer | 235.0 | 73.6 | 91% |
Location
Barangay Kanaway, Tapul, Sulu
Legislative district: 2nd District
Map point: 5.706, 120.882
Nearest schools
About this data
Notes on DepEd's figures
- A figure reported in SY 2023-24 (teachers, rooms, seats, toilets or computers) is zero in SY 2024-25.
- Learners are enrolled, but zero seats or zero toilets are recorded. These may be unreported rather than zero.
- One or more resources (teachers, rooms, seats or toilets) are far from what is typical for a school this size.
- A figure changed unusually much between SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25.
Not reported for SY 2024-25: MOOE.
Figures for school ID 134655 come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked