Schools in Tongkil, Sulu
Summary
Of the 19 cities and municipalities in Sulu, Tongkil has the 11th most learners and the most learners per teacher in public schools. In SY 2024-25 its 18 schools held 4,905 learners, with another 17 in ALS, and its public schools had 65 teachers. Enrollment in schools fell 5.2% from SY 2023-24, with ALS not counted.
Of its 18 reporting public schools, 16, or 89%, have no internet, against 74% across BARMM. Of those, eight, or 44%, have no water, against 8% in BARMM, and one, or 6%, has no electricity, against 9%. The 18 schools are listed with their learners, teachers and classrooms, and the figures are broken down by sector and level in charts and tables.
- Schools
- 18
- No change from SY 2023-24
- 18 public
- Community learning centers
- 1
- Down 2 from SY 2023-24
- Learners
- 4,922
- Down 365 from SY 2023-24
- Teachers
- 65
- Down 9 from SY 2023-24
- Classrooms
- 60
- Up 1 from SY 2023-24
Key findings
For SY 2024-25 and all schools, whatever is chosen above.
- Tongkil has the 11th most learners of the 19 cities and municipalities in Sulu, and the most learners per teacher in public schools.
- Enrollment in schools fell 5.2% from SY 2023-24 (ALS not counted).
- Leaving out 2 schools whose figures are under review, the largest schools are Dungon Elementary School (407 learners), East Tattalan Elementary School (329 learners) and Sigumbal Elementary School (319 learners).
- Enrollment grew fastest at Bullaan Elementary School (+7%) and fell most at Bangalaw Primary School (−13%), among schools with 100 or more learners in both years.
- Of the 18 reporting public schools, 1 (6%) has no electricity, against 9% in BARMM; 8 (44%) have no water, against 8% in BARMM; 16 (89%) have no internet, against 74% in BARMM.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 4,922 learners, 4,905 in schools and 17 in community learning centers.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 4,922 |
| In schools | 4,905 |
| In community learning centers (ALS) | 17 |
| Male | 2,409 |
| Female | 2,513 |
| Level | Public schools | Community learning centers (ALS) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 3,679 | 0 | 3,679 |
| Junior High School | 951 | 0 | 951 |
| Senior High School | 275 | 0 | 275 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 9 | 9 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 0 | 5 | 5 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 225 | 232 | 457 |
| Grade 1 | 284 | 292 | 576 |
| Grade 2 | 299 | 350 | 649 |
| Grade 3 | 293 | 313 | 606 |
| Grade 4 | 271 | 253 | 524 |
| Grade 5 | 231 | 204 | 435 |
| Grade 6 | 221 | 211 | 432 |
| Grade 7 | 145 | 141 | 286 |
| Grade 8 | 105 | 118 | 223 |
| Grade 9 | 100 | 116 | 216 |
| Grade 10 | 98 | 128 | 226 |
| Grade 11 | 83 | 84 | 167 |
| Grade 12 | 51 | 57 | 108 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 1 | 8 | 9 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 1 | 4 | 5 |
| All grades | 2,409 | 2,513 | 4,922 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 275 |
| All tracks | 275 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Elementary | 271 | 299 | 570 |
| Junior High School | 22 | 47 | 69 |
| All | 293 | 348 | 641 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 16 | 26 | 42 |
| Elementary | 235 | 239 | 474 |
| Junior High School | 52 | 63 | 115 |
| Senior High School | 1 | 3 | 4 |
| All | 304 | 331 | 635 |
| Program | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Other School-Initiated Intervention | 1 | 0 | 1 |
Schools and community learning centers
SY 2024-25: 18 schools and 1 community learning center.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 18 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 1 |
| All | 19 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 16 |
| Junior high only | 1 |
| Junior and senior high | 1 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 1 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| DepEd managed | 18 |
| Community learning centers (ALS) | 1 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 65 teachers and 14 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 65 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 14 |
| All personnel | 79 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 51 |
| Junior High School | 13 |
| Senior High School | 1 |
| All teachers | 65 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 72.1 |
| Junior High School | 73.2 |
| Senior High School | 275.0 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 60 classrooms and 21 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 60
- Seats (approximate)
- 1,412
- Toilets
- 21
- Functional computers
- 167
- Faucets
- 20
- 19 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 46 | 10 | 4 |
| Learners per classroom | 80.0 | 95.1 | 68.8 |
| Seats (approximate) | 1,162 | 222 | 28 |
| Learners per seat | 3.2 | 4.3 | 9.8 |
| Toilets | 13 | 6 | 2 |
| Learners per toilet | 283.0 | 158.5 | 137.5 |
| Functional computers | 26 | 141 | Not reported |
| Learners per computer | 141.5 | 6.7 | Not reported |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 10 | 6 |
| Junior High School | 0 | 2 |
| Senior High School | 0 | 1 |
| Level | Off-grid supply | Grid and off-grid supply | No electricity supply |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 13 | 3 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Senior High School | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 2 | 14 |
| Junior High School | 0 | 2 |
| Senior High School | 0 | 1 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 9 |
| Male | 9 |
| Shared | 3 |
| All toilets | 21 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 19 |
| Without water | 1 |
| All faucets | 20 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Solar Panel | 11 |
| Playground | 10 |
| School Garden | 10 |
| Entrance Gate | 8 |
| Exit Gate | 6 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 6 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 4 |
| Computer Room | 2 |
| Covered Court | 1 |
| Faculty Room | 1 |
| Offices | 1 |
List of schools
Every school in Tongkil, Sulu in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.
| School | Learners | Teachers | Classrooms |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bakkaan Primary School | 138 | 0 | 1 |
| Bangalaw Primary School | 264 | 0 | 2 |
| Bukuttua Primary School Annex II | 158 | 4 | 2 |
| Bullaan Elementary School | 241 | 3 | 3 |
| Dungon Elementary School | 407 | 7 | 3 |
| East Tattalan Elementary School | 329 | 0 | 5 |
| Kahikukuk Elementary School | 239 | 4 | 5 |
| Kalang Primary School (Dungon Elementary School Annex I) | 199 | 6 | 0 |
| Lubbak Elementary School | 242 | 3 | 4 |
| Lupahpula Primary School Annex II | 146 | 4 | 1 |
| Luuk Tongkil Elementary School | 294 | 3 | 4 |
| Paarul Elementary School | 191 | 3 | 1 |
| Sigumbal Elementary School | 319 | 7 | 6 |
| Sipak Primary School | 79 | 1 | 1 |
| Tabialan Elementary School | 383 | 4 | 3 |
| Tinutungan Elementary School | 50 | 2 | 5 |
| Tongkil National High School | 970 | 8 | 12 |
| Tongkil National High School (Annex) | 256 | 6 | 2 |
About this data
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
Each school year's figures for Tongkil, Sulu count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25 as of 25 October 2025. How the data was checked